We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious morale issue at the front desk and is there a manager?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
rodetripper
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Serious morale issue at the front desk and is there a manager?”
Reviewed 6 September 2008

My first day, after breakfast was over, the male desk clerk, wearing a wrinkled white undershirt, joined his buddies in the breakfast room, where they discussed their female conquests of the night before, as they ate leftover breakfast food, and vandalized the milk machine so it would work. Yes, they used the f verb. I was there because the literature in the room says breakfast ends at 10, but it ends at 9. The room clerk told me they had told me the times at check in (they hadn't). And I didn't think that was an appropriate response. But the front desk was like that. Every time I approached they watched warily, like I might open fire. (I'm a surburban mom in her 50's, overweight, etc. I smile a lot) The last morning, as I checked out I mentioned that most hotels slipped the bill under the door the last night. Goodness! The clerk took huge umbrage at this, lamenting that she was alone at the desk and couldn't leave and how would she have time to print them all up and people always argued about the rates so what about that, etc. But the guy in the torn and dirty yellow T shirt behind the desk went one better. He loftily announced to me that he had stayed in MANY hotels all over the west and none of them had ever done that. Ever. He was unwilling to acknowledge that possibly some do (like the one I stayed in that very night in Boise). Not only was the customer not right, but the customer was....lying? Hallucinating? I did not think it was polite to point out that perhaps we did not stay in the same type of hotels, but then here I was at a hotel where someone behind the desk in a torn and dirty T shirt would argue with a guest about their experiences.

Owner of this hotel, the trick is that the front desk may despise the guests, but they must conceal this at all costs. and even pretend they like us!

So don't argue about the rates, folks, and there won't be a bill under the door.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rodetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    238
    76
    32
    13
See reviews for
221
243
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Hotel was very clean, good size rooms. Staff was not "professional" looking, but very nice. Breakfast could use some help, but there are good choices in walking distance of hotel. Good location. I felt the hotel was very high in price, but it is hard to find a newer, clean hotel in W.Yellowstone.
I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — High Price, Pull-out sofa
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DudleyDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

The Yellowstone Park Hotel is a new-ish hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and very spacious for motel type accommodation. Continential breakfast was average. Pastries were a little stale, but the waffle machine was worth waiting for, and the coffee was fine.

The high speed cabled internet in each room and no difficulty running VOIP.

It has a nice indoor pool and hot tub just off the main room.

I agree with some of the other reviewers that the staff had a very casual appearance, but the reception staff were friendly enough, and helpful.

The hotel is close to the attractions in town. An easy walk across the road to the museum, IMAX etc, and another block or so restaurants, shopping etc.

How often do you get to stay in Grizzly Avenue?

  • Liked — In Grizzly Avenue..
  • Disliked — Looked a bit sterile - lacking a bit of character..
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank inas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Positives-Clean rooms and comfortable beds

Negatives-Our main complaint was the lack of professional appearance by the staff. We expected the usual uniformed (even loosely uniformed-or at least a name tag) employees, but our first morning leaving the room, we saw housekeepers in gangster looking baggy jeans and a backwards baseball cap and surf shorts and a white tank top. Many male employees wore the thin white tank tops. Again, just unexpected.

There were also a number of problems with breakfast. The front desk told us upon check-in (and there was signage in the room) that breakfast was from 6 a.m.-10 a.m.. Morning 1, 9:20 am, no problems. Morning 2, 9:15 am, waffles almost done in the irons, and no plates. I asked a woman who came out of the employee area, who was chasing at least 2 young children around, for plates, and she said breakfast ended at 9:00 a.m. Others came in after us, and mentioned (unprompted) that they thought breakfast was until 10:00 a.m. Luckily, an employee, who had been sitting on the floor talking on the phone, brought out dessert sized plates, way too small for the waffles, but oh well. We also saw 3 people who we knew to be employees eating, with their children running around, doing nothing while people scrambled for dinnerware. My point is, if breakfast is over, don't have waffle mix, milk, juice, muffins, etc. still out with the lights and TV still on. The third (and thankfully final) morning, we went down for breakfast at 6:00 a.m. The dining room area was dark, and no food was out. When we finally gave up and just decided to check out, we saw a sign on the front desk which said breakfast was from 6:30 a.m.-9:00 a.m. It was our feeling that breakfast began (and ended) according to whenever someone could be there.

Also, the walls were so thin, we heard every word of a conversation our neighbors were calmly having.

Finally, our alarm clock never worked.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Hotel staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thecheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

The Pros – Hotel was relatively new and the rooms were clean. There was Internet access which was very convenient. Besides easy access to Yellowstone, the Grizzly & Wolf Discovery Center and the IMAX was just down the street which we enjoyed very much.

The Cons – Had trouble with the AC Unit. There was a sign that said the heating and cooling was controlled by the wall panel. After several attempts to get the air going, I got very frustrated when it wouldn’t work. Finally, I used the controls on the unit itself and it worked just fine. We were pleased that the rate included breakfast. However, the person who cleaned off the tables in the breakfast room used a very strong cleaner which is not so pleasant while you’re eating.

  • Liked — Convenient.
  • Disliked — No major problems.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank We-Travel-The-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antelope, ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2008

I loved my stay here. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was immaculate. Very, very nice hotel. The complimentary breakfast wasn't the greatest, but there are plenty of other places to eat around here. Very nice shopping area nearby.

  • Liked — Comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tobrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

This hotel opened in 2007. Whatever problems customers may have had with service at the opening have apparently been resolved. My room was clean and the bed comfortable. Any special requests I had were promptly taken care of. Breakfast consisted of cold cereal, assorted pastries, toast, bagels, milk juice, tea and coffee. Belgian waffles were also available.

As a previous reviewer noted, the walls are thin. We could hear the guest snoring in the adjacent room. Turning on the room's fan blocked the noise. However, the fan sounded like some of the roaring waterfalls we saw on the Yellowstone tour. (It was loud!)

The family who manages the hotel lives on the premises and they have children. (There is a pint-sized four-wheeler parked out front.) They really seemed eager to make their guests happy. Remember, no one can read your mind. If you need something, you should let the hotel staff know, regardless of the hotel.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank thkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
695 reviews
0.0 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Park Hotel

Property: Yellowstone Park Hotel
Address: 201 Grizzly Avenue, PO Box 930, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#9 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique-style hotel proudly features amenities such as an indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna, limited continental breakfast and free WiFi. Our 66 well-appointed guest rooms and suites feature upgraded linens, bathrobes, mini-refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and 36-inch flat-screen TVs. Open in the warm season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yellowstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellowstone Park
Yellowstone Park West
Yellowstone Park Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing