We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but kinda rough”
Review of Alpine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Motel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cheap but kinda rough”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The hotel is very economical (i.e., read cheap). That appeals to most folks. but it's a rough motel 6 experience. The price is right for sure, but the experience is a little rough. The bathroom sink is in the bedroom which is not an issue, but the bathroom is incredibly small. It's got a toilet and a shower. Small. The a/c is a window one and it's noisy all night long. the bed is hard. The television is a tube. The owners are nicer than you can imagine.

I wouldn't stay here again. I'd spend more money to be more comfortable. This was probably the worst hotel i've ever stayed in and i've been in a lot. I feel bad writing this b/c the owners are incredibly great folks, but that was a rough experience staying there for 3 nights.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank profwho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    109
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
187
345
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We really enjoyed our family time here at this place. The rooms are nice and the location was great. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clewcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here one night, the first night of our Yellowstone adventure. Although some will find the accommodations slightly dated (the room interiors are not modern by any stretch of the imagination), we found the rooms to be clean and cozy. The owners are some of the friendliest people in town, offering very helpful tips as to where to eat and what to see. The central location of the property makes it easy to walk to shops, restaurants, and bars. Overall, this is an excellent choice if you plan to spend a couple nights in West Yellowstone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

So we are driving our daughter's car to Washington for her due to military transfer. We tried several times to get a hotel on either side of Yellowstone and didn't have any success. After getting a few nights extra in Deadwood SD we attempted to call the Alpine Motel again and they had a cancellation! Sure enough the Holiday Inn in Cody had a cancellation. Three in the afternoon is checkin and let me tell you we have NEVER had the excellent service in all of our extensive travel as what we are receiving on this visit and just for one night! You are greeted and given a welcome package and there are snacks in the office for you. Brian took us to our room which happened to be upstairs in a two bedroom unit. The bed is more comforttable than anything we have slept on since embarking on this adventure. We went to dinner at one of Brian's recommendations and met great folks. Everyone is so so nice. Just finished watching the fourth of July parade and hoping the storm passes so we can go watch the fireworks. What an impression. Met fantastic people while here so far and I just cant tell you how clean this motel is and how clean the rooms are. We have had to pay upwards to two hundred a night due to the holiday weekend but not here. They take such pride in their hotel and does it show. I don't know where they get the energy as they take care of everything and everyone themselves but if you are traveling this way, don't think twice....STAY HERE!!!!! We can't wait to get back here. Steps from everything.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisndeefromde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We had read the positive feedback from other guests of the Alpine Motel and were more than pleased to see that every word was true. Brian and Patty are the most welcoming hosts we have ever encountered. Their motel is spotless and all of the small amenities like a welcome bag with personal amenities, chocolate, hot coffee, games and books to borrow etc were much appreciated. The motel is centrally located and has great parking. West Yellowstone served as our base for a week long visit at the park and it was truly the best in terms of lodging and also the local restaurants where the food, both quality and price, were much better than in the park. Our hosts answered any questions we had and were most gracious in offering their time to talk about best places to stop in the park.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BD4218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2011

So, we get to West Yellowstone, and I had made a mistake on reservation and did not complete it with the Alpine Motel. Brian helped us for 30 minutes get another room in town, right on the verge of 4th of July crush of people. He gave better service than lodging where you actually stay!

Bill Wilmot

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwwilmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Check in / check out efficient and friendly

Rooms: reasonable size, very clean, beds comfortable, bathrooms a litle small but nicely done out. Fridge, TV, hairdryer, small table and chairs, one room had drawers the other had a shelf type cabinet for clothes. No coffee maker in room,but in the reception there was tea, coffee, hot chocolate and other things, availible until about 10pm. The rooms we were in had really good lighting, a rarity in North American hotels / motels these days. Wifi availible. Parking a little tight but availible.

Hosts very friendly with good suggestions. We ate at Running Bear for breakfast (5 blocks down the street), and Petes (Italian) and Sydneys (bistro) both within a block, for dinner, all very nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hec286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Property: Alpine Motel
Address: 120 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel West Yellowstone
Alpine Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing