We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cougar Creek Cabin was perfect for our family!”
Review of Bar-N-Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar-N-Ranch
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our family of 6 (two families of 3) stayed here for 6 nights. We were very happy with the Cougar Creek Cabin, the largest of their cabins. The four good sized bedrooms were 2 with kings, 1 with a queen, 1 with two bunk beds of four twins. They also had a pull out sofa. You could easily fit 3 couples and four kids comfortably. The beds were very comfortable. Two full bathrooms with showers/tubs and a half bath. The cabin has a full refrigerator, sink and microwave, but no stove. A wood fireplace. A private hot tub on the back deck with beautiful views! It was very clean and we were offered housekeeping service every day.
The cabin was very nicely decorated in what we would call ranch chic! Lots of attention to detail! There are a few stuffed animals and heads on the walls, so if you don't like taxidermy, it's not for you (though there is taxidermy all over this part of Montana!)
The staff was friendly and helpful. We really had no complaints about the Bar N Ranch and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

The ranch was very relaxing. The cabins & main lodge are log cabins. Decorations reminded you of the old mountain days. The bad thing was that I chose the smallest cabin because of the old claw foot tub. Bad choice, the tub was small & the bathroom was small. The gentleman that took my reservation warned me that it was small, I should have listened. The bed has a horrible mattress that sinks in the middle. Backaches every morning. Nice relaxing location!

Room Tip: Don't choose the small cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Visited this place last week of May 2014. Great location, very clean and quiet. The cabins are very nice with lovely fornitures and comfortable rooms. Barbeque, hot tube and WiFi available. Dishwasher and stove not available. We enjoyed sitting down in front of the fireplace with a glass of wine.
Just six miles far from West Yellowstone so perfect for visiting the beautiful park....
Had a great stay with our cousins from Wenatchee.
There is also a restaurant for breakfast and dinner....

Highly recommended!!!!!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Y G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the Bar N Ranch for 1 night. We had the smallest room, because it was already a higher budget, but since we're on our honeymoon, we wanted one night in a special accomodation. Special it was. Very nice building with all kind of details. A fireplace and jacuzzi in the room. A bit annoying was the really loud airconditioning that woke me up a few times (the colter room).
We also had dinner at the N ranch. A bit more expensive, but definitely worth it. Amazing views!
I was a bit disappointed in the fact they didn't do anything for our honeymoon, not in the hotel, not in the restaurant. Not even a 'congratulations'.
Also, you pay for the room for the night and receive a 12$ voucher for breakfast. But unless you just take only one drink and one of the cheapest options, you have to pay extra.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Bar N ranch is so incredibly comfortable, we had a hard time wrenching ourselves away to visit Yellowstone! I stay in hotels about 200 nights a year, and this was the best hotel bed I've ever experienced. In-room fireplaces, elk-watching from the porch, lush creek running through the ranch, fine, fine dining... we still talk about this place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are slightly different, so talk with the front desk to ensure you get the best fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wertuio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Ideally located a few miles away from the West entrance to Yellowstone, the Bar-N-Ranch offers a great range of experiences: all comfort cabins, including outdoor jacuzzi and BBQ, fly fishing courses, a superb restaurant (though the morning breakfast a-la-carte takes too long to order and be served), and peaceful meadows to wander in the Wild West. The prices in Summer are obviously high, due to the proximity of the Park, but definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Try the cabin with a view on the pond with the moose sculpture looking at you when sipping a beer at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilPogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I had been looking forward to our trip to Yellowstone for over a year. The Bar-N-Ranch was perfect! It was more than we expected. The common room was anything but common. It is so richly decorated, and perfectly Western without going overboard or getting into the cheesy character. My husband and I looked forward every evening after spending the day in the Park to returning to the Ranch and lighting a match (the fireplaces were always set up for a fire - so we simply had to light a match to enjoy one of the three fireplaces) and relax with a bottle of wine. The food at the Bar-N-Ranch restaurant was delicious and the best in West Yellowstone. The waitstaff and manager, Alison, were great! They were extremely friendly and attentive. My husband and I attended the wine dinner on our last evening, and we recommended that they have wine dinners more often. It gave us a chance to mingle with some of the other guests. This is simply a fabulous and magical place. The view outside our window every morning when we awoke was spectacular, and the view from the restaurant is gorgeous so we made a point to go each night before the sun set. Simply stunning!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruffles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
6.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
738 reviews
6.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
800 reviews
6.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
767 reviews
6.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
761 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar-N-Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar-N-Ranch

Address: 890 Buttermilk Creek Road, Post Office Box 250, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Speciality Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £176 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar-N-Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bar N Ranch is located roughly six miles from the west entrance of Yellowstone. An elegant extension of the natural wonders and scenic byways of the nation's first national park, we offer welcome respite from your day of travel.The South Fork of the famed Madison River meanders through our two hundred acre Ranch and as our guest you will have miles of private access to call your own. Silence and solitude are treasured gifts in life and here at the Ranch these gifts are yours for the asking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bar-N-Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar-n-Ranch Hotel West Yellowstone
Bar-N-Ranch West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing