We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy G Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy G Motel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here 4 nights while we were visiting Yellowstone National Park. It is an old style motel that is clean, in a good location and suited our needs well. Our tour bus picked us up at the door, two good restaurants were in walking distance (although we didn't walk), and Janice, the owner was very pleasant and accommodating. No air conditioner but the temps were quite comfy without it. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margy8100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    100
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
69
145
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here in August. The staff are the owners and go that extra for you. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a picnic area with a grill. It's like the old motels with up to date services. It's far enough from the noise of the town but within walking distance to anything. I definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms behind the office has less car traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlh2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to give this hotel a try and we were not disappointed. It is in the town but located away from the main streets. We booked a two bedroom unit (although we only needed one bed) because that is all they had available when I called.) This unit had a queen bedroom and a two-double bedroom as well as a spacious sitting room with a couch and table. A kitchenette was available for extra $$$ but we did not need that. The rooms were very clean and neat. For the price, this is a good deal in West Yellowstone. I booked about two months in advance, so if you are interested, you need to call early, We stayed three nights and every night the motel was full. We would return to this motel, if we went back to Yellowstone.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room in this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAF4616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family friends and I came here this summer and we were very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the rooms and friendliness of the staff here
I forgot to ask for their names, but thanks so much for sending my post cards!
I think its a family run business and they were just lovely, answering all our questions and lending us some stuff, overall making us feel very welcome
The rooms varied in size, we got a larger one where our family friends got a smaller one, but we were out hiking the whole day anyway and didn't need the space
There's also a lovely BBQ and picnic area in the middle and we had delicious, money saving steak on a few nights !
The place is a bit of a walk from the main part of town but you go to Yellowstone to be active anyways, so its not much of a problem

Thanks again to you guys for helping us have a wonderful, wonderful trip !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oskaloosa, Kansas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I visited Lazy G and Yellowstone Park for 5 days in late July. For $85 a day we had a wonderful, clean, relaxing experience with hosts and staff that truly go the extra mile to make one's stay as enjoyable as possible. The accomodations were as clean, comfortable and modern as pictured, with little pleasant surprises thrown in by the hosts. Any needed info about the town of West Yellowstone, the National Park or the surrounding area is supplied and more. We noticed the same consideration and care applied to every guest, whether single, a couple or a family. My wife and I truly hated to leave the motel. On our 16 day trip we booked seven other motels, all national chains and more expensive. In too many cases something was not working, too much "wear & tear" or serious communication problems. None of these applied to the Lazy G or its staff. We're already telling others who plan to see Yellowsone.

Room Tip: "On our trip we stayed in seven other motels with cable or satellite dish, all national chains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Simple & clean, and that's just what we needed. We got their last queen bed room and they added a roll-away bed for our grandson. DISH TV which we barely turned on.
No A/C was no problem, it was 40 degrees outside in the morning.
We stayed two nights and found the location and price to be great.
We walked two blocks to the Geyser restaurant for a nice dinner and a beer,
and walked a block the other direction for a nice breakfast
at the Running Bear Pancake House.
I was happy to be a few blocks away from the downtown traffic and noise.
Free coffee in the morning and a frozen jug of water to put in your cooler,
seemed like a clean, not fancy, place to stay.
A good value.

Room Tip: No pool or special amenities, but we were there to see Yellowstone Park, and did the best we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at the Lazy G last year when we went to YSNP. We picked the Lazy G because of the reasonable prices. $86 during July per night, very good compared against some of the other hotels in the area. It's a small place, only about 25-30 rooms. We stayed on the second floor and had no issues. We watched the local news on TV, added pics to FB via their wireless Internet. I don't think we will stay anywhere else when we return to West Yellowstone. I forgot a few things, and the Lazy G staff had ample toothpaste and soap for me!

The rooms are quaint and the beds are big. The sink is in a separate area from the toilet and shower, they have a door for privacy. There is a mini fridge that you can put a few things in, like Gushers Pizza leftovers! The Lazy G is a few blocks from the rest of town, so you can walk or drive to dinner and activities. We did both.

Our room was clean, as we're the towels, each night we got back from YSNP. We recommend you stay at the Lazy G, after all, it's the place to B!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy G Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy G Motel

Property: Lazy G Motel
Address: 123 Hayden Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
#3 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Lazy g Hotel West Yellowstone
Lazy g West Yellowstone
Lazy G Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing