We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying is believing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Motel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Staying is believing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

In this day and time of sterile hotel room and impersonable stays.....the Alpine broke that mold. Brian & Patty are incredible hosts from the moment that you arrive and they give you the front door tour of where the best places to eat are in WY to check-out at which time you wish that you could have stayed longer. You would not believe from looking at the rooms that this is an older hotel....it is large and immaculately clean. Every amenity is thought of. We so enjoyed talking to both Brian & Patty and finding out their story about how they came to live in WYellowstone. We will be back here and will recommend it to everyone.....I guess I just did!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseatexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    106
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
176
329
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We could not be happier! The Shut-down skunked our visit into Yellowstone. We had booked the Alpine based on tripadvisor for a night near the west gate, and are especially grateful to these folks who headed us toward some great spots and excellent meals outside the park. The buildings are classic, the rooms are up-to-date and the furnishings are excellent. A beautiful quilt, too! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8wellthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Now I'll be honest with you, I'm normally a fan of a chain hotel. You know what you're getting but in West Yellowstone that option was limited so I went tripadvisor and this motel came out on top and I can totally see why. The room we had was lovely! Beautifully clean, lovely bedspreads, a fridge in the room and guide on the tv (so many hotels don't have that!), quiet, off street parking right outside. The toiletries were so nice, real quality stuff and replaced if any were used and lots of them. But...the best thing about this motel is the service. The owners (who are lovely and very approachable) were wonderful, nothing was too much. They provided snacks for us to take into Yellowstone National Park each day (oh and let me tell you, this motel is less than 3 minutes from the entrance, no kidding!) and filled our cooler up for us with ice. They provided hot drinks in the reception until 10pm. The motel is right in the heart of the town and yet lovely and quiet at night. And my favourite thing...the owners know ALL the best restaurants in the area, we were never disappointed. In fact it was suggested to us that we try this ranch about 6 miles out of town, we would have never known about it otherwise, and boy would that have been a shame! It was fantastic food and wonderful scenery! The owners local knowledge made a real difference for us. The only slight downside was that our bathroom was tiny. Not a major problem for us but if you are a little larger it would be worth mentioning this as I've seen photographs of other rooms with bigger bathrooms so it shouldn't be a problem. Book in advance, this place is popular and it's easy to see why. I would love to go back!

Room Tip: Phone up and speak to Brian, he'll tell pick the right room for you providing you give enough no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 342Beck77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Brian and Patty literally saved my vacation. I arrived during the budget fight, so both Yellowstone and Grand Tetons National Parks were closed. These great hosts had wonderful ideas about other options outside the park and kept me busy for three full days with wonderful itineraries in Montana and Idaho. They love the area and want every visitor to feel the same. Each evening they would check with me to see how the day had gone and give me ideas for the following day.
Add to that an extremely clean room with great toiletries, snacks and warm drinks in the lobby, and a very reasonable price, and how can you go wrong? I will be staying here next spring when I make a second attempt to see the parks.

Room Tip: Evert room is slightly different, so check with Brian or Patty to see what they recommend. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mill valley, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Alpine Inn washes a traveler in extreme hospitality the minute they walk in to the office to check in. That was our experience the other day and we loved it! Brian made us feel right at home and had coffee, tea, granola bars, chocolates, samples of lotions and other nice toiletries, and offered them to us. He also gave us the grand tour of the cozy property while making us laugh at the same time. Our room looked exactly like a vintage cabin, yet it was a room in a small motel. Knotty pine walls, nice television, cute bathroom and nice refrigerator (that wasn't loud, thank heavens) greeted us. While our room was small, we enjoyed the coziness. One caveat: the walls are thin. So, you will hear other travelers. However, the inn seems to attract nice people (some cosmic rule since the owners couldn't be nicer). Bottom line, we were struck by Brian's kindness and generosity of spirit (he told us about this amazing local cross country ski area where you can hike, and we did, and it was lovely) as well as pride of ownership of The Alpine Inn. For the money, I'd recommend this gem! Advice: ask for a room that doesn't abut other rooms. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debmohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackamas County, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I booked this motel online for our two-day stay in West Yellowstone. Ordinarily we stay at larger motel chains like Best Western, but after talking to Brian on the phone I decided that this motel would meet our needs; and it had a much more reasonable price.

We were warmly greeted by both Patty and Brian when we first arrived from Bozeman. After we got signed in, Patty took us over to our room, which was small, but oh, so charming. We had a king-size bed which was extremely comfortable, and had a gorgeous comforter and pillows on it. We knew we'd come to the right place... it was such a change from the more sterile motel rooms we'd been used to.

As others have said, the office has a basket filled with goodies for the taking, such as granola bars, small candies; the rooms don't have microwaves as no cooking is allowed, but Patty and Brian gladly let us use the microwave in the office for heating up hot cocoa (provided). Coffee is also provided there in the office.

The room had a table so that I could set up our laptop, and the wi-fi is password protected which is a lot better than the totally unsecured wi-fi in the big motels. My husband could sit in the other chair and read while I was downloading photos and answering emails.

Yes, the bathroom is very small, and to wash our hands we had to walk across the room to the sink. But the shower had excellent water pressure and there was a basket filled with soap, shampoo, lotion, etc. And it was squeaky clean, as was the entire room. We learned that Brian and Patty do all the cleaning themselves, and what a difference that makes.

We parked our car right outside our unit the first night; the second night we parked at the end of the driveway but that was no big deal.

I can't say enough wonderful things about this motel! What I appreciated most was the cleanliness and the friendliness of Brian and Patty. It was like we were family and they were delighted that we were there. It snowed a little the first night we were there, but inside our room we were warm and cozy.

The motel is right on a main street, but our room was extremely quiet. The only thing that didn't work was the deadbolt on our door, and like PopTopBob I forgot to mention it to Brian.

This motel was a refreshing change from the chain motels we'd been used to, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with any room in this motel. Ours was only second from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mokihana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
245 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Brian and Patty understand the words customer service. Very friendly and helpful from 7:30AM to 10PM they are available for any needs in the office. Room was plain and homey, but Very Clean. Sink was in room far from the bathroom which was tiny with a toilet and shower, period. But the water in the shower was hot and all toiletries were provided. The office provided hot coffee/tea, cereal bars and bite size candy at all hours of opening. The only thing I would suggest is a coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carols01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Property: Alpine Motel
Address: 120 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#1 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel West Yellowstone
Alpine Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing