We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large Quiet Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jackson, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Large Quiet Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

My husband and I just returned from a great trip to West Yellowstone. We spent 4 nights at the Holiday Inn. I was a little nervous due to bad reviews of this hotel but was pleasantly surprised by the size of our room. Check in was quick and the front desk people wee very nice. Our room was large by Holiday Inn standards. I liked that the large double sink area was outside the bathroom. Our room had tow double beds and then a nice sitting area with a sofa, table and desk area. The room was very quiet. I never heard hall noise. The room had a fridge and microwave which was nice. The only downside I can think of is that although the room was VERY clean it had a kind of musty dirty sock smell. We used the hot tub one evening after a day of snowmobiling it is was nice and relaxing. Also a great place to meet and chat with other guests about their day. Overall this is a nice hotel and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv-the-beach-always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear luv-the-beach-always,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a detailed review and for providing feedback on your stay with us at the Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are pleased to hear that you found the staff very nice and facilities to be more than you expected. Thank you for the recommendation, please come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    333
    191
    49
    17
See reviews for
331
292
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albquuerque New Mexico USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Probably best in town and met our expectations. Friendly staff and well appointed room made for an enjoyable trip. Price is high but this is next to the national park and has a short season for visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Chas87112,
Thanks for the 5-star review. We really really appreciate it. We are so glad that your room met your expectations, and that our staff served you with a smile! We hope to see you again very soon at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is the review I sent to hotel management. NEVER AGAIN!!

There were so many problems with our stay at this hotel that I am having trouble finding anything good to say.
1) When we made the reservation on November 8th in the morning they did not tell us that Yellowstone is closed(good info to know!!)
2) When we finally arrived that evening our room that we RESERVED had been GIVEN AWAY
3) It took 30 minutes to get us new rooms(we needed two now to accommodate our party of 6)
4) When we got to our rooms they had only given us keys for one room so we had to go back to front desk again(keep in mind we have a 2 year old and 4 year old)
5) Thecnext morning we go down for breakfast and I checked my banking account. We had been charged 440.00 for one room and 262.00 for the other!! WTF?? I went to front desk and asked what was going on. When we made the reservation on the phone I was quoted at 156.00 per night for a family suite with free breakfast for two for each morning. When we get here to our room being GONE they quoted us at 75.00 per night per room, plus our 50.00 pet deposit. WHY AM I BEING CHARGED THAT MUCH MONEY?? And the front desk clerk couldn’t explain it to me.
6) The temperature of your hot tub was very low and we asked them to turn it up. Maintenance said it was up as high as it could go and then 5 minutes later someone came in adjusted some stuff in an electrical room and all of a sudden temperature is up. Were we lied to?
7) Our door to our room barely works and takes numerous tries to open with key and to get it to close properly.
I am so disappointed in the service and quality of this hotel that there is very little chance we will EVER stay at this line of hotels again. Very sad too because Holiday Inn used to be our top choice for hotels anytime we needed one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Amanda S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

It is an average Holiday Inn, with average rooms, comfortable beds, and a good location, but not worth $240 per night. I requested a room on the upper floor (there are only 3) so our stay was reasonably quiet. Easy walking to The Branch restaurant for bison pot roast (YUM!) and souvenir shopping. Close to attractions and Yellowstone entrance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Two2FortheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Two2FortheRoad,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and probably had some of the worst sleep of our entire holiday. The walls seemed as if they were made of paper, because they let so much noise in. We were on the ground floor, so not only did we have to put up with the sounds of doors opening and closing, and the shower/sink of the room next to us. but we could hear the people above us walking around (at 3/4am).
The room itself wasn't bad, it was quite spacious, though found the idea of the 2 sinks in the room itself odd.
The breakfast room was pleasant, and the staff working in the breakfast area were extremely friendly and chatted a lot.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a top floor room, and even better, one on the very end of the corridor. This sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Norrie F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am pleased to know that you find our breakfast pleasant and our staff friendly. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that I apologize for the inconvenience the room condition may have caused you. Rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to these identified weakness.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had been here for 2 nights and it had been the worst experience ever - Excused me it is not personally but I am telling my experience objectively

The room is noisy and extremely dry all the time. And the ridiculous thing is, they will charge you extra of USD508.45 bill without any reason!!!!

When I check in on Sep 29th, they pre-authorize me 608.45 USD, which should be 100 USD instead. After I discover this wrong pre-authorization, they just said it's a computer problem and will only give me back after I check out.

And when I check out and leave yellowstone, I found they only refund me 100 USD only and the other 508.45 is already in the bill!!! I asked the front desk but I was been told it is not her responsibility or issue to deal with. I need to catch up the flight so I have to go right away.

I started to call their GM and again. My god she is so busy to find her on the phone! Finally I reached her but the only reason she gave that it is the computer problem!!!! It is nothing to do with this hotel, but blame on the computer. No even a sorry till now!!!

The issue is still pending to be solved and it totally ruins my mood travelling around US.

I just called 30 minutes ago just now again and I am now waiting whether/when they will call me back......

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JINYU C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear JINYU C,

Thank you for leaving us feedback about your recent visit. It is regrettable that you were not satisfied with the service received. We have sent you a private message to discuss.

Kind Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this hotel. Our room was large, clean and nice with a double sink in the room itself. The shower/toilet however was in need of an update and the ventilator was quite noisy. We were put in a room on the ground floor near a door that led to part of the parking lot. People came in late at night and left quite early in the morning and we were continually disturbed by the noise of the door opening and shutting. When someone took a shower at 5.20 in the morning the noisy ventilator woke us up.
We had breakfast in the dining room. We were not very impressed with the breakfast itself; more variety would have been appreciated, e.g. there was no yoghurt and only orange juice without a selection of juices. The dining room itself has not got much light in it and was painted and wallpapered in colours much too dark. It was somehow quite oppressive and unwelcoming.
On a plus side, the staff are great in this hotel. They are friendly and give information without hesitation when asked. The girl serving at the breakfast buffet had a lot to do, but was always smiling and helpful. I think there should be two staff at breakfast though.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Comments-JBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Comments-JBB,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy with the compliment on our hotel staff. I am so sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was a disappointing one. I apologize for the shortfalls, especially with the noise issues as well as breakfast selections that was served. We strive for excellent customer service and will use your comments to ensure this does not happen again the future.

Thank you for your valuable feedback, and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone

Property: Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone
Address: 315 Yellowstone Avenue, PO Box 470, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing