We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good room, but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Desert Inn
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. The motel is very nice, quiet, and clean. It's conveniently located, just outside the entrance to Yellowstone National Park.

The room was a nice size and the bed was comfortable.

The motel has a very good breakfast and the server kept it well supplied as the hordes devoured the various foods.

Only dislike was the price, but that's fairly typical of motels in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwellstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Desert Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Was centrally located in West Yellowstone. Very close to the park. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Staff friendly and morning breakfast, better than average for a Best Western breakfast bar. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Pauline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Pleased yet again with the friendliness and professionalism of the hotel staff. The aesthetics both interior and exterior very welcoming, clean and well kept. I would highly recommend a stay at this location if your ever in the West Yellowstone area. The Continental Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about, but good none the less.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Nate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Excellent, clean room and front reception all very professional. We ate supper at the hotel restaurant and the portions and food service were both of excellent quality; the largest and tastiest order of ribs I've ever had.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 1Gordonbleu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had planned to spend 3 nights here, but thanks to Obummer, Yellowstone was closed, so we saw/did everything else we could find, then moved on to Jackson, WY, the 3rd night. The 2 nights we did stay were quite comfortable. This is a newer Best Western (BW's can sometimes be hit or miss) that is well cared for. My husband & I had a good-sized room with 2 queen beds on the first floor, with a mini-fridge, HDTV w/HBO, and free wifi throughout the building. Laundry facilities are available in the hotel. There was a small pool which we didn't use, but which I'm sure children would enjoy. A nice, warm breakfast (including protein) was included in the room rate, plus the usual continental items (bread/toast, bagels, dry cereal, instant oatmeal [including plain, without sugar], etc.). Free parking & a good (quiet) location in the midst of town. Staff was very friendly & accommodating, happy to make sightseeing & dinner recommendations. This hotel is minutes from the west entrance to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red_Hibiscus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Room size is excellent. Bed was comfortable and the room was spotless. Was so quiet at night you could hear yourself breathing. Hot breakfast was excellent with lots of variety. Staff was friendly and there were no surprises.

Room Tip: Awesome in the off season.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beef_JerkyWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was a very good Best Western. Relatively new, quiet and clean and located in the middle of town. Our room was larger than standard and that was a nice feature. The standard amenities of mini fridge hair dryer and HDTV with HBO were included as was the continental breakfast in the mornings. The staff was efficient and polite.

However, something just felt kind of cold here. Maybe it was due to the fact there were a lot of foreign tourists who didn't speak English during our stay. Maybe it's burnout from the sheer volume of visitors through West Yellowstone and it was the end of the season. There just wasn't anything here that I found to be outstanding - not from the staff, the rooms or the food. All pretty much standard and what I expect. No surprises, good or bad. That isn't wrong but I'm not on business coming here. It's a vacation and some personality would have been nice.

Room Tip: I would prefer a room on the south side facing the parking lot and entrance. The back is kind of for...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
984 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Inn

Address: 133 N Canyon St, Us 20, 191 & 287, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £75 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel built on the site of original hotel, located within 2 blocks of west entrance to Yellowstone Nat'l Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Desert Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Best Western Desert Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing