We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleepy Hollow Lodge
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, from six stars to hostel dorm beds, so far this is the worst place I have ever encountered with my entire life! We decide to stay this place because recommendation by a friend, but clearly the owners have changed after his stay. The people who is running this place just simply should not run a hotel. I have never write any bad review about any hotels before, but what we encountered in this place is just ridiculous.
1. When I booked the reservation I asked for a two bedroom cabin, but we added another room later on because we don't want to share one bathroom between four adults. Luckily we booked another one because their claimed two bedroom was not a two bedroom, it is just two separate sleeping area. When we checked in the guy was not friendly at all, he was just anxious to ask for the full payment. We did not see any staff besides the days we checked in and checked out.
2. We have stayed there for seven nights, the room was okay but it's not a cabin, wifi was terrible in one of the room we stayed. The room was not cleaned for one of the days and the bed was not made. Towers was not changed, but we didn't even bother to ask because we could not find anybody working.
3. My husband and I only ate the breakfast one time and we did not want to have it again. There was not much to eat, especially if you plan to stay the day in the park and go hiking, their breakfast won't feed you.
4. They charged me 92 dollars after we left without any explanation to me. I only found out when I checked my bank statements. After I email the owner I found out they accuses us for taking their towers and bath mat. I can swear on everything, we did not take a single thing from that place. My husband and my parents were on road trip in US from Toronto for about 3 weeks when we reached yellowstone. Every place we stayed has towers we did not need to take towers from anybody and definitely do not want to bring back dirty worn out towers back to Canada. And bath mat? We did not even have a bath mat in our room when we checked in. There are clearly managing issues with this place. Many of the days we stayed the tower wasn't change, some days there were only one tower in our room, and some other day there are too many towers.
I would never recommend anybody stay here. Everything is unprofessional, and you just don't feel your money is safe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank vicky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayne M, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

I'm sorry you feel this way. If your room wasn't cleaned, it's probably because your towels were hanging, which we don't change towels unless their on the floor, which is a common practice in hotels. If your bed wasn't made, it's because you left your belongings on the bed. Your room was made up every day, we are sure of that. As far as the breakfast, it is a continental breakfast, which is a cold, self service breakfast, also free of charge. Our wifi works just fine, though in the cabins that are further away, it is harder to pick up the signal on handheld devices (Iphones, tablets, etc.) You were charged the $92 because housekeeping reported the towels missing from you cabin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sleepy Hollow many times in the "80's and 90's" when our kids were growing up. We kept coming back because of the setting under the beautiful pine trees and the nice clean cabins. On July 1 & 2 we visited for the first time in 17 years with our daughter and grandson and were assigned cabin 3 which has two rooms and a shared bath. The cabin is still in that same setting under the pine trees and looked just as it did when we last visited. When we entered the cabin we knew immediately we had made a mistake. The cabin was dirty and musty. The toilet did not shut off the entire time we were there. I'm not sure about anyone else but when I take a shower I don't like standing in 4 inches of water. The shower door had a 4 inch "lip" to keep the water inside and it would run over into the bathroom each time one of us took a shower. The carpet looked like it could have been there when we visited in 1982.

The Sleepy Hollow is far from how I remember it and I realize it is almost twenty years older and things do depreciate but that doesn't mean it has to be dirty. Clean the place up and fix the plumbing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayne M, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Hello,

We are sorry that you feel that way about your stay. If you had let us know about the toilet and the shower, we would have fixed it right away, but you never let us know about the issues and never gave us a chance to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

+: convenient location, few minutes' drive to the west gate of yellowstone np
reasonable price, almost the lowest in town
fully equipped kitchen, easy to cook
-: hard to find staffs, before and after your day trip
problem unsolved, though they promised to(in our case, the unchanged towel)
poor breakfast
no microwave in one(our) cabin

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Crystal X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayne M, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you had a great time in West Yellowstone. We are sorry, that you feel that we did not resolve your issues. Towels are changes, as in every other hotel, when you leave them on the floor, this way our staff knows, that you want them changed. Our motel offers continental breakfast which presupposes self service and absence of hot dishes. Some cabins have microwaves, the other don't. If you had asked for one specifically, we would have gladly provided one for you in your cabin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My family and I stayed in this little cottage for 6 nights. The service was ok. The room was clean. The location is great, and the small town is also nice. If you don't want a luxury vacation, it is definitely recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weiwei2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayne M, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you had a great vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This place is amazing, and I am quite surprised at the negative reviews that I have read. My family and I have been staying here since the early 80's and refuse to stay elsewhere. Rooms are nice and clean, service is excellent, and you get the rustic log cabin type environment that you think of when picturing Montana, not to mention the affordability(especially in comparison to other places in or around Yellowstone).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayne M, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for your positive response, we hope to see you again in the future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at sleepy hollow lodge for 2 nights during the 7/4 week which provides the very basic lodging services. You can tell easily that this lodge is not managed professionally. We made the reservation two months earlier. But they changed the rate during the check-in time. We provided all the documents to support our reservation while they can not give us any of their documents for their claim and explanation for the rate raise. Even their web site does not have the rate as they claimed. They refuse to refund the overcharge rudely. We won’t recommend this lodge to anyone unless he/she wants to risk his/her planned vacation at the door where few choices left to change a plan. This lodge does not do business in an honest and friendly way. The bad experiences truly can blemish a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kunyison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayne M, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

We are sorry to hear about your experience. However all our rates are for two people, and we adjust the rate according to the quantity of people checking in. You have made the reservation for certain number of people, but at the check in time it turned out to be more people in your group, which changed the rate accordingly. We have explained the rate change to you, and we are very sorry for the occurred misunderstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I booked Cabin Type D (two rooms with kitchen) back in February 2012 and received a confirmation for my reservation. When we got there in July, we were told all cabins with kitchens were unavailable. Another two guests had the same problem (booking a kitchen and not getting one). In addition. the cabin was very dusty and dirty. The continental breakfast was in short supply. Coffee ran out before most of the guests were able have breakfast. There were three small containers of cereal, half a package of english muffins, and a bowl of rotten fruit. The food was hardly enough for eight people, let alone the 20 that were staying there at this time.

I had the opportunity as staying at this lodge in the past and had a very good experience. That is the reason I booked it this year. Larry and Charlotte knew how to treat people and the accommodations were very clean and neat. The breakfasts were plentiful and very good.

Paul E.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayne M, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

For one, I would appreciate if you would keep the names of my deceased relatives out of this. Thank you. On another note, you did not book a room with a kitchen, you booked the E type cabin, which is the one without. Had you have specified when you booked the reservation that you wanted a kitchen, it would have been taken care of with diligence, however since you didn't specify this until your arrival, there was nothing we could do about it, as all of the cabins with kitchens were occupied. I am terribly sorry if you feel that we did you wrong. We are making leaps and bounds in an effort to bring Sleepy Hollow Lodge back to it's original glory, and I really hope that reviews such as these will be taken with a grain of salt. Thank you for your concern, I promise things will be wonderful soon enough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#31 of 39 in West Yellowstone
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hollow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Lodge

Address: 124 N. Electric st., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £103 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepy Hollow Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepy Hollow is a small pleasant lodging retreat, offering lots of personal attention. We offer rustic but modern log cabins with full kitchens, ideal for extended stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Hotel West Yellowstone
Sleepy Hollow Lodge West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing