We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in a king room with jacuzzi which also had a small settee and so had plenty of space. The bed was very comfortable with a choice of either soft or firm pillows. The bathroom whilst small seemed quite new with an excellent shower with glass screen rather than a plastic curtain. the hotel is walking distance of lots of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atrebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hello Atrebor,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to come stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the king spa suite, they were all recently remodeled and we love to hear feedback on them. Thank you for mentioning the pillows, we are happy to now offer them. We hope you can make your way back to stay with us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you aren't staying in the park then this is the next best thing. It is very convenient to the West entrance of Yellowstone, just a short drive. The room was clean and had a microwave and fridge and a coffee maker. The bathroom had a shower stall, which I liked. Parking was plentiful. The restaurant was nice to have but it was really slow and we personally weren't thrilled with the food. It was nice to have a laundry room since we were on a 2 week road trip. The bed was comfortable after a long day at the park. The town had some nice shops to walk to and gas stations for filling up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amsirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Amsirius,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, location and the comfort level of our beds. Thank you for all your feedback. We hope that you can come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had a family suite, was a great size. Beds/pillows were comfortable after a long day at Yellowstone and walking around the town. Hotel has a restaurant and bar along with a conference center. Only had one problem, last night their on a Saturday loud music coming from conference center was a distraction trying to sleep. Staff was helpful. Enjoy your stay....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hello MB,
thank you for your review, we appreciate your choice to come stay with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel. We apologize for the loud music coming from our conference center, we have noted your feedback and we will see how we can do a better job notifying guests when that could be an issue. We hope that you come see us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

As other reviewers have noted, the AC goes on and off and there is no way to keep a fan or white noise blowing continuously. The AC was rather loud and was preceded by four clicking noises before it turned on each time. Did not make for a good night's sleep. The rooms are quite large, the location is good and the staff are very nice. But the bathroom sink is located in the room itself so there is no privacy if you want to use the mirror or the sink - this was a problem for my family members. The mattresses of the beds seemed a bit worn. Although we left a "do not disturb" sign on our door, the hotel service staff began drilling into the adjoining wall at 10 am and then hammered away for a while. I have to assume they were hanging pictures or something that required a drill. While, yes, it was 10 am, it would have been nice if they had checked to see if the people in the room next door were prepared for this noise. We were tired from long travel from the night before and were still just waking up. The housekeeping was spotty. The floor still had loose cereal on it from a previous guest and the coffee maker was not cleaned. Plus the walls seemed quite thin as the sound of slamming doors echoed quite often. Unlike HIE, there is no complimentary breakfast. Overall, I would not stay here again. The staff were really nice, but the price was really high for a less than average hotel room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Junodee,
Thank you for choosing to come stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, we really appreciate it. We also really appreciate your feedback on your recent stay. It pleases us to hear that you found the rooms large and our staff to be very nice. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some noise issues while staying with us. We have noted all the feedback provided and will make sure and see where we can make immediate improvements to the A/C and our morning maintenance schedule (to avoid waking guests too early). We are sorry that we do not provide a complimentary breakfast, Holiday Inn Express offers just breakfast as part of their package. Holiday Inn Hotels must have a full restaurant, our apologies if that was not indicated to you prior to your stay or while checking in. We wish you safe travels and hope that you can make your way back to West Yellowstone soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

If you are doing Yellowstone and not staying inside the park this hotel is as close to the west entrance as you can get. drop in or late reservations seem to go up in price considerably. we made reservations about 3 months early. the staff was friendly and helpful. the breakfast was tasty, these servers friendly and and efficient. the bar is well stocked and the bartenders knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank togojjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hello Togojjh,
Thank you for the review and for choosing to come stay with us at the Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, we really appreciate it. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and the breakfast service. We will pass your compliments along to the staff. We hope that you can make your way out to come see us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

In the title, I really wanted to use another word instead of “tourists” but TripAdvisor probably wouldn’t approve it – it starts with ‘s’ and rhymes with “truckers”.

Stayed here for our trip to Yellowstone because we planned it late (just over a month out) and all the other hotels rated above Holiday Inn on TripAdvisor were full, and I’m on vacation so I really DON’T want to rough it out at a hotel rated worse than Holiday Inn.

The hotel and room meets expectations. Nothing too fancy but clean enough, with microwave and fridge. The bed was old but the pillows (marked soft and firm) were great. Insufficient power outlets, which I go into more detail about below.

But the service spoke for itself… saying, “we know that you didn’t really have a choice when you chose to stay here”.

1) When I asked about breakfast, the front desk person condescendingly nodded towards a sign that said breakfast was free only for IHG premium members. Dude, I have gold status with HHonors and wouldn't be at the Holiday Inn if I had a choice.

2) The A/C is in eco-mode and shuts off every now and then. I hate it when hotels have this because I have tinnitus and can’t sleep when there is no air circulating. I asked for a fan to be brought up to the room (which other hotels have offered) and the request was naturally declined. The front desk person did not offer any other solution when I said I could not sleep with the A/C off. (I brought my personal fan with me, as I usually do, but because of the shortage of power outlets, it involved dragging furniture around and encountering dust and cobwebs to set up.)

3) Most painful checkout process I have ever experienced. First, they had debited an extra $19 from my card – no reason for overestimating the price of my stay? Then, it seemed like they had put $600 back on my card when I checked out, and without a word of thanks or apology, they grumpily took a long time fixing it and asking me dumb questions while I waited much, much longer than I’m used to for checking out.

Also, there are very few accessible power outlets in the room. There were really only two designed for charging (at the desk) – this in a room with 2 queen beds meant to sleep 4. Between the 2 of us, we had a total of 7 devices to charge so I don’t think it’s unreasonable to expect a lot more. There was no outlet at all next to the beds and we had to disconnect both the lamp and alarm clock, wading through dust and cobwebs.

Finally, we were looking for dinner at about 9:15. The “OPEN” sign on the hotel restaurant was lit but when we wandered in there was a sign saying that dinner was served only till 9 and there was nobody at all around to help us – so we ended up having to drive out to find dinner (nothing nearby)… what is a Holiday Inn without a restaurant open past 9?!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nitpicker011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hello Nitpicker011,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to come stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are pleased to hear that our rooms and hotel met your expectations. However, we are very sorry to hear that you did not receive the service level you expected. All of your comments have been noted and discussed with out staff, the poor service level you experienced is not acceptable. We are very dedicated to conserving energy and apologize for the lack of a constant fan, our facilities team is exploring possible improvements to provide constant air for guests who request it. The checkout process should be seamless and painless, we thank you for your patience and will investigate the issue further. The amount of outlets needed for guests is being looked at closely to see where we can add some power while allowing the room amenities to stay configured. Thank you for noting that. We truly hope that you had a good trip outside the inconveniences you experienced. Thank you again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

we had our reservations made one year in advance,when making our HONEYMOON trip plans. upon arriving,we were told due to a power outage we would be delayed in getting our room for one hour due to computer system.this was understandable.when we came back, we were told that the room we had originally reserved was no longer available.it was to be the room with the spa/hot tub in it.this was our honeymoon so we wanted to spend the most money on a really nice room. the clerk at the desk explained that original room was no longer available.when we objected to the replacement room,the clerk said the new room had a big tub,not a jet tub.when we got to the room, which btw had three beds in it,not necessary for honeymoon,we discovered no tub at all!!the room had a walk in shower. promptly calling front desk to ask where the tub was, we were told there were no tubs available.we assume management gave us the upgrade to a suite because we were unhappy with situation, but we didn't really need a room with 3 beds!!

Room Tip: call before you get there, but that is no guarantee since past reviews have shown that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hello Vicky,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, and for choosing to come stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are very sorry to hear that your honeymoon stay with us was not a perfect one. We apologize for the inconvenience with the room type you reserved, that is not acceptable and we appreciate your gracious patience. Our recent remodel changed some of the room layouts and several of our tubs were removed. We do hope that the suite was adequate despite the amount of beds. We have noted your comments and will discuss your review with our staff to see where improvements need to be made. We thank you again and hope you make your way back to West Yellowstone again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 315 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#8 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £85 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing