We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best in town, however...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We have stayed here a few times in recent years and have stayed at several other motels/hotels in West Yell ever since 1969. During this stay, we received an indifferent welcome, and encountered a room with several issues. The water temp in the shower would not stay set, it was either too hot or too cold, it wouldn't hold a setting between the two extremes. The bathroom had a noisy exhaust fan, the a/c unit could not be set for 'fan only'. the work desk drawer was broken and had splinters on the bottom edge right where your legs go under the desk. The internet connection was slow, especially in the evenings, one of the front desk staff told us that this slow-down it is a "town-wide problem". All things considered, the price we paid for this room was too much for the value we received.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigTXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

This hotel is very well situated on the main road to Yellowstone Park and is probably one of the better hotels in town. A very friendly and efficient welcome from the reception staff. Our room was good sized and very comfortable with all the usual amenities. There is plenty of car parking. We were warned about the poor internet connection but had no problems during our 2 night stay. Breakfast in the restaurant had a good choice of menu and efficient service. Unfortunately this cannot be said for dinner (had we seen the negative reviews on TA beforehand we would have gone elsewhere).
Would definitely recommend the hotel but not the Branch Restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Be aware that check-in is at 4 p.m. and NO sooner. My sister had a pediatric convention there and I tagged along with a armload of homework for my college classes. I sat in the lobby for 5 hours trying to do my homework while the normal course of business went through the lobby. The front desk staff would not entertain the idea of possibly having the cleaning staff make an exception and clean our room sooner than the others. I as the only one making a special request and they would not accomodate me. Otherwise the stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brattymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The front desk was polite and helpful. The restaurant food was very good, the service was a little slow but they were packed. We drove to another restaurant first and were told that it would be a 40 minute wait. We drove back to the Holiday Inn and got a table right away.

We stayed in the two bedroom suite. The extra room was nice but the only bathroom is all the way through the other room. The second TV in the second room is a dated CRT TV with no HDTV. The TV in the main room is a flat screen with a few HD channels.

The price was high, but all the hotels around Yellowstone are overpriced. We stayed only two nights instead of three because of the price. The non-smoking room smelled OK.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, which was fine but the hallway to the elevator is narrow and hard to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willie_warthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The hotel is right on the main street and the staff were helpful. The place is worn out though, too many tours. Our door lock wouldn't lock but eventually it was fixed the next day. The food was really good and we enjoyed it but the place needs a serious makeover.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We Loved the location and the room was really clean. The hotel is just a few blocks from the west entrance to Yellowstone Park. We had a King Suite with Jacuzzi tub and fridge and microwave. The room was really big, the jacuzzi tub was also, the bed was so comfy and cozy. The staff was really nice and friendly. There must be some type of hot water issue in the hotel because when the hot water is turned on the temp will all of a sudden turn scalding hot. It lasts for a few minutes then readjusts itself. Another issue we had was our toilet became backed up the last night we were there. I don't know if it was just the room we were in that had problems or what...When we checked out we discovered there was no free coffee in the lobby! This was the first HI and first hotel we have ever been to that didn't have coffee. It was 30 degrees outside! Overall, we liked this hotel and would consider staying here again. We probably wouldn't stay in a suite room again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank guysweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Nothing much - just an older, worn hotel, seriously in need of refurb, and very over priced for what you get. Beds were horrible - very soft, no support, slide on the floor if you sit on the end. Rooms mediocre. Little things - like no suitcase stand (they were all sent out for repair), ice machine not working, poorly laid out rooms. The new Holiday Inn pillows are terrible. Their bedding is not on par with Hilton and Sheraton properties.

No auto door openers so common now - try getting a luggage cart through manual doors that are hard to operate.

This property is a Delaware North property. We stayed at the Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite that they operate were very pleased. We had high hopes for this one but were let down.

Room Tip: Look for a better hotel. Too expensive for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank InterntlTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 315 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £77 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing