We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best budget option in West Yellowstone”
Review of One Horse Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
One Horse Motel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I will be honest. When we first pulled up to the One Horse Motel, I was a little nervous. From the outside, it doesn't look like much- a little run down and older. Our room turned out to be ok. It's definitely nothing fancy, but it was at least clean and had what we needed- beds, small fridge, microwave, tv, bathroom, etc. The room smelled kind of old or maybe in need of some airing out, but overall it was adequate for what we needed. We only stayed 2 nights, and we were barely in the room anyway except to sleep. The front desk was very nice and friendly. The breakfast in the morning is coffee/tea and some granola bars and Hostess-like pastries. The location is good- very close to downtown and to Yellowstone. As other reviewers have said, it's probably one of the better options since a lot of other places in the area are expensive. For breakfast, I would def recommend Running Bear Pancake House. It was awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Old style motel just a block or two from the main street and opposite a park. Nothing fancy, but clean, comfortable and quiet. No breakfast as such – Running Bear Pancake House is the place to go for that – but they do have some muffins and donuts if you just want something to grab and go. Both room and bathroom were on the small side but nothing too drastic, and if you're at Yellowstone you're probably not spending too long in your room anyway. Given the cost of other places in town, I'd recommend this one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AScotsmanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Let's face it, West Yellowstone is expensive. All we wanted was somewhere to put our heads down in reasonable comfort for a couple of nights at a moderate cost. This is just what we got.
The owner was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was minimal but quite adequate for us. Our room was clean and comfortable with parking outside the door.
This motel is in a reasonably quiet street one block away from the main street on which most restaurants are situated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a large family group (35 of us) traveling together and spent one night here with 13 rooms. It was small and quaint but it was fun especially being close together for visiting in the evening. It was right across the street from the city park which made it perfect for all the kids. The people were helpful and so friendly. They had oatmeal and pastries and coffee and hot chocolate in the morning available for their guest. It was great to finally have WiFi after being in the Parks for a few days. The prices were so much better than staying in the Park yet it was such close easy access for going back in. My husband and I would differently come back here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DebbieRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the One Horse Motel a few weeks ago. Found it to very clean and comfortable. The owner was a great guy. We had an issue about three o'clock in the morning with one of our bikes and had to call him for help. He said let me throw some close on and ill be there in a few minutes. In less than 5 min's he was there, gave us a ride and took care of the problem ! Great guy, Great place. Would stay there again for sure. Thanks Mike

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JimG632014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for one night on our cross country trip. Nice place, nice staff. We had a quiet night since the motel is located close to a park and not on one of the bigger streets.

The room was very small but well equipped; there was a fridge, microwave, TV, free WiFi and the bathroom was clean; great shower. Coffee and snacks provided in the lobby (in the morning). On-site coin operated laundry facility was helpful.

The closeness to Yellowstone was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you're looking for something that could be considered "budget" in this overpriced town, One Horse Motel is an answer. The staff was friendly, the place offered coin-op washer/dryer, and you could walk to anything in town. However, the "single" room was tiny -- barely enough room for two people to move around, and not much room for suitcases. The mattress was also not comfortable. The bathroom was modern and surprisingly large considering the size of the sleeping area. The room had a ceiling fan/light fixture as well. It's within 3 blocks of the entrance to Yellowstone. Just be aware that all prices are high in this town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DonnaR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Horse Motel

Address: 216 Dunraven St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £43 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our clean, quiet and refurbished rooms you’ll find air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV and movie channels, fluffy pillows, fridge for your cold stuff and a microwave to heat things that need to be heated. Complimentary WIFI for your computer, tubs and showers, laundry facility on site and an ice machine that actually invites you to take an extra scoop or two for your cooler. All rooms are non-smoking and no pets to ensure that rooms are always clean and fresh. Come stay with us and enjoy your Yellowstone vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1 Horse Motel
One Horse Hotel West Yellowstone
One Horse Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing