We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“as in goldilocks, just right” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Bear Lodge
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“as in goldilocks, just right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spent three days at Three Bears and enjoyed it greatly. Convenient location to the park entrance, comfortable rooms, nice pool for the kids, and breakfast discounts made the stay very enjoyable. Service staff was friendly and helpful and the ability to walk about the town to shops and food places like the Chevron station that has a great sandwich cafe made the stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Take the lodge and not the motel type rooms for a more enjoyable multi day stay
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling of the wood that was part of the hotel prior to a fire a few years ago is indication of their dedication to the environmental practices.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! We are glad that we were able to meet your needs! We strive to have great customer service; from maintenance, to housekeeping, to the front desk! Thanks for mentioning our outdoor pool which is heated to 80 degrees. We hope to see you again on your return visit to West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    239
    111
    24
    13
See reviews for
243
255
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Here for a family wedding. Nice cabin with very good service. Large room - clean - nothing fancy. Coffee in the lobby as well as computer with internet access. Gave us $3 off coupons for breakfast at the adjacent restaurant. Pricey, but we were there in high season. Walking distance to everything in W. Yellowstone.

Green Features: Nice that they have a card stating their policy on changing linen and towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! Thanks for mentioning the complimentary coffee, as well as mentioning our Business Center; for our guests to use who may have left their technologic devices at home. We hope to see you again on your return visit to West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Lodge itself is pretty decent and had we stayed in the Lodge, we may have been more satisfied. However, we needed the 3 Queen Beds, and stayed in the Motel side, which is not as nice, but still sufficed for our needs. The water pressure in the shower was very low, the room itself was ok, no frills. The location is ideal, central to everything as well as entrance to Yellowstone. We stayed for 3 nights and was satisfied, however, if we do visit again, I may look somewhere else, or to stay in the Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladychow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! The Lodge rooms are different than the Motel rooms. The Lodge rooms are more spacious, have a hotel kind of feel, and are five years new. The Motel section is more economical, all rooms are on the main floor, and they have been updated five years ago. We hope to see you again on your return visit to West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
366 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a basic hotel. Nothing fancy here, but adequate. We stayed in the main lodge, which is two story and no elevator. That's ok, we were told about it in advance.

Rooms are clean, and are large. Nothing fancy but it has all the basics - small mini-fridge, microwave, storage, decent king sized bed, decent bathroom. You can open the window, which is a nice treat. AC a little loud.

A nice treat is they have coffee in the lobby all day.

Plenty of parking and walking distance to town. Nice staff.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor in the main lodge. If you don't mind the stairs, our room was large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clubnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! Thanks for mentioning that we have complimentary coffee that's served all day. Also, for reminding readers that we have no elevator to the second floor. We hope to see you again on your return visit to West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temperance, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

After staying in Gardiner at a pretty sketchy Best Western, we were pleasantly surprised to pull into West Yellowstone and see Three Bear Lodge! What a lovely hotel with so much history!
From the start, we were welcomed and treated so well. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. They assisted us with dinner options and showed us where everything was in town.
Somewhere in the other reviews, I had read to request a 2nd floor room in the lodge, and I'm so thankful for that advice! We had room 218. It was huge- it had 2 queen beds like other rooms, but it was much larger than other rooms and it had a private balcony which was lovely in the evenings and mornings before the kids woke up. The room was very clean and I didn't worry at all about placing our belongings on the floor, which says a lot because I am a complete germ-a-phobe!
Especially interesting is the history behind this lodge. They had a fire a few years back, and they've recycled a lot of materials back into the new lodge. We really loved learning and reading all about what they've done over the years.
Do yourself a favor and book Three Bears! It's a lovely lodge and we would recommend it anyone traveling to Yellowstone!

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room in the lodge. Room 218 is huge and has a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you so much for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We strive to have friendly and helpful service, and are glad we were able to meet your needs! Thanks for mentioning our vibrant history here at the Three Bear. We encourage all guests and visitors alike to read the history on our mezzanine! We hope to see you again on your return visit to West Yellowstone!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the upstairs room at the lodge. Room was clean and spacious. Beautifully decorated with handcrafted wooded furniture. Lobby was warm and well-decorated too. Hotel was close to the park entrance, quiet but yet within walking distance to shops. No complaints except for the bad wifi. No elevator to the upstairs rooms so do request for the first floor if need to. Wished breakfast was included in the room price but hotel did give a discount voucher for breakfast (kids eat free) at their restaurant next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2trav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! Thanks for reminding reviewers about not having an elevator for the second floor and to request a main floor if it is required. We give three dollar discount coupons for the adults for breakfast in our restaurant and kids twelve and under eat free off the children's menu. We hope to see you again on your return trip to West Yellowstone!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC
Level Contributor
224 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The location is fantastic if you plan on walking around town. Check in was fast and friendly. When we first turned down the back alley and saw the door to the room, we were worried about it being a complete dump. To our delight, the room was clean and comfortable. Beds and pillows were neither too hard nor too soft. Above all, it was QUIET -- and we were next to the swimming pool! Three Bears isn't fancy, and the mini fridge didn't get cold enough to even store leftovers from dinner. All things considered, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruup4adventure2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have had many people comment about the updates we've made inside the rooms in the motel section. We are also very glad you brought up how quiet it is at night. We hope to see you again on your return trip to West Yellowstone!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Property: Three Bear Lodge
Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, P.O. Box 1590, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear West Yellowstone
Three Bear Lodge West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing