We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and poorly equipped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poorly equipped”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Stayed here because everything in the park was full, and paid a premium price too (even with AAA discount). We picked a "king suite" because we wanted lots of space. First hotel room I've stayed in that didn't have a closet or anyplace to hang clothes. HVAC system (one of those units that sits right under the window) had been rigged to a wall thermostat and the fan was permanently set to high. VERY noisy. Also most of the cool air just blew up behind the drapes, so cooling the room at night was a challenge. Had a flat screen TV, but with a blinding blue light (remote sensor) that hurt our eyes. Bathroom fan was tied into the light; again VERY noisy. Room had a desk, but no coffee table in front of the couch. Internet connection cable (no wireless except in the lobby) was in the opposite corner of the room from the desk.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XOColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yell_Park, Director of Sales at Yellowstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
This review, among others, clearly emphasizes our need - and justifies the plans – to upgrade many of our in room amenities. Our guest’s expectations for wireless internet, improved climate control with less noise, and an improved look and feel to the rooms have been brought to the attention of upper management and will be addressed in the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    227
    72
    32
    13
See reviews for
213
229
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

I traveled with my husband and 20 year old daughter.

The Pro's:
A few blocks from the West Entrance of Yellowstone
Relatively Clean Room
We only had to stay there one night.

The Con's.

Upon first glance it looks like a decent room, but at every step you meet disappointment:

*A sofa and two chairs that are as hard as rock, and extremely uncomfortable.
*FOLD OUT BED was a nightmare. We wanted a "suite" so my daughter could sleep on the fold out couch. The mattress was ridiculous. EXTREMELY old and uncomfortable. No blanket, just a sheet. We pulled over our comforter on our bed and folded it up to add some padding. It was ridiculous.
*Few amenities such as conditioner, and fewer towels. Even the toilet paper roll was empty.
*Ancient microwave and mini refrigerator. The refrigerator made a loud buzz.
*Dirty Windows
*Extremely thin walls, could hear everything.
*Had free internet, but no wifi and it was extremely slow. So only one person can use their laptop. There was no cord to connect the internet and we had to go to the desk to get it.
*Breakfast was just ok. No fresh fruit, just packaged rolls, etc.

You can do better. If you are staying in West Yellowstone be very careful. Luckily, we only had to stay at this place for one night. We paid well over $200.00 for this substandard room. Look else where.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsOswego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Florida
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed at this location because everything in the park was booked. I was shocked at what they charged for the condition of the room. Everything was old and cheap. When we arrived at the hotel after staying at a very nice hotel in Teton Village, I was so disappointed. The front desk staff were dressed unprofessional, sitting on a cheap barstool, texting on their cell phones. Our room was good size but that was the only thing positive about it. Everything from the furniture to the TV was cheap. The hottub had a film of some type of soap suds covering the entire surface of the water. The breakfast was low quality. For your coffee, they had powdered creamer or a gallon of milk sitting on a small amount of ice in the sink. We chose to spend money and eat breakfast at McDonalds. The location was good to enter Yellowstone, that must be why they can charge what they do. The restaurants in the town were horrible, cheap foods. We could not wait to leave the area. Definitely try to book early in a different location so you are not stuck having to stay in West Yellowstone to see Yellowstone National Park.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4444KAT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yell_Park, Director of Sales at Yellowstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Although we have little control over the experience throughout the rest of town, we must own up to the lack of professionalism and proper service that was witnessed . A uniform policy is currently under review. Texting while on duty, and in view of the public, is a violation of our company conduct standards; individuals have been and will be held accountable. There are some obvious training gaps that will be addressed. During the off-season we will be taking a long, hard look at our breakfast service in order to improve the quality and the experience. Room amenities are also being upgraded in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ogden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed here for two nights before going into Yellowstone. Yes, the location was very nice, but the hotel itself was terrible! We got one of thier suites with king size bed and hot tub. First their front office staff was very unprofessional. They had casual conversations with what looked like family members walking through the loby while we were checking in. We got to our room and found out one of the lights didnt work. We talk to the staff and they said they would have maintenance come fix it the NEXT DAY, and of course they never did. There was no morning room service, unless you call taking out the dirty towels room service. Bed was still unmade and soap and shampoo had not been replenished. They ran out of toast and pancakes at their morning breakfast and just said sorry they ran out...what kind of service is that? For the money that we paid, this was for sure not worth it! Dont waste your time here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labnerd10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yell_Park, Director of Sales at Yellowstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
As difficult as it is to say, we need to hear this. The level of professionalism is just not where it needs to be, and reviews such as this remind us that we must be constantly vigilant in raising the bar. It is clear that there are some training gaps we need to address. The fact that a stay in one of our most prized rooms was overshadowed by the sub-par service is quite disheartening. In addition to a lack of professionalism, some of these issues are symptomatic of understaffing; this is no excuse and simply underscores our need to be more proactive in our staffing decisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowley, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Got there and they had a tour group unloading........ then at 235 am someone tried to get in our room my husband told whoever was trying to get in it was occupied....tried to call front desk...... we had the extra lock on.....thank goodness...needless to say we did not sleep the rest of night! When we went to check out in the early am informed the girl at the desk and she started giggling and stated oh we did not think anybody was in that room ! No apology! So thatt is probaly why no one answered at the front desk they were trying to get in our room.......Would never reccomend someone styaing there! Scary

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yell_Park, Director of Sales at Yellowstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Words cannot describe how disturbing it is to hear of this experience. We desperately need to impart on our staff how simple mistakes can lead to traumatizing events. The fact that it was taken so lightly is even more unsettling. The hotel manager has investigated this incident; and staff members have been, and will be, held accountable for such occurrences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

This hotel is literally two or three blocks out of the park. It is reasonably priced, and the rooms are spacious and clean. I recommend if you are leaving the park and going back in the following day if you are not staying in the park itself.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cap10K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Made reservations by phone, based on AAA guide recommendation. Described as a "boutique hotel", but obviously the owner is mistaken as to what this actually means. This hotel is lacking much in charm, style and customer service. Arrived at hotel and presented CAA (AAA) card as I'd done for the past 20 nights during our month-long road trip through the U.S. Inexperienced and unhelpful night employee stated that he didn't know what a CAA (?) card was and that we would have to settle the account in the morning with the permanent staff. Approached morning staff (two women), explained the situation from the night before and again presented the card. They seemed ready for an argument and immediately refused to accept it, becoming rather indignant and rude, saying we'd have to take it up with the manager, who conveniently had the day off. On a Tuesday? What???? Left our phone number with the manager with predictably no response. Subsequently, we attempted to call several times over the next few days but no one answered the phone. Checked visa statement and was charged full price for the room. During the entire month of using exclusively AAA-rated hotels/motels this was the only negative experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scourte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yell_Park, Director of Sales at Yellowstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
There has obviously been some confusion amongst the staff about when to honor AAA discounts. As a result of this and another review, a notice has recently been sent out reminding our management and staff that CAA and AAA are one and the same, and thus members of either are entitled to the same discount. In addition we invite the reviewer to contact us directly so we can correct the charges imposed. Regardless of any confusion regarding Automobile Association benefits, under no circumstances should any guest be treated in any manner that could be interpreted as rude. Behavior such as this from any staff member will not be tolerated; we will also follow up with hotel management as to why you were not contacted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Park Hotel

Property: Yellowstone Park Hotel
Address: 201 Grizzly Avenue, PO Box 930, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#9 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique-style hotel proudly features amenities such as an indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna, limited continental breakfast and free WiFi. Our 66 well-appointed guest rooms and suites feature upgraded linens, bathrobes, mini-refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and 36-inch flat-screen TVs. Open in the warm season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yellowstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellowstone Park
Yellowstone Park West
Yellowstone Park Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing