We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey/ Kind of dodgy”
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bit pricey/ Kind of dodgy”
Reviewed 2 September 2008

First, let me say that I am an Travel Agent. I don't mind a modest property at all as long as it is clean. The room I stayed in was clean. I will give it that. That being said, the walls are paper thin, I heard the people above me stomping about, the creaking doors on other people's rooms, and the pool area is kind of scary. The breakfast area is very small, so eat in your room. Not much of a breakfast really. Breads, fruits, hard boiled eggs (they were scary) juices and cold cereal. Oatmeal would have been nice to have. Location is perfect though. West Yellowstone does not have a ton of great places to stay. This was my first time there. $116.00 was too much to pay for this property. Staff was very nice, but they really need to upgrade this hotel and monitor how many people actually are in a room. I am sure that no more than 4-5 people should be in a room, that is the norm. I was next to a family that had 5 kids in the room, plus the 2 adults! I did call the front desk to complain, nothing was done. If you do stay here, be sure to at least be on the top floor, or you will hear stomping feet early in the morning

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls, breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calequestrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    84
    68
    23
    13
See reviews for
85
96
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
white salmon wa
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We had a nice room in west yellowstone.It was walking distance to most restaraunts and the neat little shops. you could probably walk to the grizzly center ,but we drove. Our room was nice and big , very clean. The pool and hot tub were nice.

  • Liked — walking distance to shops and restaraunts
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kiannahsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Its an older hotel but the location is great. In the center of W. Yellowstone and everything is within walking distance. The AC kept going off and on waking me up at nite. The breakfast room was way too small and overcrowded in the morning. You could hardly move. I would suggest eating in your room. The breakfast was not that great anyway, i skipped it after the first morning. The pool and hot tub were great.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — its an older motel
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gpd132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night, and it was really not worth the price we had to pay. The park across the street is nice to be by if you have kids, and the pool area is nice and clean. The breakfast area is horrible, way too small for the number of people who utilize it and not well stocked after about 8:00 AM. The rooms are dingy and ours had a funky smell to it. It sounded like a herd of elephants was staying in the room above ours, and they didn't quit stomping around until well after 1:00 AM. This was our second hotel in West Yellowstone, and both were pretty bad. I really would advise people to stay in Jackson, Wyoming instead as when one pays $175 for a room, you at least get your money's worth. I don't think we'll be making the mistake of staying in West again.

  • Liked — Pool was clean
  • Disliked — Very noisy
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TencatNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

THE GOOD: This hotel is in a convenient location in West Yellowstone - walking distance to the few shops and restaurants in the town. It is directly across the street from a city park with playground and picnic tables. The room was cleaned and the in-room coffee was replaced daily. The wireless network had a strong signal in our room.

THE BAD: The room was pretty expensive for the quality of the room. Ours was pretty dingy; showing its age in the carpet, walls, sink, toilet, tub, and fixtures. The worst problem this property faces is noise. Not only could we hear people moving around, watching TV, and talking from the rooms adjacent to and above us, but worse, each time they used their water (sink, tub, or flush) it was very loud in our room. Louder than the television, and loud enough to wake a fairly sound sleeper.

The breakfast (muffins, toast, cereal, nasty-looking fruit) was unusable - the crowd was too large and food was pretty much exhausted by 8am.

SUMMARY: I would not choose to stay in West Yellowstone again. I would stay in a NPS lodge or camp. If I do stay in West Yellowstone again, it will not likely be here.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluestruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

My family stayed here for three nights in June 2008. Our room was spacious and clean, with a refrigerator and microwave. The room seemed overpriced, but then most things seemed to be that way in West Yellowstone. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The continental breakfast was meager and crowded, but that was really the only negative. I would consider staying here again on a future trip.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — continental breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank markw89311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Got the room right on the corner (stop sign 10 steps from room door) next to the office. There were lumps under the carpet (what is that?), thin walls, damp odors, bugs in the bathroom, and unprofessional staff (way too young for responsibility). We booked two rooms under my name and didn't get rooms next to each other; not a huge deal but every other hotel on our 10 day trip managed to figure out if two rooms are booked under the same name, they might want to be close together. My sister's room didn't get cleaned before we left for the day so they made sure to tell the front desk that they were leaving so it could be done. Back at 8:30 that evening and the room was not cleaned. When brought to the attention of the front desk, the response was "What do you want us to do about it?". When a discount was asked for, all of a sudden they were willing to send someone to clean the room. The rooms that are not located next to the street may be better, but unfortunately, I had a very poor experience.

  • Liked — internet connection
  • Disliked — staff, room location, value
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mouser714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Property: Crosswinds Inn
Address: 201 Firehole Ave, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9517 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Crosswinds Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing