We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant go wrong”
Review of Alpine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Motel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cant go wrong”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Great 2 night stay! The place is older but very well maintained. In the heart of town, restaurants everywhere within walking distance. Brian and Terry are the nicest people you will ever meet. They make a great effort to make sure everyone is happy and comfy, at a reasonable price! Thank you Alpine

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank bluemirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    107
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
176
330
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The Alpine Motel provides a warm and welcome overnight stay outside the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Service could not be friendlier or more helpful. Rooms are clean and a good size; I found the bed a little hard, but considering I was to sleep outside on the hard ground the next week, nothing to seriously complain about. It is small, single story, and set off the main busy road. Parking is free and there are complimentary drinks in the check-in area. So much nicer and more personable that a faceless chain hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

After reading all the glowing reviews, we were dying to try the Alpine Motel. Last summer, we couldn't get in because they are always booked solid. We managed to get a room for the first night of our 2011 Yellowstone trip, and were not disappointed.The room had two queen beds and did not share a wall with any other unit, so was very quiet at night. Cable TV, a small refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and good WiFi are included. Another reviewer remarked that they had to walk a couple blocks for coffee, but the Alpine's owners provide coffee, tea, cider and cocoa in the lobby, beginning at 7 am, and the lobby is only a few steps from any of the rooms. We got to park right outside our room, which was convenient. The Alpine is walking distance from everything, and the owners were helpful in recommending dining choices that suited our tastes and budgets. They keep a binder of most local menus, and even called one of the restaurants for us to check if they were open, as we arrived quite late in the day. Yes, the rooms and bathrooms are small, but the place is sparkling clean, the water pressure good, and two of us were able to enjoy long, hot showers and a good nights' sleep on comfortable beds. For the location, price and hospitality, the Alpine can't be beat - there are plenty of good reasons (the helpfulness and hospitality of owners Brian and Patty being primary among them) why this motel continues to be a front-runner on Tripadvisor reviews.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobodysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Booked this place as our second stop on our honeymoon due to the reviews on here and was so glad we did. From the off the welcome we received from Brian and Patty was so warm, and the fact we were really early for check in was not a problem. Which was so great after driving for hours in a snow storm. Brian even shovelled the drive way for us. I cannot stress how great the welcome here is, you feel like friends of the family immediately. As others have mentioned the 'goddie bags' and toiletries are such a nice touch and far better than in some 'luxury' places. Rooms were lovely and if you're used to European hotel rooms you won't think them small at all! If we can ever get back to Yellowstone we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The reviews are all right on the mark. This was our best experience in terms of hotels and we stayed everywhere INSIDE the park. Brian and Patty make you feel at home, the rooms are cozy and quiet...everything was perfect. The icing on the cake was the toiletries and their homeade "goodie bag"....the tootsie rolls on the nightstand was the best way to enter a hotel room. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The Alpine Motel is a small and nice place to stay in West Yellowstone. The rooms aren't big, but everything is well kept and clean. Brian and Patty are very friendly and helpful with any questions or issues that might arise when you are on a trip to Yellowstone. Don't expect luxury here, but a great place to base yourself is what you will find.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmc71_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburndale, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Small and quaint. Brian and Patty make it a great experience. Super nice people. Not a 4 star property but definitely a 4 star experience. Best deal on affordable lodging in the Yellowstone area.

Room Tip: Book early, they stay full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Property: Alpine Motel
Address: 120 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#1 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel West Yellowstone
Alpine Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing