We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality of stay”
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
south pasadena, United States
1 review
“quality of stay”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I felt that for the room for one night was way overpriced... we have stayed at many Best Western hotels this summer, and this one was way out of line... the towels were not even organized for us in the room, the toilet had to be adjusted so as to stop running, and we could not get Wi-Fi for our lap top.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. I apologize you didn't find your stay more satisfying. All our rooms have just been completely remodeled so it's disappointing that you enjoy your stay as much as we wish you had. We are a mountainous, remote area and we do provide the highest internet speed available in West Yellowstone. We realize that for those used to big city internet speeds it may not seem fast enough, but it is the fastest that is available to us in this area.

We are a resort area located a couple blocks from Yellowstone National Park, you visited us during our peak season when prices are high however, I check local rates daily and we are priced at or below all other properties of similar size and amenities.

Thank you again for staying with us. I wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    82
    66
    23
    13
See reviews for
84
94
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were not aware that there was a town right at the edge of Yellowstone. It is right at the West Entrance of the park and has a vast array of amenities. The Cross-Winds is a pleasant hotel with good rooms and a decent hot buffet breakfast. It was $159.31 all told for three people two beds, about half what the Old Faithful Snow Lodge cost and twice what Coral Hills in St. George cost. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

West Yellowstone borders Yellowstone National Park and this property is located just blocks from the entrance making it a convenient home base for exploring the nations first national park.

I hope that we will see you again soon!

Until then, I wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Coming to the hotel we found the bed sheets a bit dirty. They were replaced within the next half hour. We needed a rollaway bed and it was supplied without extra charge. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was cool but with the hot tub next to it it was a big hit. The breakfast meals were excellent. We received a discount due to the dirty sheet. Overall it was a great week for us at Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and want to take another moment to apologize for the issue with the sheet. I'm glad we were able to resolve the issue, we pride ourselves on making sure that if there are any issues with our rooms we do our very best to make it right immediately.

We hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area!

I wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Dave at the front desk made us welcome, immediately helped with a problem we had in our room, then greeted us every time he saw us. That made us so happy to be here. It is also nice to have a thermostat to control the temperature of the room..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will make sure to show your review to Dave, he will be very happy that you were pleased with his service. He is new here and is doing a great job and giving it his all.

We hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area.

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale Heights, IL, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you don't mind a stand-up internet at the edge of the entryway counter (no lobby) AND you don't mind waiting a few minutes for a table in the small breakfast nook room around from the entryway, then this motel adds to your vacation experience. Yellowstone is right next door and the staff (Jackie) succeeds in helping us "flatlanders" manage despite the tight fit. This is my 2nd time here and it hasn't changed, but you make friends as the tables are right next to each other.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I agree, our guest needs for breakfast have outgrown our available space. We do have plans for future renovation of our breakfast area to enclose the carport and expand both the lobby and breakfast area. If that plan comes to fruition, we would love to hear feedback from our repeat guests, such as yourself.

I hope we will see you again soon and we wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
278 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an older motel, with exterior doors.Check in was friendly and efficient.
Room was clean, on small size. Nothing special but nothing a problem except for the breakfast room which was way too small for the amount of customers. This is obviously a tour bus stop and the group from bus pretty much took over. Didn't really bother us but you certainly can't linger.
This is a National Park area so expect to pay more than at some other places for same thing.

Room Tip: Ask for side street or back of parking lot area room for quiet. HIghway in front of motel is busy wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twominks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us!

We agree with you, the breakfast needs of our guests have outgrown our space. We are hopeful that we will be able to remodel our breakfast area and expand the size of it to accommodate all our guests comfortably.

I do hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area.

I wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. From all the no vacancy signs we saw I was very glad we had booked far in advance. Our jobs require us to book most or all of our vacation time months or a year out. For our travel I've gone with the earlier the better, especially on holidays. We have been to West Yellowstone several times, we usually stay at the BW Weston Inn. This was our first stay at The BW Cross Winds.

Check is in at 3pm, most everywhere, and they mean it so be prepared. Touch base with the front desk, let them know you're here, then head into the park.

We had a king bed on the second floor. This is an older hotel but it has been remodeled, very nice. The bed was big and comfy, and like most Best Westerns, it had lots of squishy pillows. Heaven to sleep. The bathroom is smaller, the toilet and the shower in a separate room. I don't like that design but the fixtures were all modern and very clean. The shower had good pressure and lots of hot water.

There is also a fridge and nuker, which is very handy. We always use them. No fault of the hotel there was a day long power outage over the weekend, so they had no breakfast available except packaged Danish. There were a couple of gas stations that had their own generators that were open, you would not believe the lines for morning coffee! LOL We did get breakfast a couple of mornings. It was very simple. hot drinks, muffins, Danish, toast and warm biscuits and gravy. Not a lot of variety but it was Ok and it'll get your day started.

West Yellowstone is a small town and this location is an easy walk to the main shopping and dining areas. We saw there was an indoor pool and hot tub, we dearly would have loved to try but they were both full of young kids every time we looked in. The few hotel workers we spoke with during check in and check out were very helpful and friendly.

You come here for The Park. If you're like us we left the room at 8am and didn't come back until at least 7 pm. This hotel is a great base to stay for exploring the wonders of Yellowstone. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARNERSINMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back again and choose us again.

Until next time I wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Property: Crosswinds Inn
Address: 201 Firehole Ave, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9517 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Crosswinds Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing