We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Stay there all of the time.”
Review of Westwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westwood Motel
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stay at this hotel 2 or 3 times a year. Great value. Not the nicest rooms in town, but then you're not at Yellowstone to stay in your room! Beds are very comfortable. Hotel reception staff is very nice and they remember you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Litig8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

I don't know if it was the fact that I was scalded three time in the shower followed by cold water. The lack of a fan or hair dryer. The TV did not face the bed but there was one chair for my husband and I to share if we wanted to watch it. But the topper was when they told me that even though we had a coffee maker in our room we would have to provide our own coffee. We paid 111.00 for the room.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were a group of 4 - 2 couples. We have stayed here before in one of the kitchen units and our friends had been coming here over the years when their children were young. No Problems. Good location for our activities during our stay.

We checked in and, our room was filled with the smell of extremely strong perfume, patched carpet and moldy shower. Our friends' room was neutral scented, clean and adequate carpet. I asked the proprietors daughter for a new room and they were simply booked up. We opened the only window, (NO AC - NO Fan ) went to dinner, returned and, the scent was just as cloying as before - no way could you sleep in a room with this smell. The carpet looked liked someone dropped a bottle of perfume on the floor. We returned again to the desk to inquire about another room and the woman gave us a portable fan to try to dissipate the smell - we had already opened the only window and left the door open.

The four of us sat outside deciding what to do about sleeping arrangements (until about 8:30- 9:00 PM) when the owner came came over and asked what the problem was. Three of us and the owner went into the room. Long story short - he was Extremely Rude, told us that "the smell didn't bother him and we can just leave- get out and go someplace else". The owner was more concerned about getting his fan back.

Needless to say we were speechless. We had already called numerous other places - the town was completely booked and he knew it. We all wanted to leave, but were left with no choice especially at this hour of the evening. We then saw somebody come in with minimal cleaning supplies (probably cleaned the sink as that was all we had used) The vacancy light came on and the room was rented out within the hour of our encounter with the owner.

Unbelievable behavior - we were shocked and it definitely put a damper on our evening. We would never stay here again or recommend this place to anyone. See the other reviews regarding the flies and the West's Worst Motel.

In fairness to the owner's daughter she was trying her best to be accommodating and do the best she could.

Room Tip: Keep your doors locked. We had people coming back late at night trying every single door knob becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gab H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had a large unit with a full kitchen. It was off season so the nightly rate was exceptionally good value. The room was comfortable, well equipped and quiet. The units are log cabins with lots of timber inside creating a lovely 'in the mountains' feeling atmosphere, just great when visiting Yellowstone. The only down side was there was only a double bed which we found a bit small, other than that no complaints. The service from the owner's daughter at reception was excellent and friendly. We'd stay here again without a second thought.

Room Tip: They all look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here for one night. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. Biggest issue was the fact that the room was very stuffy and warm. We tried opening the window, which would have helped some, but our room was right next to the street and within 10 minutes of opening the window, there was a man standing outside our room looking in while talking on his cell phone. Scared us to death. That was the end of the open window. No fridge, micro or other conveniences. Also killed at 5 flies in the bathroom and there were still 4 more out in the sleeping area flying around. I felt it was over priced for what you got. Bed was not that comfortable nor was the pillow.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Nice, family run motel. We were here three days, and the service was perfect (for a cabin-style experience). There is no in room phone, therefore no room service, but the TV/satellite worked great, and WiFi was strong. There is no air-conditioning, but nighttime was in the low 40 degree mark (outside the room) - no air needed. The staff happily provided a fan for daytime use. The beds were soft. It is an older facility, but very clean - one of the cleanest motels I have every been in. For the outrageous prices charged during tourist season by the hotels/motels in the area, Westwood is an exceptional value. If we are in the area again, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

After reading older reviews we were concerned but were coming in last minute and had to take what we could get. What a nice surprise this was! The rooms are very simple, pared down, but quite comfortable and very clean, one of the cleanest motels I have ever stayed in. It is an old facility but well kept. Be prepared that there is no phone, no a/c but even in July we needed heat at night. Only drawback I can mention is the parking, and with open windows it can be noisy. Two loud motorcycles starting up early in the morning sounded like they were in our room, mainly because they practically were, about 20 feet away.

The televisions vary a lot and the one in our room was very poor, a CRT, but had one of the best channel line-ups I have ever seen. However, if you are staying here, you are visiting Yellowstone and should not be terribly concerned about phones and
TV. Internet wi-fi is included in price however. Don't expect luxury, but do expect comfort.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to be all different, so ask to look around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank technovelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One Horse Motel
One Horse Motel
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brandin' Iron Inn
Brandin' Iron Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Motel

Address: 238 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £29 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westwood Motel, just 4 blocks from the West Entrance to Yellowstone National Park. We are a Family owned and operated 16 unit motel. We offer economically priced accommodations with 2 Queen Beds as well as some Kitchenette rooms and Suite's with 3 Queen beds. Room amenities include satellite, flat screen TV's, small coffee makers, wifi, and fans. No AC. Our kitchenette rooms are fully equipped and stocked with utensils. We are in walking distance to numerous Restaurants and Shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel West Yellowstone
Westwood Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing