We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for touring Yellowstone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Motel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
CLIFTON, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect place for touring Yellowstone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We traveled in September to see Yellowstone and stayed here 3 days. It is a perfect location for the entrance to the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park.

Our room was cozy and clean and Brian made us feel so welcome and helped us with tips for touring through Yellowstone in the amount of time that we had. We saw so much in 2 1/2 days of touring. If you have time be sure to hike Mount Washburn Trail. It was one of our favorite outings while we were there. It has a spectacular view from the summit. Also, Wild West Pizzeria in West Yellowstone was a great place for pizza after a full day of hiking/touring and walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank NOVAHIKERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    106
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
176
329
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo,Fl
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We agree with all the other excellent reviews . You simply can not find a better place to stay . You may find more elegance but not better service. We stayed there for five days during our 10 day visit to Yellowstone National Park. Four of those days were after the Park closed due to government shutdown. Brian and Patti gave great advice on what to see outside the park.I will attach some photos showing some of those places. We love landscape and nature photography and found the places that we visited outside the park equal to those in the Park. If it had not been for Brian and Patti and the government shut down we would not have seen those places. Their advice on local restaurants was also excellent. The rooms were clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. The motel is small but well maintained and in a great location.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size but all are adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BunsenBurner40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

As with the numerous previous positive reviews I can do nothing other than agree wholeheartedly. I stayed here for 4 nights during the shutdown and Brian and Patti made me feel exceptionally welcome in their wonderful motel and gave me numerous tips for other things to do outside of the park and they made sure I wasn't without stuff to see and do. Brian also gave some excellent tips on the local restaurants. Due to it being off season and the lower units being shut down for the winter I had one of the larger upstairs kitchen units. To say it was excellently appointed would be an understatement. A fully appointed kitchen, 2 beds, 2 TVs with DirectTV and a further futon. For the money it was fantastic value. I have already decided that I will be returning to Yellowstone next year to get in the park this time! I would not even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nezza28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayton
Level Contributor
241 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Brian and Patti provided us with a great stay outside of the park ( closed ). We had planned two nights, and we still had a lot of fun, thanks to Patti, with her directions to different places nearby to see beautiful scenery and wildlife. Brians advice on local restaurants was also very good. This motel is a great value and very clean. We will come back when the park is open.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wayflos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We always look forward to the first night or two of our Yellowstone trips, knowing we'll be spending them in Brian and Patti's charming little motel on the main drag. The prices are exceedingly reasonable, rooms are small, but very clean and fresh, and beds are comfortable. For virtually the same price as a no-bathroom box with two beds in most of the Park's interior, you get a refrigerator, wifi, a large flat-screen TV, various "extras" like lotions and granola bars, AND a bathroom of your own. The Alpine is walking distance to much of what West Yellowstone offers in the way of restaurants and shops. Madison Crossing Lounge, an excellent eatery, is right across the street. Brian and Patti are always so helpful, friendly and welcoming. We look forward to seeing them again as much as we look forward to staying in their motel. The Alpine experience is a great start to any Yellowstone vacation.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank nobodysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gerardo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We spent 3 days in this homey hotel and thoroughly enjoyed. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable and very nicely decorated. The owners were so helpful in giving us tips as to what to do (the Park was closed when we were there but they sent us to some fantastically beautiful alternatives) and where to eat (every restaurant met our expectations and beyond). I highly recommend this hotel and will make certain that I make reservations in advance for my next visit to the Park!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeanneruthB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived in West Yellowstone on October 1, the day the government shut down and closed the National Parks. Our three day stay could have been a disaster, however, Patti and Brian, the owners of the Alpine Motel helped to make our stay an most enjoyable one. They provided us with several wonderful suggestions on places to visit outside the Park. They also suggested several excellent local restaurants for meals. Our room was very comfortable. Patti and Brian have thought of everything to make our stay in West Yellowstone a memorable one. We will certainly come back again, and hopefully the next time the Park will be open.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Property: Alpine Motel
Address: 120 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#1 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel West Yellowstone
Alpine Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing