We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Westen Best Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Westen Best Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Coming to the hotel we found the bed sheets a bit dirty. They were replaced within the next half hour. We needed a rollaway bed and it was supplied without extra charge. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was cool but with the hot tub next to it it was a big hit. The breakfast meals were excellent. We received a discount due to the dirty sheet. Overall it was a great week for us at Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and want to take another moment to apologize for the issue with the sheet. I'm glad we were able to resolve the issue, we pride ourselves on making sure that if there are any issues with our rooms we do our very best to make it right immediately.

We hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area!

I wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    80
    66
    22
    13
See reviews for
82
92
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nampa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Dave at the front desk made us welcome, immediately helped with a problem we had in our room, then greeted us every time he saw us. That made us so happy to be here. It is also nice to have a thermostat to control the temperature of the room..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will make sure to show your review to Dave, he will be very happy that you were pleased with his service. He is new here and is doing a great job and giving it his all.

We hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area.

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale Heights, IL, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you don't mind a stand-up internet at the edge of the entryway counter (no lobby) AND you don't mind waiting a few minutes for a table in the small breakfast nook room around from the entryway, then this motel adds to your vacation experience. Yellowstone is right next door and the staff (Jackie) succeeds in helping us "flatlanders" manage despite the tight fit. This is my 2nd time here and it hasn't changed, but you make friends as the tables are right next to each other.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I agree, our guest needs for breakfast have outgrown our available space. We do have plans for future renovation of our breakfast area to enclose the carport and expand both the lobby and breakfast area. If that plan comes to fruition, we would love to hear feedback from our repeat guests, such as yourself.

I hope we will see you again soon and we wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
276 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an older motel, with exterior doors.Check in was friendly and efficient.
Room was clean, on small size. Nothing special but nothing a problem except for the breakfast room which was way too small for the amount of customers. This is obviously a tour bus stop and the group from bus pretty much took over. Didn't really bother us but you certainly can't linger.
This is a National Park area so expect to pay more than at some other places for same thing.

Room Tip: Ask for side street or back of parking lot area room for quiet. HIghway in front of motel is busy wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twominks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us!

We agree with you, the breakfast needs of our guests have outgrown our space. We are hopeful that we will be able to remodel our breakfast area and expand the size of it to accommodate all our guests comfortably.

I do hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area.

I wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. From all the no vacancy signs we saw I was very glad we had booked far in advance. Our jobs require us to book most or all of our vacation time months or a year out. For our travel I've gone with the earlier the better, especially on holidays. We have been to West Yellowstone several times, we usually stay at the BW Weston Inn. This was our first stay at The BW Cross Winds.

Check is in at 3pm, most everywhere, and they mean it so be prepared. Touch base with the front desk, let them know you're here, then head into the park.

We had a king bed on the second floor. This is an older hotel but it has been remodeled, very nice. The bed was big and comfy, and like most Best Westerns, it had lots of squishy pillows. Heaven to sleep. The bathroom is smaller, the toilet and the shower in a separate room. I don't like that design but the fixtures were all modern and very clean. The shower had good pressure and lots of hot water.

There is also a fridge and nuker, which is very handy. We always use them. No fault of the hotel there was a day long power outage over the weekend, so they had no breakfast available except packaged Danish. There were a couple of gas stations that had their own generators that were open, you would not believe the lines for morning coffee! LOL We did get breakfast a couple of mornings. It was very simple. hot drinks, muffins, Danish, toast and warm biscuits and gravy. Not a lot of variety but it was Ok and it'll get your day started.

West Yellowstone is a small town and this location is an easy walk to the main shopping and dining areas. We saw there was an indoor pool and hot tub, we dearly would have loved to try but they were both full of young kids every time we looked in. The few hotel workers we spoke with during check in and check out were very helpful and friendly.

You come here for The Park. If you're like us we left the room at 8am and didn't come back until at least 7 pm. This hotel is a great base to stay for exploring the wonders of Yellowstone. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARNERSINMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back again and choose us again.

Until next time I wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Really good Hotel and nice hospitality. Always serves you with a smile. Ample Parking space. Nice breakfast. Only problem is Dining room is a bit cramped. But you can always take your food with you to your room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Arnab D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! I am glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope that if you are ever in the area again you will choose us.

We agree, our breakfast area does need to be expanded and this is something that the current owners have plans to do in the near future.

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This trip to West Yellowstone we stayed here 5 nights. It's convenient if you have a dog because it's across the street from a park. The rooms are clean and have average amenities. Major complaints are a very poor Wi-Fi connection and satellite problems with the TV. With the dog and all of our gear/luggage, the room was really cramped (we had 1 king sized bed). If there was one queen bed it would've been better.

Would we stay again? Maybe yes maybe no, depending on what else may be available.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip advisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I am sorry that you had some issues with the TV and Wi-Fi. I would like you to contact me regarding this so that we could discuss it. You can either call me at the motel 406-646-9557 or contact me via e-mail at crosswindsinn@aol.com.

I look forward to talking with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Property: Crosswinds Inn
Address: 201 Firehole, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Crosswinds Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing