We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable hotel-- great in 'off season'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Desert Inn
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Three Forks, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, comfortable hotel-- great in 'off season'”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stay at this hotel in the winter time only. It is convenient and perfect for Nordic ski trips. The breakfast makes this more affordable & it is nice to be able to get up early, eat and go out and hit the ski trails after a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    315
    114
    31
    16
See reviews for
284
270
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

whilst there was nothing actually wrong with this place and it was reasonably priced, you certainly won'ty be writing postcards homer about it, that said, for an affordable hotel it does everything necessary to make it a reasonable choice

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbakeonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

clean, comfortable rooms with all amenities for this type of facility. good breakfast. convenient location in west yellowstone. rooms were large, spacious and well kept we would stay at this hotel on next visit to west yellowstone either in the summer or winter

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Constantine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irkutsk, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We, a family of 3, stayed in this BW on Oct. 2013 when travelled in the Yellowstone and were really greatfull to the hotel that we got a nice room under the last minute reservation circumstances after all those shutdown changes. The hotel was generally good and clean. We stayed in a room with 2 king beds, which was great, with LOTS of space for luggage! I would have personally preferred more area in the bathroom although... In general, it is a good place to overnight when you travel in the area, if you do not expect too much from the accommodation. There are several nice places to eat just two minutes from the place. And a line of great local gift shops at the main street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vlad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

It was the off season but the services were great and the price was very good. Had a small pet and it did not look any different than the regular rooms. The breakfast had a good choices and good quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is the second BW hotel we have stayed in, in West Yellowstone; the first being the Weston Inn in July 2010 but we decided to try somewhere different this time. Alas, we had booked prior to the government shutdown and because we couldn't really change our travel plans, we kind of guessed what WY would be like. If anyone has visited Rhyolite (a Nevada/Death Valley ghost town) then you'll have an idea as to what West yellowstone was like in the midst of a NP closure. Such a shame because 3 years previously the place was bustling and my kids had their football (UK-style) fix on the park in the middle of town.

Luckily, we had booked in Jackson for the folowing two nights and on the second day, the NPs opened so we did get inside Yellowstone.

Anyway, back to the hotel. As you can imagine there was an air of despondency about the hotel; I think we were one of 5 or 6 guests and to be fair to the the reception staff, they did their best with restaurant recommendations, etc, but like us, they were just hoping for the re-opening of the NP which came a day or so later. The room was fine, up to the standard of most other BWs we had stayed in. Breakfast was a little spartan and we didn't avail ourselves of the pool but no other complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0nyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for Bridgeville, Del Punkin Chunkin. November 2013

The rooms were big. Nice big refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave, sitting area. You could not ask for anything else for the price. Other reviews commented negatively on the continental breakfast. I thought it was great. Belgian waffles, bagles, cereal, yogurt, fruit, hard boiled egg, juice, coffee, etc. What more can you ask for! Not a bad thing to say about the hotel. The lobby had a nice sofa lounge area with a big screen TV.
McDonald's next door if you prefer to go there. But great experience! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay far away from smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathryn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
962 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Inn

Property: Best Western Desert Inn
Address: 133 N Canyon St, Us 20, 191 & 287, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel built on the site of original hotel, located within 2 blocks of west entrance to Yellowstone Nat'l Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Desert Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Best Western Desert Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing