We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traveler”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traveler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 3 days in may enjoyed our stay and loved walking throughout town.enjoyed the breakfast and the staff runing the hotel.If you needed anything they were more than happy to help you.we love how close to the park it was...we enjoyed the Chinese restaurant on the right of main st ( the outher on the left was no no no good) the was 6 of us all couples and we all really enjoyed the hotel and down town.went and seen the bears and the Wolfe's. That money is for a good cause. Do not speed in the park.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be our guest again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    80
    66
    22
    13
See reviews for
82
92
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beecher,Il
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

When we checked into this hotel I thought maybe I made a mistake but it turned out to be a great experience. Parking was good and the location is great.You can walk anywhere you need to go around town. The room was a nice size, quiet, clean and comfy. We had good wifi but poor phone service if any.The bathroom was clean but small with great water pressure. The breakfast was plenty and they had tables outside for the over flow. ( with heat). The Pool was large and clean but the jets on the hot tub were weak. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmaBeecher_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and am thrilled that you would stay here again if you are in the area.

We love to have repeat guests! I wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarhurst, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Rooms were clean but small. The staff were helpful and friendly.Very small eating area for breakfast.I had to eat one day standing and the second day in my room. The Location to the park was very good. When I paid for the room at the end of our stay i was surprised to see a large Attraction Fee added to my bill.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. I am glad you found our rooms comfortable and clean and the staff friendly and helpful. We agree, our breakfast area can get crowded. We do hope to remodel that area soon and expand it so that we can provide some much needed space for a larger buffet and more room for our valued guests.

I am unsure what the "attraction fee" is that you are referring to? We do have tax in West Yellowstone but that is the only additional charge that would have been added to your bill. There is a resort tax, an accommodation tax and a tourism tax. All of these are mandated by law and we have no choice but to charge them and then we have to pay those taxes to the appropriate authority. If you have any questions about these charges please contact the hotel and as for Anna and I will explain those to you.

Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very pricy ,poor staff attitude, breakfast nothing to brag about . Will not return to this location. nor would i recomand it to friends ,and relatives.stayed at best western plus in Misula ,where our experience was great,good food for breakfast ,out standing staff ,rooms very nicely decorated,and all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try to provide as much variety in breakfast as we can fit within the limited space that we have. It is a free continental breakfast and we have expanded that to include several hot items. We do hope to remodel our breakfast area which will provide more room for a larger buffet and more room for guests to move around.

We have just completed an entire remodel of our rooms, new carpet, new wall vinyl, new granite vanities, new lighting package so we are hopeful you found that pleasing. Our price is competitive, if not lower than most comparable properties in town during this time of year.

Again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Republic, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel was a very nice pleasant place. Sitting on the porch the next morning I was able to see deer crossing in the parking lot. Good family motel. I would stay here again if ever back in the Yellowstone Park. Easy access to the West gate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked at the Cross Winds in advance, as we weren't sure we would find a room for two nights at Yellowstone National Park at the height of the season. We paid well over the odds for a comparable motel room for this reason.
Good things: the staff were polite and civil, and the room was OK, though only perfunctorily cleaned on the morning of the second day we were staying.
Nearly everyone else at the motel was part of one of a number of large tour parties, and it was a bit irksome to know (I asked) that they were paying very much less than we were per night.
The only real problems were the free WiFi, which didn't work at all, and the included breakfast. The breakfast room was very small and terribly crowded with the above-mentioned tour groups both mornings. The breakfast consisted of stacks of paper plates & bowls, plastic cutlery, plastic and paper cups, and mostly a series of dispensers for cereals, coffee, etc. We had a number of such breakfasts during our travels, and don't object to them on the whole. But the crowding in the breakfast room, and paying a very handsome price indeed for the privilege, means we will think twice about booking a similar room with Best Western another time.
The only reason they could charge the rate they did was the proximity to Yellowstone, which was very close and easy to access. But the words "tourist trap" were coined for a reason.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nike_J676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. I would like to apologize that the tour group interfered with your stay. We do hope to expand our breakfast area in the future to better accommodate all our guests comfortably and to offer an expanded selection of breakfast items.

I do hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Best Western Cross-Winds was a good place to stay in West Yellowstone. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Nothing special and breakfast room is very small and does not have that good of selection of items for the price paid for the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 524janetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We agree, our breakfast area can be crowded. We do hope to expand it in the near future. This will allow our guests to be comfortable and will also provide us the space to serve a more expanded breakfast.

I hope if you are ever in the area again you will stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Property: Crosswinds Inn
Address: 201 Firehole, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Crosswinds Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing