We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Alpine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Motel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Pointe Claire, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Brian and Patti were amazing hosts....always willing to provide advice on sights to see and restaurant ideas.....It is a motel...one of the cleanest we have stayed in...The room we stayed in with a King bed was adequately spacious but the bathroom was tiny....with the sink on the other end of the room.. Enough place to store luggage...Between 7:30am and 10 Pm you could go to the lobby to get coffee, hot chocolate, apple cider....granola bars, gummies....Parking can be a bit tight but you park right beside your room and we really didn't have any problems with that.....Location,location,location...you are right around the corner from the Main Street...For what most hotels/motels are charging in West Yellowsone..this offers great value!!!! Would definitely recommend you book early......

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrabblegalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    107
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
180
332
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This was absolutely one of my favorite places we stayed on our western vacation. The owners could not have been more helpful. Very warm and friendly. It is a no frills hotel, but excellent service and spotless rooms. I would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Third time at the Alpine, everything still superb. As clean as our own home. (If I said cleaner, I might be in serious trouble with my wife). The owners, Brian and Patti, still doing all of the work to make sure that everything stays great. Greet everyone at check-in to welcome their guests and answer any questions about West Yellowstone and the national park. Provide coffee and very nice snack food in the office. Upgraded the wi-fi and I believe that the flat screen TV's are new, with Direct TV. And about 100 feet from the heart of West Yellowstone. Nothing else to add to the hundreds of other great reviews except that the Alpine is the prime example of how good an independent motel can be.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hennepinbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for five nights at the Alpine Inn in June 2014. The room was perfect for a Yellowstone trip. Located about 2 blocks from the West Yellowstone entrance, it's the most convenient location for visiting the park. The downtown location makes it easy to walk to all restaurants, shops, etc. The room was great. Plenty of room to store things, a table and two chairs for web work, good WIFI, and clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful. There was coffee, tea, and granola bars always available in the office. Great place at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here in West Yellowstone. Brian greeted us when we arrived and showed us everything we needed to know. He took the time to suggest several places to eat including the Running Bear Pancake House, where we ate breakfast both days. It was our pleasure to stay at this well run family operation! This is the perfect place to stay at the west entrance. The room was perfectly clean and well appointed. It is not extremely large(other reviews were negative because of this), but it was more than sufficient. Brian and Patty charge a very reasonable rate and run a great motel! Will definitely stay again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
accountant_guy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was our second stay, the first was in 2009. The thing that sets a place like this apart is personal service. I have stayed at hundreds of chain hotels, and for the staff at those places you are generally just another number. Here the owners are not only present, but they go out of their way to make you feel at home. There are small touches like the complimentary items in the office, high quality soap/shampoo, and some of the softest towels I have ever used (which is rare for a hotel outside of the top tier) that add up to make this a wonderful experience. The place is very clean, sat tv with all of the channels (which is nice after a long day in the park), decent wifi, pretty much everything I could ask for in a stay at or near a national park. All of this for a price that I consider to be very reasonable. If you are in the area give them a shot, and book early because they do fill up fast during the summer season. One final note, even after 5 years the owner remembered me from our original stay in 2009. This is very impressive considering the fact that I am just an average looking guy, and the number of guests that must have come through during that time. These types of things are priceless in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accountant_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Time travel back to the motels of the 50's? Brian is a font of information about the area, we followed his suggestions on restaurants and Yellowstone Park and he was bang on! The room is very clean and comfortable and the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giardino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Property: Alpine Motel
Address: 120 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel West Yellowstone
Alpine Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing