We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Madison Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money in this very touristic town where it can be quite expensive to stay. We stayed in a private room which was very cute. There is wood everywhere in the hotel. The showers are in the corridor but extremely clean. Nice porch to hang out on. We ended up staying for three nights.Our room was cleaned every day.Because if the figure 8 of the park,you kind of have to make West Yellowstone your base. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They even post your mail for you. Definitely a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    86
    36
    14
    15
See reviews for
65
92
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I found this hostel late in the evening during peak season. Soooo clean. Very quaint and rustic. Reminded me of Old Faithful Inn. Shared shower and bathroom down the hall (which were super clean) and there was also a wash basin in the room. Def will come again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newman Lake, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed in the newer Motel rooms. Loved the rustic feel of the log walls and furniture throughout. Our room had everything we needed to be comfortable. Nice family friendly owned business. Within walking distance of all the shops in town, which was great for window shopping and dining out. The Madison gift shop is filled with something for everyone. Felt very much like home away from home.

Room Tip: "Motel rooms are more modern with the same rustic touch of the historic hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsburg, GA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My sister and I recently took our nieces on a trip to Yellowstone and stayed at the Historic Madison Hotel. We were all very excited to be staying in this cute little mom and pop type hotel as opposed to a chain. We were not disappointed. The room was so cute - it looked like the interior of a little cabin and slept all six of us comfortably. While the furnishings were not fancy, the room was clean and the staff was friendly. I was disappointed that they did not offer breakfast, but that gave us an excuse to get the awesome buckwheat pancakes at a nearby cafe!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth Lynet... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. Great location. Right down town and just down the street from the West Yellowstone entrance. The rooms upstairs in the Historic part of the Hotel are very charming in the sense of decoration and your basic amenities. Some have private baths and some do not. That is a choice you can make when booking your room on their website. The rooms upstairs do not have TV. So if that is important to you I'd suggest booking in the newer Motel area or select a different establishment. The pictures are very true to what you will get. In respects to the noise. The rooms upstairs DO have very thin walls. The rooms also have what feel like the old springboard mattresses. Whether this is true or not, I'm not sure. I forgot to look. Noise around us didnt seem to bother us since we travel with earplugs anyway....but I didn't sleep well due to the springy mattress.

Having to walk through the shop to get to the Reservation desk is different. Felt very cluttered. There is a TON of stuff in their shop.

The following morning I asked to take a look at a couple of their other rooms behind the establishment...the Motel area. Next time I may book in these rooms. They have the similar rustic style but more of your standard size room with TV.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendive, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The rooms upstairs are small, old, rustic with log walls and log beds which at first seem appealing in that rugged western appeal. However, the frames are not sturdy and ready to fall apart, the beds are horribly uncomfortable and the windows drafty. The very crowded room is a guarenteed toe stub. There's no TV in the room and lucky if you can get one with a bathroom. Lighting is poor and the stairways are an accident waiting to happen, overall I did not have a safe or comfortable feeling the entire time I was there. The high point would be the water pressure in the shower, other than that, I'd have to pass on recommending the rooms upstairs to anyone, maybe with new carpet, beds and windows, it'd be a nice stop over. No breakfast offered, only coffee and hot chocolate, for the price you'd think they would offer something, maybe even a discount in the store, but they don't.

Room Tip: honestly, you'd probably be better off staying inside the park, cheaper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank searching4utopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sullivan, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Pros: Centrally located near everything allowing guests to walk around the town instead of driving, except to Yellowstone of course.

Maintenance person was very nice and accommodating.

Cons: This hotel's pictures of the motel part (I cannot speak for the hotel or the hostels) make it look much more charming than what it is when you actually see the room. I have stayed in many older motels with lots of charm. This one is not worth the expensive rate they charge for what you get. The owner tries the log cabin theme with all the rooms. However, the motel rooms are 1/2 done. This means that the inside starts to look like a log cabin but the outside looks like an old 1950s motel needing lots of updates.

The refrigerators in both rooms could not be used as one was extremely old and nasty looking and both smelled like someone left spoiled milk in them.

The bedspreads were not what the picture shows. We had a fuzzy throw blanket on the beds in one room which is ok if they fit the bed properly and a person is not allergic to the fuzz.

The parking is atrocious! There are not enough spots for the rooms and very difficult to maneuver a vehicle to get out.

No breakfast included but free coffee, hot tea and hot chocolate.

I would not stay at this motel again unless the rates dropped significantly and more is done to the rooms and parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DEB1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 39 in West Yellowstone
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Madison Hotel

Property: The Historic Madison Hotel
Address: 139 Yellowstone Avenue, Box 1370, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Historic Madison Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Historic Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing