We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in West Yellowstone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel in West Yellowstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Overall we had a good experience. It was the best hotel in West Yellowstone. Very close to the park. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The indoor pool was decent. The price was a bit on the higher side but that was the case for everything in West Yellowstone in Summer. I would definitely stay there again if we visit Yellowstone again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteFelucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello WhiteFelucca,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone and for sharing your thoughts with us. We are very pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be top notch in West Yellowstone, we strive to offer guests a superior stay. We will make sure and pass your compliments on to your staff, they will be thrilled to hear them. Please come back and see us again soon, we would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    333
    191
    49
    17
See reviews for
331
292
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel was good. A bit pricey at $300, but I guess that is what you get near Yellowstone in August. Rate on bill at check in was $20 more than reservation. I questioned clerk, and it was changed to quoted rate. Annoyed me a bit. Room was fine. Town is small, so hotel is close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Bob,
Thank you for your review and for coming to stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel and rooms were acceptable. We apologize for the reservation and quoted price discrepancy, thank you for your patience. We hope that you make your way back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in July and it was fine. The room was nice, the beds were comfortable. There were both "soft" and "firm" pillows on both beds, which was nice. The bathroom was nice, too. The pool also looked nice, but we never swam in it. The hotel was in a great location, super close to the West Entrance of Yellowstone National Park. The only negative was the price. On our 20 day road trip, this was by far the most expensive hotel, but not near the nicest one we stayed in. Breakfast was not included, either, so we ate elsewhere. They did give us 2 10% off coupons to use at any of the general stores in Yellowstone, so that was cool. Our stay was fine, but I would look at other hotels if I ever come back to West Yellowstone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello CC B,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are very pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be pleasant and that you enjoyed your stay. We will make sure and pass your compliments along to our staff. Our room rates are based upon regional seasonal demand and our aim to offer a superior place for guests to relax in West Yellowstone after spending their days exploring Yellowstone National Park. If you make your way back to West Yellowstone please contact us regarding any specials or promotional offers that may help lower the rate. Thank you again, we wish you safe travels on your road trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

With in-park choices full, West Yellowstone was an expedient stop, and this was probably as good a choice as any in a town that is as unattractive a watering station for travelers as you're likely to find. That said, the hotel was recently renovated and the rooms were super-neat. Replacing bathtubs with walk-in showers is a good trend to be encouraged. The door to the connecting room was too thin and we could hear everything our neighbors did. Fortunately they went to bed on time and awoke at a reasonable hour. Their smartphone alarm sounded just like mine. Value for money? Don't even go there. It's peak season.

Room Tip: Avoid a room with a connecting door unless you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divisaderoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Divisaderoguy,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to come stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We appreciate your comments on our renovated rooms and bathrooms, we are pleased with how they turned out. We have made note of all your comments for use in making improvements and thank you for taking the time to jot them down. Thank you again, please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
483 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

As a Platinum Elite member of IHG reward program I used points instead of real money as the resort was quite expensive (almost 300$ per night). People at the reception desk were friendly - can not complain about that, but the breakfast is not included and the rooms could be better for that price. The bed is comfortable though and the internet connection was good. Overall not bad, but not worth the price you pay (if you do not use points). Position of hotel is great though, just 5 minutes and you are at the west entrance of Yellowstone park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ales11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi Ales,
Thank you for choosing to come stay with us and for your review, they both mean a lot to us. We base our rates on seasonal regional demand and July is the peak of our year, our rates are more than 50% less during the off season (another great time to see the park). Our breakfast service at The Branch Restaurant is a full service on site dining establishment and we cannot expect them to offer complimentary meals to guests nor can we currently offer a complimentary breakfast ourselves while sharing a kitchen with them. We hope that you can understand our position. We are sorry to hear that you do not feel that staying with us is worth the price, we are priced competitively to all similar hotels in West Yellowstone but aim to offer a superior place to rest. Thank you again for your feedback, we will discuss your comments with our staff so that we can make improvements for all future guests. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you in West Yellowstone again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermitage
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We recently stayed here for a night while visiting Yellowstone. The hotel was very clean and our room was big and really comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful at check in and check out. Hotel was quite which made for a good nights sleep. They have a full service restaurant but we did not eat there. They do not have a free breakfast. Bed was very comfortable and made for a good nights sleep. Wi Fi was good and had a good connection. Would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsan3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello Bsan3456,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel. Thank you for the recommendation, it means a lot to us. We hope that you can make your way back to stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, PA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Too expensive for the lack of services. Wi-Fi was inoperative. My cellphone service was better than their so-called Wi-Fi. The CFL light bulbs in the room are extremely glaring and ghoulish i.n color.
As a Platinum Elite member of the IHG Holiday Inn rewards program, this was the first time that breakfast was not included. Could not even get a room upgrade because all the rooms were booked up.
I have stayed in better Holiday Inns at one-fourth the price.
Adequate parking

Room Tip: not many choices in West Yellowstone for nice hotels, so you might as well take a gamble on this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello Lois,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay. Guest feedback means a lot to us and we use every comment to make improvements. We apologize about the poor Wifi during your stay, we are working on making upgrades for all future guests. We are sorry that we were not able to upgrade you either, we are extremely full during summer months and appreciate your patience in the matter. We hope that you can make your way back to stay with us again so we can show our commitment to improving based on guest feedback. We would love to have you anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone

Property: Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone
Address: 315 Yellowstone Avenue, PO Box 470, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing