We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel in a toursist city horrible internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Desert Inn
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a typical, average Best Western. It is expensive for what you get, but then it is only 3 minutes from the wet entrance to Yellowstone National Park. The room were clean and comfortable. The room came with a refrigerator and microwave. The internet is horrible. It is slower than dial up. This is by the far the worst internet service that I have ever had, anywhere in the world. I am also not exagerating either. The eployees are not friendly, do not smile and do not make you feel welcome (with the exception of the young lady at the front desk who helped us with checkout this morning (7-11-14). the older woman who was with her would not smile at all. The same goes in ehte evening. Not very helpful and it seemed as if we were doing them a favor by checking in to the hotel. You could tell by the attitude of the employees that they did not really care about anything. they took no pride in who they work for or te company the work for. This has to be on the owners. the breakfast is a typical Best Western Free breakfast. Some hot items, some cold items, bad coffee. The presentation of the buffet was pretty sloppy (even for Best Western) with the hot items being piled on top of each other (Denver omlettes). There was no one in site to restcok the items either, alothough they did not run out while we were there (although they were close and the bottom of the pile was not very appetizing). The buffet only runs from 6:00-9:00 am which in our opinion is a little short on time length as most freebreakfasts typically run from 6:00-10:00. I would have rated this higher if they had any sembalence of what an internet connection is (I would be happy to pay for it too) or if the employees seemed to care.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Best Western in West Yellowstone was very expensive and very average. The desk staff was not overly friendly but helpful when approached with questions. The bed left a lot to be desired as did the pillows. The hotel was in a good area and looked nice from the outside. The breakfast was good but again pretty average.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The good:
Comfy beds, nice staff, great location, standard breakfast lots of parking

The bad
Horrible slow internet, dial up speed at best...

The night clerks were pretty clueless and created a mess that I just gave up on and the morning staff cleaned up in 2 minutes flat...

Very overpriced you are basically paying for a 80 dollar hotel anywhere else in the us over 200!

All in all we enjoyed our stay, there is a subway across the street, and lots of other food options

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank eagle132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First off the price was way too high and the staff couldn't care less. Their attitude was take it or leave it. They also wouldn't redeemed the promotion of stay 3 nights get 4th night free. The room was hot because the air had not been turned on and right away we found a couple of spiders in the room. The WiFi is very spotty and the TV is not a 40" as advertised. Plus the noise level from other guests above and right out side was pretty bad. Will not recommend this place or stay here if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had two queen size beds in a clean and very large room. The lighting was bright and there were adequate electric outlets. Room amenities included a microwave, refrigerator, and a coffeemaker. There was also free WiFi. In the lobby is a free desktop for guests to use.

The bathroom lighting was dim. The sink/vanity is located outside of the bathroom; this area was brightly lit. There are laundry facilities on the premises.

The breakfast area is inadequate when there are a lot of guests. Tour groups stay at this hotel. So, you need to get to breakfast early or be prepared to take your breakfast back to your room.

Although located on the main street of West Yellowstone, our room was quiet.

If this review provides the type of info you like to see in a review, please check "Yes."

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SDAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

First, the good.....the hotel is in an excellent location to walk to most restaurants and shops in the town. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had an issue with the air conditioning when we first arrived and someone was there in no time to fix the issue. They had a nice breakfast buffet available at 6 am that included yogurts, cereals, and hot items. We only took advantage one morning but it was fine as long as you don't expect too much from the hot items.

The down side....the noise level between floors was very noticeable. We were on the first floor and both nights, we kept hearing what sounded like kids running around directly above us. That was very annoying. Also, as many other reviewers commented, the wi-fi is practically non-existent so don't count on that to work.

Room Tip: Because of the noise issue we had, I would suggest a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JofGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were met by a very helpful and cordial staff at check-in. Our room was large and nicely appointed. This would be our home for the next 3 days. Very nice and breakfast was the usual fare for this chain. It seems they are all pretty similar. The beds were comfortable and we slept well at night. The only downside was the free WiFi. Tediously slow to the point of frustration. The hotel staff said this was because there are few cell towers in town and they apparently are only allocated so much bandwidth. I think the hotel should invest in their own system and upgrade. Other than that..it was a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-adjoining room and quiet area in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Inn

Address: 133 N Canyon St, Us 20, 191 & 287, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £75 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel built on the site of original hotel, located within 2 blocks of west entrance to Yellowstone Nat'l Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Desert Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Best Western Desert Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing