We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on par with IHG hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lehi, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not on par with IHG hotels”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I am an IHG club member, have stayed in many of the hotels in many locations. However, this one is just flat terrible.
Location is nice, yes. Very convenient for accessing the park. But there are plenty of other choices in the town, and that is where any positives stop. The air conditioning in the room did not work. Fan, yes. Cooling, no. The doors have gaps, we could see light all the way around at night and the door rattled, not a solid closed position.
We had a room at the end of the hall next to the exit door, which slammed all night as the door has no mechanism to keep it from slamming. It woke us up more than once.
Beds - horrible. I wouldn't even donate these mattresses to a shelter, they are that bad. Squeaky, lumpy and no support at all. The tiny couch is more comfortable to sleep on than the beds.
The bathroom toilet is what, 8 inches off the floor? The tub/shower sliding door is straight out of the 80s.
The T.V. didn't work. Call the front desk and they will give you a sob story of being in a dispute with DirecTV, so HD channels are very intermittent. Don't care. I paid for the room, get it fixed.
Then there is that cost - these rooms are $65 rooms anywhere else. I know it is the area, understand that. But paying over $300 per night is a joke at this place.
Sure, there is a little pool that the kids can have fun in. Small hut tub to soak in for a bit. And a sauna is always nice, but none of that is worth the price. And can be found at pretty much any other hotel in the town.
The on-premise restaurant is just as bad. The prices are outrageous and quality is below that of the McDonald's down the block.
Don't stay here. As a platinum IHG club member, I would rather stay somewhere else than get the points staying here. Holiday Inn should really be embarrassed to have this in their group. Motel 6 would be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Brian,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We apologize for not meeting your expectations in regards to service and room comfort, we have noted all your comments and will immediately take action to remedy all items within our control. Uncomfortable beds, noise issues, lack of working TV/AC and a less than acceptable experience while dining with us will all be addressed with our staff. We take guest feedback seriously and constantly use it as a tool to make needed improvements for all future guests. We thank you again for your detailed comments and wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    346
    194
    51
    18
See reviews for
349
304
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Clean, updated, quiet room. Great walk in shower. Excellent service and food in the restaurant on site. Within walking distance to everything in town. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Can't speak to the basic TV station issue. We didn't go to West Yellowstone to watch TV in our room. Spent all day, every day in Yellowstone and Grand Tetons National Parks. Room was on the third floor and extremely quiet. The best place we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Lisa,
Thanks for your review, we truly appreciate it. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and staying with us recently. We will make sure and pass your compliments along to our staff and the staff at the Branch Restaurant. We wish you safe travels and look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Sure you pay for the location. The hotel was newly renovated and clean! They had new iMac computers! Towels and linens were abundant and fresh. They check the indoor pool daily and they have a sauna too! You can't ask for anything more. Who cares if there's no complimentary breakfast? C'mon folks those "free" breakfast are terrible anyway. Book it!

Room Tip: Upper level away from the pool or stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Cheak,
thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are thrilled that you appreciated the recent remodel, we will make sure and pass that along to our staff. Your comments mean a lot to us, we are always happy to hear from a guest who enjoyed their stay and our staff. we hope to see you in West Yellowstone again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great location, of course -- which drives the price of $350/night with taxes. However, at that price, I should think simple things like a welcoming 24/7 coffee pot would be in order. Rooms nice and clean. New walk-in showers are nice. Another negative -- only basic tv stations available. Feel totally "off the grid" with ONLY Fox News available. Good grief!!! Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
Green Features: Good. Appear to recycle. Reminds us not to need clean linens every day. Don't know what else to comment on, but site doesn't appear to want to accept my efforts at a review with out at least 50 words.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Richard,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your comments on the new feeling rooms and room cleanliness level. We have noted every one of your comments and will discuss them so we can make improvements for all of our future guests, thank you for detailing your feelings. We hope that you can make your way back to see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

check-in not up to usual norms - very young, inexperienced front
desk person was trying to do the job, but was unsure of himself, did not
speak clearly enough to be understood easily. Noisy stair and hallway
traffic tromping sent vibrations and pounding thru our room. Lots of very
hard door-slamming (with concussions/reverberations) in the hallway until
10:30 PM. This is unacceptable, they need door closers to prevent these
hard door slams. Gaps around our room's door let in noise and light from
the hall. Room looked to be recently redone, carpet, wallpaper & upholstery
looked new. Heard and felt impacts of footfalls, luggage, etc. from nearby
rooms. Breakfast is not included, not even for Priority Club members.
Wi-fi is usually fast, but bogs down at times. Hotel is 3 story with 123 rooms
but has only one elevator. Toilet sits very low, even for my wife.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BigTXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello BigTXN,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations. We thank you for your feedback and have noted all your comments for use in making improvements. We will work to make improvements to our service and facilities for all future guests. We hope that you can consider this a single incident and return to see just how committed to making improvements we are here. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again in West Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I can't believe I paid over $330 a night for a Holiday Inn! It was not worth it. I guess they can charge this much because of their location which is only a mile or so from the entrance to Yellowstone. The room was a typical Holiday Inn but did cover breakfast which was shocking.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCgangsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Greetings CCgangsta,
Thank you or your review and for choosing to come stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We have noted all your comments so we can make improvement for all future guests, thank you for taking the time to note it. . Our breakfast service at a traditional Holiday Inn requires a full service restaurant, while Holiday Inn Express offers a free hot breakfast but no other food service. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again in West Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our fourth time to stay at this hotel. The other times were in the Winter to snowmobile. The hotel had gone under some renovation and in general everything was nice and clean. The hallways could stand some upgrading, but the other common areas were nice. The staff was nice, pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located near lots of restaurants and cafes. It is just seconds away from the West entrance to Yellowstone, which makes it nice. The restaurant had also been re-done, the food was good and the service was fine. Since we were touring in Yellowstone we were not in the hotel that much, but it was fine for that purpose.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandmanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello Bandmanjp,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to come stay for a 4th time, it means a lot to us. We appreciate your feedback and have noted all your comments with the aim of making improvements. We are thrilled to hear that you noticed our recent renovation, we are very happy with the final product. We sincerely hope you can come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 39 in West Yellowstone
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 315 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing