We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little place”
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Three Bear Lodge
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 August 2014

nice place! it was clean and not to bad price wise. the people were very nice and helpful. breakfast was very good but don't eat diner there it was bad. sever was great just horrible food over priced and cold. the pool was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! While we are glad we were able to meet your needs here at the Lodge, we regret that we weren't able to meet your needs in the restaurant. Thanks for mentioning our outdoor pool, which is heated at 80 degrees. We do hope to see you here at the Three Bear Lodge on your return visit to West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

The location is excellent, right on the main drag. It has a restaurant next door that have a good breakfast. The hotel gives you a $3.00 coupon for each adult towards breakfast. So we spent out of pocket about $5.00 a day for both of us. The room was just adequate. Access was from an alley way. The lobby was very nice and the staff were very friendly. Way over priced, just like all of the hotels in town. There are a lot of nice new hotels, but there not on the main drag. Just turn south heading towns the McDonalds and you will come across much nicer hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! We recommend coming before Memorial Day and after Labor Day, when the crowds are less congested and the prices are lower. We hope to see you on your return visit to West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel has the perfect ambiance for your Yellowstone vacation: the rooms in the new part were spacious; the toiletries were high quality; the beds were comfortable and the furniture unique to the area. The hotel employees were just as nice as they could be. The hotel is located in West Yellowstone which has a lot to see and do right outside of the park. The food in the restaurant next door is also good, and the hotel offers discount breakfast coupons to the restaurant. You will not beat the service of the staff at this hotel. The only small drawback to our room was the AC unit. It cooled it down, but it was the kind that clicks on and off. We were so exhausted it did not bother us, but I know that bothers some readers who are lighter sleepers. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Stay in the newer part of the hotel. Rooms are spacious. The hotel was sold out and we heard NO nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank krimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you so much for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! We are so glad we were able to meet your needs! Thank you for the high praises on the front desk staff; we strive to have great customer service and are proud to serve you! We hope to see you again on your return visit to West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spent three days at Three Bears and enjoyed it greatly. Convenient location to the park entrance, comfortable rooms, nice pool for the kids, and breakfast discounts made the stay very enjoyable. Service staff was friendly and helpful and the ability to walk about the town to shops and food places like the Chevron station that has a great sandwich cafe made the stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Take the lodge and not the motel type rooms for a more enjoyable multi day stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you so much for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! We are glad that we were able to meet your needs! We strive to have great customer service; from maintenance, to housekeeping, to the front desk! Thanks for mentioning our outdoor pool which is heated to 80 degrees. We hope to see you again on your return visit to West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Here for a family wedding. Nice cabin with very good service. Large room - clean - nothing fancy. Coffee in the lobby as well as computer with internet access. Gave us $3 off coupons for breakfast at the adjacent restaurant. Pricey, but we were there in high season. Walking distance to everything in W. Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! Thanks for mentioning the complimentary coffee, as well as mentioning our Business Center; for our guests to use who may have left their technologic devices at home. We hope to see you again on your return visit to West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Lodge itself is pretty decent and had we stayed in the Lodge, we may have been more satisfied. However, we needed the 3 Queen Beds, and stayed in the Motel side, which is not as nice, but still sufficed for our needs. The water pressure in the shower was very low, the room itself was ok, no frills. The location is ideal, central to everything as well as entrance to Yellowstone. We stayed for 3 nights and was satisfied, however, if we do visit again, I may look somewhere else, or to stay in the Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladychow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! The Lodge rooms are different than the Motel rooms. The Lodge rooms are more spacious, have a hotel kind of feel, and are five years new. The Motel section is more economical, all rooms are on the main floor, and they have been updated five years ago. We hope to see you again on your return visit to West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a basic hotel. Nothing fancy here, but adequate. We stayed in the main lodge, which is two story and no elevator. That's ok, we were told about it in advance.

Rooms are clean, and are large. Nothing fancy but it has all the basics - small mini-fridge, microwave, storage, decent king sized bed, decent bathroom. You can open the window, which is a nice treat. AC a little loud.

A nice treat is they have coffee in the lobby all day.

Plenty of parking and walking distance to town. Nice staff.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor in the main lodge. If you don't mind the stairs, our room was large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clubnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge! Thanks for mentioning that we have complimentary coffee that's served all day. Also, for reminding readers that we have no elevator to the second floor. We hope to see you again on your return visit to West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £58 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
Three Bear West Yellowstone
Three Bear Lodge West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing