We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleepy Hollow Lodge
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked a room for 4 adults, when we arrived we received a filthy cabin for two people. Beside receiving the wrong cabin our cabin was smelly, moldy, and did not have working lights. When we approached the front desk to fix the problem, they told us that we had in fact not booked the cabin we knew we had booked, and refused to change our cabin. Unable to fit into the tiny cabin (which was so disgusting that it would have been impossible to stay anyway), we said that we would need a refund, and would have to look somewhere else for a room. Citing hotel policy which we were never made aware of prior, the unsociable staff refused to refund us the first night's stay, and a "deposit" we had never told we were required to give. Feeling ripped off, we took what money we could get back from these con-artists, and found a better hotel for twenty dollars cheaper per night. DO NOT confuse these horrific cabins with the other, higher quality cabins in the Yellowstone area. It is our belief that this "establishment," if it can even be called such, makes their money by scamming people out of their hard earned money. Don't make the same mistake we did. Don't let the horrid conditions of this "lodge" leave a bad mark on your Yellowstone vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

There was an overpowering air freshener smell that we could not get rid of even with the windows open all night. It made us wonder what the air freshener was trying to cover up. Overall I felt it was way overpriced for what it was; certainly dated and tacky feeling; light bulbs needed replacing; cover off of the smoke detector; no room darkening curtains to keep out the street lights at night; but it was the smell that caused the most discomfort. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayne M, Manager at Sleepy Hollow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience. The air freshener is the cabin is simply for that purpose - to freshen the air. Thank you for your opinion, as we are currently replacing the curtains for the thicker and darker ones. Our rates are among the lowest and most competitive in the area. We hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was expecting rustic, but not dirty, worn out and old. I wouldn't have minded that either except for the price- the kitchen wasn't really stocked, the carpet was filthy, linoleum in the bathroom looked like it was original. There was mold growing in the shower and on the baseboards in the bathroom. On the description there was a continental breakfast, that we never saw. The cabin faced a large hotel parking lot, but there was no effort to make it welcoming at all. It was in town and convenient. The icing on the cake was the reception from staff which felt awkward and really uncomfortable and being told I was parked in their space (management). Super disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Montanaruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayne M, Manager at Sleepy Hollow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience. Our kitchens have refrigerator, range/oven, coffee maker and toaster, and they are stocked with pots and pans, plates, bowls, cups, glasses, forks, knives, spoons, spatulas, can/bottle openers, cutting boards, paper towels, dish soap and sponges. We are also putting microwaves in every cabin now. We are sorry, that did not suffice. We do have a continental breakfast, and we apologize if you were unaware. You were provided with a personal parking space in front of your cabin. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I spent 3 nights at SHL. Since this time of year (Oct./Nov.) is slow in WYS I received the off-season rate. For a place right in the middle of town; it doesn't feel like it. Nice old pine & aspen trees on the property. Just a little more TLC put into the cabins and they would be even better. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This rustic cabins resort is located in the middle of West Yellowstone, a stone throw away from the main street. The won it's reputation, especially among flyfishermen, thanks to a wonderfull couple of hosts, Charlotte and Larry Miller. Unfortunately, Charlotte left us about 10 years ago, and Larry followed her way a few years ago. His last years running the place were not the easiest ones.
But the family is full of ressources. Dayne Miller, Larry's grandson, along with his wife, took over the place 2 years ago. They are still in the process of Learning how to run such an historically rich place, but they're certainly on the good way.
The place is not the cheapest in the area, but it's the average prize in WY. If they can keep on reviving Larry and Charlotte's spirit, especially during breakfast, and add their own modern personnality, and the dynasmism of their youth, Sleepy hollow Lodge will be thriving again, maybe even more than before. I'm looking forward to verify and enjoy this.

Room Tip: If you have difficulties for sleeping, just avoid the two front cabins, which suffer from the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PermitGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

These cabins are very comfortable, with a kitchen including dishes, kitchen sink, fridge/freezer, oven, stove, and microwave. Wifi was fast. Nice rooms especially for the price. Nice bathrooms with bath/shower, very clean and comfortable with trees all around right outside the door, it really feels like montana when you walk outside in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MountainMan1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The cabins are very close to the road, so it is very noisy. Wi-fi was down, the shower was bad. I would recommend to stay in a regular motel in west Yellowstone. We paid 180$ a night, for that price you expect at list a minimum of comfort, which clearly we didn't have.

Be careful with the good comments on tripadvisor : Sleepy Hollow gives 10% discount to the guests who give them good comments on Yelp or Tripadvisor !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Higgins972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayne M, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry you are disappointed with your stay. The town of West Yellowstone is very quiet, so there is absolutely no noise regardless of road proximity. The rate that you got for the cabin you stayed in was $131 plus tax per night, not $180 as you have stated. Our wifi works perfectly, in fact you had a personal hotspot in your cabin. Your dishonest review is misleading and in fact very rude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#31 of 39 in West Yellowstone
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hollow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Lodge

Address: 124 N. Electric st., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £104 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepy Hollow Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepy Hollow is a small pleasant lodging retreat, offering lots of personal attention. We offer rustic but modern log cabins with full kitchens, ideal for extended stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Hotel West Yellowstone
Sleepy Hollow Lodge West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing