We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HI should require improvements or end their affiliation with this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“HI should require improvements or end their affiliation with this place”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

check-in not up to usual norms - very young, inexperienced front
desk person was trying to do the job, but was unsure of himself, did not
speak clearly enough to be understood easily. Noisy stair and hallway
traffic tromping sent vibrations and pounding thru our room. Lots of very
hard door-slamming (with concussions/reverberations) in the hallway until
10:30 PM. This is unacceptable, they need door closers to prevent these
hard door slams. Gaps around our room's door let in noise and light from
the hall. Room looked to be recently redone, carpet, wallpaper & upholstery
looked new. Heard and felt impacts of footfalls, luggage, etc. from nearby
rooms. Breakfast is not included, not even for Priority Club members.
Wi-fi is usually fast, but bogs down at times. Hotel is 3 story with 123 rooms
but has only one elevator. Toilet sits very low, even for my wife.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BigTXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello BigTXN,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations. We thank you for your feedback and have noted all your comments for use in making improvements. We will work to make improvements to our service and facilities for all future guests. We hope that you can consider this a single incident and return to see just how committed to making improvements we are here. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again in West Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    346
    194
    51
    18
See reviews for
349
304
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I can't believe I paid over $330 a night for a Holiday Inn! It was not worth it. I guess they can charge this much because of their location which is only a mile or so from the entrance to Yellowstone. The room was a typical Holiday Inn but did cover breakfast which was shocking.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCgangsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Greetings CCgangsta,
Thank you or your review and for choosing to come stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We have noted all your comments so we can make improvement for all future guests, thank you for taking the time to note it. . Our breakfast service at a traditional Holiday Inn requires a full service restaurant, while Holiday Inn Express offers a free hot breakfast but no other food service. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again in West Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our fourth time to stay at this hotel. The other times were in the Winter to snowmobile. The hotel had gone under some renovation and in general everything was nice and clean. The hallways could stand some upgrading, but the other common areas were nice. The staff was nice, pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located near lots of restaurants and cafes. It is just seconds away from the West entrance to Yellowstone, which makes it nice. The restaurant had also been re-done, the food was good and the service was fine. Since we were touring in Yellowstone we were not in the hotel that much, but it was fine for that purpose.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandmanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello Bandmanjp,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to come stay for a 4th time, it means a lot to us. We appreciate your feedback and have noted all your comments with the aim of making improvements. We are thrilled to hear that you noticed our recent renovation, we are very happy with the final product. We sincerely hope you can come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

A very cozy and relaxed place, the style is simpel and match the envioment around it.
The staff very friendly and helpfull.
The breakfast was good, many options and you could make your own waffels!
The hotel is in the quiet corner of the city...

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Line K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello Line,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff and your stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. Please come stay with us again very soon, we would love to have you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The only good thing going for this hotel is its location. It is 1/4 mile from the park entrance. Many of the staff appeared to be put out if you asked for attention. A couple were helpful but they were the exception. For the amount they charge I would have expected better service. We had stayed here several years ago and chose it again because we had been so happy with our stay then. Attitudes have obviously changed. My wife's first comment was about how unfriendly she thought the desk clerk appeared to be. Our first night the Wifi in our room did not work but if I went to the hall or lobby it did. When I asked at the desk the woman working the evening shift said it was a town bandwidth problem due to tourists all using their devices. When I asked why it only affected me in the room she told me to call an 800 number. Having taught computer classes I knew her answer was a copout. It also did not work early the next morning so I talked to a different clerk that evening and he said there must be a router problem but it could not be fixed until the next day. At least he appeared to be competent.
Also we could hear every conversation in the hallway in our room, there was not much noise insulation. There is an indoor pool that families appeared to get good use out of each night. the workout room is next to the pool, in fact you go through the pool area to get to it. It is small only a few machines.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miketp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello Mike,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your service expectations. We have noted all your comments with the promise of discussion and aim to make improvements. Our staff appearing to be flippant to guest needs and concerns is far from acceptable, thank you for mentioning it. We truly appreciate your detailed review of your recent stay with us. We wish you safe travels and hope you make your way back to West Yellowstone soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I travel a lot for work and have worked in the service industry so I have a lot of patience. My wife booked this room with reward points. It was 35,000 points per night. I have stayed in a luxurious room in Cozumel for 40,000. This hotel was not luxurious. When checking in, I asked how much the room would be if I just paid for it and was told that it would be $330/night. That is insane. The room was fine. It was a perfectly serviceable Holiday Inn room but it was not a $330/night room. I paid with points so it was stomach-able. It is a tourist trap, I get it, but this is gouging. The most insulting part of the experience, though, was the breakfast for which we paid $14/person. This hotel should be embarrassed for charging any amount of money for such a lame buffet. Overcooked scrambled eggs, bowls of yogurt that were empty, nothing of note whatsoever. Most complimentary breakfasts at other hotels are far better. I felt like a chump because I saw how lame it was but I just wanted to eat and get going. There was no service. Everyone looked like they were in a panic. It was total chaos. I had to ask twice for them to bring more milk. I don't drink milk, but the food was so lame that I was eating cold cereal instead of the hot food. The cherry on top was after I left the restaurant when I went to the complimentary coffee in the lobby. It was empty of course, and I finally nailed somebody down to ask if they were bringing more. "Yes" was the answer, so I and a British chap chatted and waited for several minutes for them to come back with a full urn, only to be rudely disappointed when they wheeled it away. If you are going to charge $330+ for a hotel room you should have enough pride to do a good job of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhippersnapperCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello WhippersnapperCC,
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to come stay with us. We truly appreciate hearing about guest experiences while staying with us. We are sorry to hear that dining with us did not meet your expectations. We have noted your comments for discussion and will make improvements for all future guests. Our prices are dictated by regional demand and time of year, we aim to offer a superior full service lodging experience for all our guests regardless of our price. We did not achieve that during your stay and we apologize. We have taken your comments to heart and use all guest reviews to make improvements to our service and facilities. Thank you again for your review, we hope you can make your way back to West Yellowstone soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasington State
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The location is very close to the west entrance of Yellowstone. Rooms were nice sized (2 queen). Very clean. Microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. Showers were nice/appeared newly remodeled. Good amount of parking. Additional exterior doors were convenient. Hotel staff was very very friendly and helpful. Like the choice of pillows and that the cases are labeled. Walking distance to stores, gas station nearby. Great little town. Would stay here again and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haymisjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Haymisjeff,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and choice to come stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for all your comments, we love to hear where we need to improve and where we are doing well. We hope you can come see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 39 in West Yellowstone
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 315 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing