We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried Yellowstone again, a much better hotel this time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tried Yellowstone again, a much better hotel this time.”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Earlier in the summer we tried Yellowstone at the end of our vacation and had a disaster with The Stage Coach Inn in West Yellowstone. In my opinion the SCI manager lied to cover his backside.

This time we looked through tripadvisor and talked with some friends and they recommended Yellowstone Park or Grey Wolf. We thought Yellowstone Park Hotel looked a little better. Now this is not a five star hotel but it is certainly a 3+ and you get a great deal for your money compared to other places. The rooms were nice and clean, all the lights, TV, phone etc. worked and the beds were comfortable.

The pool and hot tub while small were comfortable and CLEAN.

The staff were helpful and had some good suggestions on where to go and do in the Park. It was cool out but the suggestion of where to go swimming in the river was one of the highlights of the trip. For dinner they sent us to another hotel which was kind of ballsey but it was a great meal and when we go back to snowmoble in December we will stay here again.

We went to go over to the Stagecoach to talk with the manaager about their previous fiasco, but upon walking in the place it was so cluttered with stufffed dead animals I couldn't see wasting my time. Don't waste yours eeither.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronA501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    233
    74
    32
    13
See reviews for
216
239
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Convenient location to Park entrance. Room good size but walls thin. Don't accept room 206 as lift is almost part of the room. Very noisy!
Breakfast good, but again spoilt by scruffy staff, who on our last morning sat eating his breakfast whilst a child was sick on the floor, leaving the parent to wipe up the mess with tissues.
As with previous customers, the manager wasn't available to deal with our complaint.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This hotel, while not the most upscale in the town of West Yellowstone, is right at the entrance to Yellowstone NP. Within 5 minutes walk is an ATM, several restaurants, and 4 Fly Shops. Big enough lot for whatever truck I seem to get from the rental company. I like being able to walk to breakfast (3 Bear Inn) and dinner (Bullwinkles). While all the hotels in West probably could be called convenient to YNP, this one seems to me to be the eastiest to get in and out of. It is grouped with Park Club and Kelly Inn at the south end of the main drag. A new McDs just openned next door too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Very nice hotel. They gave us a king/sofa bed room, which had a great setup with the fridge, microwave and bar sink. The room arrangement was such that it gave a degree of privacy between the two sleeping areas. The rooms are very clean. On this we were very pleased.

First day we wanted to check an account on the internet and found they were not wireless, as advertised, they were ethernet. So, we had to use the lobby computer. The first morning we left our room at 5:30 a.m. to find it not yet clean at 3:00 p.m. The second day the room was clean, but they left no clean glasses or coffee. Laundry facilities were available, but they ran out of detergent to use the machine, so my clothes only got a good rinsing. We needed bathroom maintenance and was told they would send someone the next day....(that did not go over so well). Then on the morning we were leaving for home I asked for a wake up call at 4:00 a.m., and that call never came in.

We stayed a total of 5 nights and were always glad to have had that room to stay in. However, they lack the attention to details.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yell_Park, Director of Sales at Yellowstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
We are thrilled with the feedback on the room. Thanks to this review, and others, we discovered the erroneous information on our website, regarding in room WiFi, and have since corrected it. The evidence that we need to have wireless, high speed internet available in each room is now quite overwhelming, and will be a priority. Regrettably, it is the attention to detail so mentioned that we pride ourselves in; the gaps in training and service levels are being addressed and taken most seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Like another reviewer, we were concerned that the hotel was going to be awful but much to our relief it was absolutely fine. The desk staff were lovely and very helpful with change for the laundry and advice on restaurants etc. The room was clean and basic but we had no problems except the room was at the end of the building on the ground floor and people were using the side door as the smoking area so there was a smell of smoke now and then. The lap top in the reception area was fine and the whole of that area had a comfortable feel. We had no problems with breakfast and managed to fill ourselves up quite well.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We booked our Sept 24 trip to West Yellowstone back in May and the reviews back then were great. We were shocked to read how bad the reviews were just a few days before our travel. Of course it's too late to change, so we took a chance and went.

First of all, I found the room to be very spacious for me and my wife. Our queen beds were very comfortable with down comforter and down pillows. We were on the 2nd floor next to the elevator and had no problem sleeping at all.

Our rooms were cleaned every day, and the closet is behind the large mirror next to
the bathroom. We had no problem with the hotel staff, and they gave us good
info on where to eat and sight seeing tips.

Even this late in the year, there are a lot of tour buses that visit here, and breakfast can be a challenge when the tour buses all dine at the same time. Just be flexible and
eat a little early if you don't want to fight the crowd. No hotel can accomodate all
their guests at a single seating. That's why breakfast is from 6AM to 9AM.

We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to go back at a later time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSylvia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I booked this hotel for 4 nights for our visit to Yellowstone primarily because it was 3diamonds AAA and stated it was the newest hotel in West Yellowstone - we got a king room on the firsts floor - used a side door and unlocking it was always a problem - there was a bare space on one wall - I think there should have been a sofa there - in the bathroom there was a wall tile that was falling off - breakfast terrible - internet worked and it had a refrigerator - room was good size - surely there must be a better place in West Yellowstone - it was not cheap $149/night - did not bother to take photos

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yell_Park, Director of Sales at Yellowstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
We are extremely sorry for the disappointing experience. We are, as previous reviews and responses show, very much aware of our shortfalls with the breakfast service and are addressing them. Rooms and common areas will be seeing enhancements in the near future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Park Hotel

Property: Yellowstone Park Hotel
Address: 201 Grizzly Avenue, PO Box 930, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#3 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#9 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique-style hotel proudly features amenities such as an indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna, limited continental breakfast and free WiFi. Our 66 well-appointed guest rooms and suites feature upgraded linens, bathrobes, mini-refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and 36-inch flat-screen TVs. Open in the warm season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yellowstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellowstone Park
Yellowstone Park West
Yellowstone Park Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing