We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anywhere but outside the park gates and they'd have to do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Desert Inn
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Anywhere but outside the park gates and they'd have to do better”
Reviewed 4 September 2010

A recent stay at the Best Western was disappointing. I selected it because of its location and availability on short notice, and that's exactly what I got. The public areas of the hotel are consistent with an older budget property, although there is a flat-screen in the lobby. The room furnishings are dated and worn, and the room was not very clean. The furniture seemed to be a mishmash of someone's leftovers. We had a table but no chairs to pull up to it. There were a couple of upholstered chairs, but they were sagging and looked to have been slept in recently. The hotel was noisy to the point that I finally resorted to earplugs. Unfortunately, I took them out and had to listen to the people in the next room talk loudly from about 5:00 on. The breakfast did not improve matters. The options were consistent with a budget hotel. There might have been a few more choices, but the attendant did not fill/refill. There was an emply hot dish, for example, that apparently contained something at some point, but between 6:30 a.m. and 7 a.m. it was empty. Another dish apparently was supposed to contain yogurt, because he was filling it for the first time as we left. All in all, it was not a pleasant stay other than the short drive to the Yellowstone entrance.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJTOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    320
    119
    32
    16
See reviews for
290
278
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This is one of 2 or 3 Best Westerns in West Yellowstone. We stayed here because of its close location (less than one mile) to the gates of Yellowstone Park. We had a standard room with 2 queen beds. The rooms were oversized with 2 comfortable chairs off to the side and plenty of foot room. We also had a microwave and nice sized refrigerator in the room. The two nights spent at this hotel were the best of our trip!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superschoolteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Excellent. I expected budget accommodation given the price but was pleasantly surprised. The room and bathroom was really nice and felt quite luxurious. The room was really large. Good and free wifi. Great location, very close to yellowstone park west entrance and lots of restaurants nearby. It did have a pool and jaccuzi, but we never used it so can't really comment but looked fine.
Only downside was that the breakfast was pretty poor, but I think you already get a lot more than what you can expect for the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aubergine100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

5 of us, all adults, stayed for 5 nights in 3 rooms..staff very accomodating, rooms clean, great indoor pool and hot tub, good breakfast, good location..will be back again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainjoeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM ENGLAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Room was dirty. Sink overflow was disgusting, dust in shower room and on top of best head. Towels were dingy and well worn. Breakfast was sparce and served on polystyrene plates. I cannot imagine how they got a Best Western rating

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANDIE200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, VA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This was motel-USA-standard. Nothing was in any way out of the ordinary. On the positive side, it was clean, the beds were comfortable, and as a base for touring the western part of Yellowstone NP it was just fine. We had not realized how small West Yellowstone is....really any hotel in town is located OK for park touring and eating meals in the town.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinianReston_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

This hotel was pretty decent. Close to everything and the upgraded rooms were a plus. The breakfast was okay but a different variey would be nice. If we ever head back to Yellowstone, we'll definitely head back to this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annettegig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Inn

Property: Best Western Desert Inn
Address: 133 N Canyon St, Us 20, 191 & 287, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel built on the site of original hotel, located within 2 blocks of west entrance to Yellowstone Nat'l Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Desert Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Best Western Desert Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing