We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were looking for a dog friendly hotel that was both affordable & comfortable and I believe we made the best choice staying here! Right across from a park & the woman who checked us in was absolutely sweet. The room looked great & we would most definitely stay here again if we travel that way again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor!

We just completed an entire room renovation including new granite vanities, new carpet, new wall vinyl and will have new lighting in place within the next couple weeks. We are glad you enjoyed our new updates and we are happy to offer pet friendly rooms as we also love our 4-legged guests!

We hope you will stay with us again and until then, we wish you safe travels on all your journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Crosswinds Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This place was awesome... Great rate of only $62 in May with a triple a discount. Everything in the room was new and super clean. New carpet, new bedding new tile and fancy shower head, large granite bathroom sink. I really think I may have been the first to stay in this room after the remodel the desk clerk told me about. We stayed on the top floor and it was very quiet. Breakfast wasn't that great but the new clean room and great price more than made up for it :) beds were also super comfy!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing us! You are correct, you were the first person to stay in the room since we have replaced the carpet, bedding, vinyl wallpaper and granite vanities. I'm so glad you enjoyed it but I am sorry that breakfast wasn't satisfying to you. We are going to be adding some more selection to our offerings and if you have any suggestions that would have made it better for you please contact me at crosswindsinn@aol.com and let me know or fill out the Best Western Survey that was sent out and include that information in the comments section. I am always interested to hear what our valued guests would like to see offered for our continental breakfast.

Again, thank you so much for staying with us and reviewing us on Tripadvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed there for a trip to Yellowstone. Convenient location to Yellowtone's West entrance. For a older motel it was very clean and the continental breakfast was tasty. The staff was pleasant to speak with. The pool and sauna were indoor and heated which was very relaxing after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank daniellec448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you SO much for reviewing us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area.

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

There was a large streak of fecal matter on the mattress cover. It was right where I would have put my head. There was no way Housekeeping could have been missed it unless they either didn't change the sheets or put it there themselves. I only found it because my own dog freaked from the scent and marked the area. (It was the first time and last time in over three weeks of traveling across the US that she exhibited that behavior.) The manager was indifferent, didn't want to look, and just brought some extra towels. As an added insult, they charged me an additional (unauthorized) $20 on top of the pet fee I already agreed to. The breakfast was also very poor in comparison to other places I stayed during this cross country vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

I have spoken with my employee's regarding this situation and their memory of it is a bit different than yours. When you called the front desk you stated your dog is the one who went to the bathroom on the bed. My front desk clerk brought you new towels and sheets and stated that you would not allow him in your room due to having a child with a medical disorder. You did not speak with a manager. You were also only charged one $20 pet fee, you were not charged twice. If you would like a copy of your room folio to verify this please e-mail me that request at crosswindsinn@aol.com and I will send it to you to verify that you were only charged one time.

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It's not that good considering there are so many best western in town and I regret it. The room was soso, and another best western was just nearby and that one looks great considering the one we stayed.

I guess the price in west yellowstone won't be a little bit easy. Paid a lot but don't get enough back. :P

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoTrekkerWalomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing us. West Yellowstone is a resort town and you did stay with us during peak season so it is our highest priced time of year. We are doing some remodeling this winter and all our rooms will have new granite vanities, new lighting, new carpet and new wall vinyl. We hope if you are ever in the area again you will stop by and see our upgrades and let us know how we did.

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Older motel, but clean. Bed was comfortable. Good water pressure in shower. Large TV with cable. Excellent continental breakfast - cheesy eggs, biscuits & sausage gravy, french toast, cereal, hot cereal, hot drinks, juices, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries. The gal that serviced the breakfast area was awesome. She kept replenishing everything and kept the area clean. Eating area was small and we had to wait for a table to eat at, but didn't have to wait too long. Staff was friendly. Quick check in and check out. Close to most restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will allow us the pleasure of serving your lodging needs if you are ever in the area again.

We are remodeling our rooms this winter so we hope to provide an even better lodging experience to all our guests.

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I was in West Yellowstone to attend a fly fishing conference and fish in the Park

There are lots of accommodations to choose from and I chose Best Western Cross-Winds and I was very happy I did.

Helpful and accommodating staff, clean rooms, quiet location, a wide variety of items on
its breakfast menu, both hot and cold, and a hop, skip and a jump to the Park's entrance

And if you are traveling with a four legged family member, you are lucky to have a large
park across the street (carry popper bags)

I recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return.

It is apparent that the owner and manager care about this property and providing a
good experience to its guests

Room Tip: I was in a bottom floor, 300 block with easy access to unload and load my truck.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAP94306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing us! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here and I look forward to your return visits!

We do have some of the best fly fishing in the country and we are surrounded by some of the most fertile rivers and beautiful mountains on Earth.

We are currently in the midst of remodeling our rooms and when you come back to see us they will have all been updated with new carpet, new granite vanities, new wall vinyl and new lighting. We hope this provides an even better guest experience for all our valued customers.

Until next time, I wish you safe travels on all your journeys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Address: 201 Firehole Ave, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9517 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £101 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Crosswinds Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing