We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar-N-Ranch is great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar-N-Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bar-N-Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bar-N-Ranch is great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Bar N Ranch and loved the whole place. We stayed in the lodge as the cabins were booked;the lodge is pretty unique and cool with a great common area/lounge on the main floor. They have 3 fireplaces in this lounge area, comfy sofas, lots of interesting taxidermy & just outside, a pool and hot tub. We had our 2 teen daughters who slept on a queen pull out futon in the room & my husband and I had the king bed. Unfortunately there was a family beside us with very young children and we could hear them too well - I don't know if better soundproofing is possible but it would have helped. We ate at the restaurant for dinner once and breakfast twice. The food was AMAZING!! I wish I could go back to the restaurant. The service was so - so especially at one of the breakfasts, but the food and setting made up for it. We stayed at Bar N Ranch while exploring Yellowstone & it was great to relax away from the Yellowstone crowds. I highly recommend Bar-N-Ranch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonE848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    57
    29
    14
    16
See reviews for
101
136
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed three nights at the Bar-N-Ranch, and this is one of our favorites. This was our second visit to the ranch, and it was just as great as the first time. The place is immaculate, the staff friendly, and the entire resort very comfortable. And this also goes for the restaurant. We had two dinners and three breakfasts at the restaurant, which is beautiful. Again, the staff is efficient and friendly, and the food... from the duck to the trout filet, it is all top notch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fordco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

When you pull up to the gates of the Bar-N- Ranch you know it's going to be an amazing stay! We stayed in the lodge as all the cabins were booked but we were not disappointed. Our room was very large and spacious with a great upscale rustic decor. We also had access to to the deck from our room so that we could enjoy the view of the pond while sipping coffee in the morning or a nice glass of wine in the evening. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the jetted tub was great to relax in after a hard day of hiking.

It was a very relaxed stay and we would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMFunlovingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

There has always been a little bit of "cowboy" in me and to end up a two week Montana vacation at the Bar-N-Ranch was nothing short of wonderful. The Ledyard's have left nothing lacking in making every effort to insure you have a memorable stay with them. When you first arrive, the setting is just what you would expect - perfect. The staff is casual, warm and very helpful in getting you settled and familiar with the property. Just after getting settled, it is time to walk around the pond to their restaurant, which is full of a variety of foods and it is prepared to the highest standard, not to mention what ever adult beverage suits your taste. The ambiance of the main lodge and restaurant are just what you would expect. My oldest daughter and her family stayed in one of the cabins and while I can't personally comment on it, they stated several times how much they felt "at home". The staff is most helpful in setting up any activity you would like to participate in and the Bar-N-Ranch is very close to Yellowstone National Park's West entrance. If it were possible for me to give the Bar-N-Ranch a rating higher than "excellent", I would!

Room Tip: The fitness center at Bar-N-Ranch is getting out an enjoying nature, not spending time on a machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great upscale-rustic decor, exquisite staircase (see pics), wonderful cozy room, comfortable bed/linens, beautiful views, peaceful & serene plus a top-notch restaurant. Laid-back atmosphere--a place we hope to visit again one day!

Room Tip: If you have a member of your family that is a dog, they are only allowed in the cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Pros: location to park, staff friendly, nice restaurant, cabin furnished with grill and hot tub.
Cons: cabin is about as private as an apartment building, sink in bathroom is the size of a cereal bowl and has two faucets- you wash your hands or face with either scalding hot or ice cold water.
Grill is useless because there are no utensils, plates, cups, etc. cabin is too small. It is supposed to sleep 6 but the 5 of us were on top of each other.
If you are looking for privacy or luxury this ain't your place. Also, if you think you want. To eat meals in the cabin, this ain't your place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1023Travelingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Bar-N-Ranch, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. We are glad to hear that the staff, restaurant and our proximity to the park were to your tastes. When booking we do notify all guests that we don't provide any utensils for cooking so everyone is prepared. Also we do have a number of different styles of cabins, perhaps next time you can try our 2 bedroom cabin. It has 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa for additional party members.

Kind Regards,
Abby Motes-Conners
Assistant Camp Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

My fiancee and I took our dream trip to Montana and found the Bar-N-Ranch to be spectacular. The service was amazing and the accomodations very comfortable. We arrived very late the first night and were pleasantly surprised to find a note written to us with our room key and the light (literally) left on for us in our room. We rented the Yellowstone room in the main lodge because it had a view of the fireplace from the whirlpool tub. We had firewood readily available in our room along with stack of firewood and kindling already in the fireplace. The bed was the most comfortable bed that I've ever slept on. The staff was very friendly and very wiling to help.
The Ranch also has a restaurant located directly across from the lodge and the food was more than outstanding. We had breakfast and dinner there and I cannot even think of a thing to complain about. The decor was amazing, we loved everything about the restaurant.
In short, we LOVED it and cannot wait to return. We have been back home in Iowa for over 20 days and have commented everyday how we'd love to wake up back in the Yellowstone Room of the Bar-N-Ranch.

Room Tip: We chose the Yellowstone room because it had a view of the fireplace from the whirlpool tub, but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
6.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
6.0 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
6.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar-N-Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar-N-Ranch

Property: Bar-N-Ranch
Address: 890 Buttermilk Creek Road, Post Office Box 250, West Yellowstone, MT 86046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Speciality Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar-N-Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bar N Ranch is located roughly six miles from the west entrance of Yellowstone. An elegant extension of the natural wonders and scenic byways of the nation's first national park, we offer welcome respite from your day of travel.The South Fork of the famed Madison River meanders through our two hundred acre Ranch and as our guest you will have miles of private access to call your own. Silence and solitude are treasured gifts in life and here at the Ranch these gifts are yours for the asking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bar-N-Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar-n-Ranch Hotel West Yellowstone
Bar-N-Ranch West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing