We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Par for the Course”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel was good. A bit pricey at $300, but I guess that is what you get near Yellowstone in August. Rate on bill at check in was $20 more than reservation. I questioned clerk, and it was changed to quoted rate. Annoyed me a bit. Room was fine. Town is small, so hotel is close to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Bob,
Thank you for your review and for coming to stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel and rooms were acceptable. We apologize for the reservation and quoted price discrepancy, thank you for your patience. We hope that you make your way back to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here in July and it was fine. The room was nice, the beds were comfortable. There were both "soft" and "firm" pillows on both beds, which was nice. The bathroom was nice, too. The pool also looked nice, but we never swam in it. The hotel was in a great location, super close to the West Entrance of Yellowstone National Park. The only negative was the price. On our 20 day road trip, this was by far the most expensive hotel, but not near the nicest one we stayed in. Breakfast was not included, either, so we ate elsewhere. They did give us 2 10% off coupons to use at any of the general stores in Yellowstone, so that was cool. Our stay was fine, but I would look at other hotels if I ever come back to West Yellowstone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank CC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello CC B,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are very pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be pleasant and that you enjoyed your stay. We will make sure and pass your compliments along to our staff. Our room rates are based upon regional seasonal demand and our aim to offer a superior place for guests to relax in West Yellowstone after spending their days exploring Yellowstone National Park. If you make your way back to West Yellowstone please contact us regarding any specials or promotional offers that may help lower the rate. Thank you again, we wish you safe travels on your road trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

With in-park choices full, West Yellowstone was an expedient stop, and this was probably as good a choice as any in a town that is as unattractive a watering station for travelers as you're likely to find. That said, the hotel was recently renovated and the rooms were super-neat. Replacing bathtubs with walk-in showers is a good trend to be encouraged. The door to the connecting room was too thin and we could hear everything our neighbors did. Fortunately they went to bed on time and awoke at a reasonable hour. Their smartphone alarm sounded just like mine. Value for money? Don't even go there. It's peak season.

Room Tip: Avoid a room with a connecting door unless you need it.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank divisaderoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello Divisaderoguy,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to come stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We appreciate your comments on our renovated rooms and bathrooms, we are pleased with how they turned out. We have made note of all your comments for use in making improvements and thank you for taking the time to jot them down. Thank you again, please come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As a Platinum Elite member of IHG reward program I used points instead of real money as the resort was quite expensive (almost 300$ per night). People at the reception desk were friendly - can not complain about that, but the breakfast is not included and the rooms could be better for that price. The bed is comfortable though and the internet connection was good. Overall not bad, but not worth the price you pay (if you do not use points). Position of hotel is great though, just 5 minutes and you are at the west entrance of Yellowstone park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ales11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi Ales,
Thank you for choosing to come stay with us and for your review, they both mean a lot to us. We base our rates on seasonal regional demand and July is the peak of our year, our rates are more than 50% less during the off season (another great time to see the park). Our breakfast service at The Branch Restaurant is a full service on site dining establishment and we cannot expect them to offer complimentary meals to guests nor can we currently offer a complimentary breakfast ourselves while sharing a kitchen with them. We hope that you can understand our position. We are sorry to hear that you do not feel that staying with us is worth the price, we are priced competitively to all similar hotels in West Yellowstone but aim to offer a superior place to rest. Thank you again for your feedback, we will discuss your comments with our staff so that we can make improvements for all future guests. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you in West Yellowstone again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We recently stayed here for a night while visiting Yellowstone. The hotel was very clean and our room was big and really comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful at check in and check out. Hotel was quite which made for a good nights sleep. They have a full service restaurant but we did not eat there. They do not have a free breakfast. Bed was very comfortable and made for a good nights sleep. Wi Fi was good and had a good connection. Would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bsan3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hello Bsan3456,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel. Thank you for the recommendation, it means a lot to us. We hope that you can make your way back to stay with us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Too expensive for the lack of services. Wi-Fi was inoperative. My cellphone service was better than their so-called Wi-Fi. The CFL light bulbs in the room are extremely glaring and ghoulish i.n color.
As a Platinum Elite member of the IHG Holiday Inn rewards program, this was the first time that breakfast was not included. Could not even get a room upgrade because all the rooms were booked up.
I have stayed in better Holiday Inns at one-fourth the price.
Adequate parking

Room Tip: not many choices in West Yellowstone for nice hotels, so you might as well take a gamble on this one
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello Lois,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay. Guest feedback means a lot to us and we use every comment to make improvements. We apologize about the poor Wifi during your stay, we are working on making upgrades for all future guests. We are sorry that we were not able to upgrade you either, we are extremely full during summer months and appreciate your patience in the matter. We hope that you can make your way back to stay with us again so we can show our commitment to improving based on guest feedback. We would love to have you anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This place is sad & tired. There was a huge jetted tub in the middle of room (who would use that germ pit???) . If anyone remembers dial up internet, the free Wifi this hotel offers is slower. No joke. The restaurant food was marginal. For $300, I really expected better.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any "good" rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DWB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello DWB58,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations. The in room spa tubs are new as of our recent remodel in 2014 and are only offered in the King Bed Suites. We assure you they are clean and other guests have mentioned how relaxing they can be. We have noted your comment on the Wifi service and will see if we can improve access to the area of the hotel where you stayed. Your feedback means a lot to us and we will work to make improvement for all future guests, we discuss every review with staff members to see where we can make improvements immediately. Thank you again, we hope to see you soon in West Yellowstone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 315 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £76 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing