We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room but Nothing Fancy”
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 21 July 2008

My family stayed here for three nights in June 2008. Our room was spacious and clean, with a refrigerator and microwave. The room seemed overpriced, but then most things seemed to be that way in West Yellowstone. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The continental breakfast was meager and crowded, but that was really the only negative. I would consider staying here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank markw89311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2008

Got the room right on the corner (stop sign 10 steps from room door) next to the office. There were lumps under the carpet (what is that?), thin walls, damp odors, bugs in the bathroom, and unprofessional staff (way too young for responsibility). We booked two rooms under my name and didn't get rooms next to each other; not a huge deal but every other hotel on our 10 day trip managed to figure out if two rooms are booked under the same name, they might want to be close together. My sister's room didn't get cleaned before we left for the day so they made sure to tell the front desk that they were leaving so it could be done. Back at 8:30 that evening and the room was not cleaned. When brought to the attention of the front desk, the response was "What do you want us to do about it?". When a discount was asked for, all of a sudden they were willing to send someone to clean the room. The rooms that are not located next to the street may be better, but unfortunately, I had a very poor experience.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mouser714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Nice large room. We didn't sample the breakfast there because there are two many restaurants in the area. The room was always clean and resupplied. We were there for one week and never had a cleaning crew problem. But keep in mind e didn't pull out the furniture to look for candy wrappers like some anal retentive people seem to do.

The downsides - in my opionion. The parking spots were striped by someone who assumed everyone drives a Yugo, MiniCooper or Moped. We have a minivan and it was tight. If you can't get an end spot expect some door dings if there are idiots parked around you. Some numbskulls can't park BETWEEN the lines and end up screwing up two spots.

The other downside which is an easy fix for the owners - this facility is 100% nonsmoking ROOMS. This is designed to keep people from smoking in the rooms. While I don't smoke I heard others complaining about the butts on the ground. There was not an outdoor ashtray in sight. Nowhere to put the butts and I suspect if they were taken into a room for disposal the patron would have possibly been accused of smoking in the room and dinged for a fee.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank whichwaydidtheygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

This is a clean, neat hotel with separate indoor pool room. Rooms were large and well maintained. Breakfast/lobby area was small and very crowded. Management suggested guests take breakfast to their rooms for more space. Nice park just across the street. Good location and value.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank Travelingonabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We stayed here in Sep 2007, our last night in Yellowstone as we decided to extend our stay by one night and our first hotel was booked up.

Best Western is a good name, and this place was more or less like any other Best western hotels. There were two other Best Western hotels in the same town, they were more pricey - but were hotels. This place was more like a better quality motel.

It had a decent sized room, a very comfortable queen size bed, a microwave and a fridge, a desk and wireless internet access. The bathroom was clean and had the basin with a spacious counter place was located outside the bathroom.

The fridge and microwave in the room is a very convenient thing and can come very handy in a place like Yellowstone where your days start early and end late, and we definitely missed it and could have used it in our first hotel - which was City Center Motel. Unfortunately, City Center did not provide any such amenities. And we couldn't use the one in Best Western as we checked in late and left early the next morning.

This place did not have elevators, so we had to carry our luggage to the 2nd floor room - though we stayed there only one night. This place had a phone in the room.

This place was a bit pricey, but everything else was booked for that night for some reason - so this wasn't a bad choice for the price we paid.

This place had a complementary breakfast in the mornings which included waffles, toast, cereal, fruit, coffee and juice. This 7am breakfast was very convenient as well as it allows you to have an early start.

This place is conveniently located near the Yellowstone Park West entrance on the main road and all the restaurants, gas stations and stores in the town are just blocks away.

Overall a decent place, with very comfortable beds, good amenities in the room and suitable to travellers of all ages and groups.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Anuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Inn for only 1 night on Sep 6th after having stayed in the City Center Motel for 5 nights.

We shifted to the Best Western because we could not extend our stay at City Center because it was booked.

This Best Western met the standards expected of a Best Western motel. The lobby was open 24 hours. The room had the usual amenities like iron, microwave, refrigerator, Wi-Fi and so on. The included breakfast had items such as cereal, toast, fruits, miniature muffins, juices, and coffee.

The most notable things were that this was a step up from the City Center Motel and hence the price reflected that. The beds were very, very comfortable.

The location was not optimum because morning traffic noise from Rte 20 could be heard inside the room. However, the proximity to the Yellowstone entrance was as good as most other hotels since West Yellowstone is a small town.

It was a good motel, but for those who need only a place to sleep better bargains can be found at other motels in West Yellowstone. This motel is for those who will spend some time in the motel room and want a higher level of comfort than a basic motel but still at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank airsonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

Stayed here two nights because the lodging in Yellowstone was full. I would have preferred to stay in the park, but this was a fine place to stay. It seemed slightly overpriced, but I'm sure that's the going rate for this town in July. Probably not the nicest of the three Best Westerns in West Yellowstone, but a fine hotel. It was clean. Everything worked as it should. The pool/jacuzzi area seemed nice but we did not use it because there was one large family with mulitple kids playing and splashing both nights. The rooms were a little noisy, but not too bad. The hotel is in walking distance ( a few blocks) of the small touristy shops and restaurants. Go early or late for food with less waiting, as everywhere seemed small and busy.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wampuscat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Address: 201 Firehole Ave, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9517 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £129 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Crosswinds Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing