We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay here every time I visit from now on.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Desert Inn
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights while visiting yellowstone with my mom.
We felt very lucky to be staying at Best Western Desert Inn. It was clean, friendly and only 71 dollars. I had a small dog and they did not even charge extra for her. Highly reccomend!!,

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

West Yellowstone has few chain hotels with a lot of roadside inn type offerings. The Best Western is standard fare and is adequate for a short stay. The rooms were comfortable, there is an indoor pool, and the included breakfast has the standard fare of eggs, breakfast meats, cereal, breads and fruit. The wireless service is abysmal, don't try to send an e-mail at night. The room layout has the sink in the bedroom rather than the bathroom so if you get up at night or earlier than your partner you will disturb them.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BearTraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Desert Inn is conveniently located in the middle of West Yellowstone, about 1 mile from the Park entrance. There are many good places to eat within easy walking distance. The hotel has a good pool with a view from the second floor. Our stay was very quiet. The bed was comfortable, the room of a good size, and all of the standard amenities were in good order. Staff was friendly. The breakfast was satisfying and had enough protein to enable us to spend many hours in Yellowstone Park before looking for lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent place to stay for the money. Great service. Great rooms. Breakfast was good although the susage left alot to be desired, everything else was good. Plenty of food items to chose from, no matter what you were in the mood for. We will stay here again/

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Basil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel. The price was in the range of what I call middle class luxury hotels. Very convienent to the freeway, Western decor in the lobby and rooms. Excellent beds and very clean. The wireless internet was very fast and easy to connect. It has a very large indoor pool and spa and a slide and toys for the kids in the pool. Breakfast was very good with biscuits and gravy, eggs, fruit, waffles etc. I would recommend this hotel and a good place to bring kids on a weekend mini vacation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank unklray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you want to see Yellowstone, but dont want to stay in the park (or cant because its full), the town of West Yellowstone Montana offers a convenient access to the west entrance of the park. Within 30 - 40 minutes you can be at Old Faithful, Norris Basin, and other highlights of Yellowstone. As for the hotel, it kind of reminds me of a hotel in a beach town. It doesnt feel like a world class resort.... but they have an indoor pool with a slide and cable TV, so if traveling with young kids, they will like that after a day in the park. There is a sign by the ice machine reminding you to go and buy a bag of ice if you want to fill up your cooler... thats the kind of place it is... the breakfast is actually a voucher for a connected restaurant... I didnt try that, but other guests there said it was OK. For where it is, it seemed like a good place, and Id stay there again if I get back that way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just a couple of notes: the wireless internet was lousy. And the staff was rude and condescending. ( There was one young lady desk attendant was helpful and polite. All the others were not helpful, caring or kind, marginally polite) Was the staff helpful, friendly or caring? No, no, and heck no! The pool was super chlorinated, beware. Other guests were nice and friendly. Yellowstone was amazing! Careful when you go, most of town was closed up while we were there. Breakfast was nice. : )

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank GFmomx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Inn

Address: 133 N Canyon St, Us 20, 191 & 287, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £77 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel built on the site of original hotel, located within 2 blocks of west entrance to Yellowstone Nat'l Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Desert Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Best Western Desert Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing