We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel”
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Motel”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Check in went very smooth and desk clerk was professional and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable, with good beds. Pool was good. Breakfast is tasty and well stocked, cereal, juice, toast, fruit, muffins, yogurt, are some of the breakfast items. Breakfast room is small, but works out OK. Wifi worked good. Parking lot can be a bit tight, but generally has adequate parking available for the property. Motel is within walking distance of several places to eat. Grocery store is also within a block of the motel. Overall the staff was pleasant and helpful. Will stay here again when visiting Yellowstone Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimba223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Crosswinds. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will continue to stay with us whenever you are in West Yellowstone!

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    84
    68
    23
    13
See reviews for
85
96
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel was expensive for a room which was just OK. Unfortunately we left my husbands reading glasses here which we never recovered. Ultimately that was our fault for not checking up room properly prior to checking out....very disappointing though because we know they were definitely left in the room. Unfortunately we also experienced a more serious incident that resulted in us contacting and filing a report with the West Yellowstone Police. I rang the hotel and asked to speak to the manager so I could make them aware of the incident. I left a message but my call was never returned....very disappointing and arrogant!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles1965_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
I was concerned when I read your review and sent you a private message on July 7th, as of yet I have had no response from you. We speak to guests every day and I can assure you, I had no messages that were not returned. We also contacted the local police department to see if we could find out what the issue was that you reported and they were unable to assist us so we still do not know what the issue was that you are referring to.

I had also let you know in my private message that we do have a pair of glasses that were found. I do not know if they belong to your husband or not, but you can call the motel and give a description. If they are his we would be happy to have them professionally packaged and mailed back to you.

I hope to receive a response from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

I had a great visit to Yellowstone for business purposes. Clean, affordable, friendly staff. Location is convenient to the local shops and restaurants and the entrance to the park. Needed extra soap and staff was willing to accommodate. Continental breakfast was always stocked well. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrlvinRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing us! We are so happy that you had a great stay and look forward to your next visit!

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from tuesday to friday. When we came at the reception and nobody was there. After 4 minutes when the girl was finised talking to her collegue, she asked me can i help you on a very rude way. We didn't feel welcome at all. No smile nothing friendly at all, when we arrived at the room it was basic but clean. Just all we need but we know that when we booked here. The next day at breakfest it was very simple just a normal contintal breakfest. But when we asked the waitress a question, she wouldn't want to talk and ignored as. When i asked again she answerd but makes very clear she don't want to talk to us or anybody. On the day of our check out, i said i want to check out. The girl behind the desk makes it very clear i was bothering her with reading her newspaper. And when she gave me a pen to sign my bill that didn't work she picked a pen scratched it irritated over her paper. I signed my bill and walked out confused of what happend there. I only can recommend stay there if they replaced there staff its the most rude staff i ever met. This is by far the worst staff i ever met in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardBrand1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
I apologize that you did not feel welcome when you stayed with us. I have spoken with the staff that were working during your check in and check out times. I have used your experience as an opportunity to refresh all the staff on the importance of making sure that our guests are welcomed and experience a friendly and helpful staff.

Again, I am sorry that you did not have that experience. From your other comments and ratings in other areas it appears you enjoyed the motel itself, so I am glad the room and location were to your satisfaction. I hope if you are ever in the area again, you will give us another chance to serve your lodging needs and I am positive you will feel welcome! We would love to have you stay with us again.

I wish you safe travels on all your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel is not even in the same category as Motel 6. The room is dingy, stale, linen is dingy looking, furnishings are dated, carpets dirty, AC works some of the time, and if you call to report the problem staff will make you feel guilty for doing so. Breakfast is Luke warm at best, spend an extra $8 and stay at the desert inn across the street.

Room Tip: Do not BBQ place that has seating outside and looks to be authentic, it's a joke, overprice, und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1_HarleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
I apologize that you were not happy with your stay. It is not uncommon for many of the hotels in West Yellowstone to get negative comments in summer about pricing. West Yellowstone is a resort area and summer is our peak season. Our rates, like those of every other motel/hotel in West Yellowstone, are not reflective of the age, size or amenities, they are based simply on extremely limited supply and extraordinary demand due to the limited availability.

Our goal is to ensure all our guests are happy and satisfied during their stay with us, however, we realize that is unlikely. In those cases when we have a guest who is not satisfied with our property we are happy to share information about prices and availability of other lodging options in town and we always allow them to check out early without penalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
txwanab
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel was better in person than online. Absolute perfect location to Yellowstone. It is actually better to stay at the West entrance. It's closer to everything u want to see. The room was very clean! The Mattresses looked newer. We had a larger dorm fridge & micro. A table & desk plus 2 sitting chairs. The continental breakfast was superior!! You will not be disappointed! The staff was extra super friendly. I wish we would have thought to leave a tip for them! There is always coffee in the lobby. We went to the indoor pool each night. The hot tub was a great way to relax after driving & walking in the park all day. There is a small park across the street. People would take their dogs for walks. There is 1 washer/dryer. You can walk across the street to a convenience store. And one block more there's a pizza shop that's really good(geyser I think). Plus one of the two grocery stores n town. It is about 2 miles to the Yellowstone West entrance. About 3 miles into the park is a big area for bison! We will definitely return if we visit again! There's not much view anywhere in the hotel, but it was only a place to sleep & eat.

Room Tip: If ur a southerner stay on the first floor. Climbing is not ur friend in altitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txwanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you back again!

We are hopeful that within the next year we will have an expanded breakfast area and we really want our past guests to stop by after it's done and let us know what they think.

We hope to see you again and in the meantime we wish you safe travels on all your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The staff gave us early check-in and late check-out due to the timing of our shuttle bus from/to Bozeman! That was very helpful! The room was clean and breakfast was good! The location is near Arby's, Geyser's restaurant, and a grocery store! The price was great! The even gave us a ride to the snowmobile rental company. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank blacosiberians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and glad you made it back home safely.

I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will stay with us!

We wish you safe travels always!

Anna Stallings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Property: Crosswinds Inn
Address: 201 Firehole Ave, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9517 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Crosswinds Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing