We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it”
Review of Hadley's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hadley's Motel
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 27 December 2007

I stayed there with my wife in May. For the money, I don't think you can get a much better deal. Big Al is a 3rd generation owner and very helpful. We stayed in a 2 bed kitchenette, which had a microwave, refrigerator, sink, and coffeemaker with coffee provided.
There were no plates, bowls or silverware, so if you need that, you probably need to bring it. There is a WiFi signal, the bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. But it is an older motel and the bathroom was definitely on the small side.
I would happily stay there again. My wife would possibly spend the extra money for a slightly newer surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MDWNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2007

I agree with cpdad from San Francsco, this motel was far smaller than I imagined. The "bathroom" was practically claustrophobic. But the owner was very friendly and helpful and I didn't mind being cozy on my honeymoon. The only two notable problems I encountered were the properties lack of an ice machine and no alarm clock in the "cabin". We stayed in newly remodeled "Cabin 4" and it was as cute as it looks. All owner handmade furniture that took up just about every inch of floor space. No A/C but a big box fan in one window created a perfect draft. Surprisingly no lack of amenities or power outlets despite it's small size. Microwave, fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, television, wireless internet, etc were all there. When all I'm looking for is a shower and a bed at the end of a long day, this was perfect, and I'll gladly save $25 to $50 over the chains.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank djmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007

We booked our stay on the motel's website. The room was small. The bathroom and shower were really small. However, we weren't expecting anything glamorous; the room was just as the website represented it to be. It's an older motel that served its purpose... a clean place to sleep after a full day at the park. The owners were helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

I was motivated to write this review because one (and only one) other TripAdvisor member had reviewed this motel, and that reviewer liked this place, thereby causing it to be ranked #7 out of 28 properties in West Yellowstone. This ranking is ludicrous, in my opinion. I hope my evaluation will cause this motel to drop at least a few notches in the ranking.

I booked my trip on short notice (less than 5 days in advance) during the height of the summer tourist season. I couldn't find any other lodging, but was pleasantly surprised when Hadley's had a room. That should have been my first clue that maybe there was a reason every place else was full, but not Hadley's

Like the previous poster, I found the owners to be friendly and helpful, but I had only brief, minimal encounters with them so their friendliness was of no consequence to me.

The motel is quite old and the rooms are tiny. The room looked as if it had been "slapped together" in a hurry. Very poor workmanship. The only good thing was that the room had a refrigerator and a microwave. The bathroom was especially tiny. I had to dry-off after showering by leaving the bathroom and using the sleeping area. You would almost have to step outside the bathroom in order to change your mind, let alone clothing. Upon check-in, we noticed a half-used bar of soap on the floor of the shower stall. As a "test", we decided to leave it there. Yes, it was still there when we checked-out three days later. Not a sign of good housekeeping.

There were no drawers to use for clothing, so we lived out of our luggage. The electrical outlets were old and loose. We had to be creative to find ways to position out electrical items in such a way so that the plugs would not fall out of the loose sockets.

Overall this motel is, in my opinion, a notch below a Motel 6. The AAA Tourbook does not even mention this motel. I suppose that is because they usually give Motel 6 properties a one diamond rating, and they have no ratings below one diamond. In theory, one could award the Hadley's motel a half-diamond, if any at all.

If a nicer hotel had been available, it would have cost at least $25-$50 more per night, but this would have been money well-spent. I am not a "high-maintenance" traveler, and I never stay at luxury properties, but Hadley's was a bit too bare-bones for my tastes.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SFCAcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2007

I stayed here for two nights at the end of April. The owner's were very friendly and helpful in meal recommendations and sights to see in Yellowstone. The motel is located one block off the main road and as such is very quite with no road noise. The motel is located within walking distance of several eating establishments, laundry, ATM and a walking path. The price of the motel was very reasonable, and combined with the owner's efforts to insure I had a wonderful Yellowstone experience makes it easy to recommend this motel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jeffreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 45Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan M, Manager at Hadley's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#19 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Evergreen Motel
Evergreen Motel
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadley's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley's Motel

Address: 29 Gibbon Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9558
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £86 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hadley's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadleys Hotel West Yellowstone
Hadleys Motel West Yellowstone
Hadley's Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing