We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not stay again”
Review of Yellowstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yellowstone Lodge
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We paid just under $400 for 2 nights for this hotel which was comparable to Ranch Inn in Jackson WY which cost us only $124/night. Needless to say Yellowstone Lodge is NOT a good value. The breakfast did not have anything hot except the make-yourself waffles, the coffee was below average. The room was clean but again comparable to the Ranch Inn in style and level, and in some ways Ranch Inn was nicer. At the Yellowstone Lodge, the bed's fitted sheet would not stay on, and the shower head was tiny spewing puny amounts of water. Next time we want to stay in West Yellowstone, we will research and book way ahead and try another hotel. Since West Yellowstone is a very small town built to serve Yellowstone Park visitors, every hotel in town has good location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seenationalparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

Our first room reeked of cigarette smoke so we had to complain to the two chain-smoking front desk ladies. We were given a fresher smelling room. Next, we tried to do our laundry and found a backup of folks trying to also do their laundry due to the dryers not actually drying the clothes at $2 a load. Next we headed to the pool and found mold and scum in the jacuzzi. It was also cold. Then some foreign national adults loudly took over the entire pool and attempted to outdo each other with how much they could splash each other and everyone else in the pool. It was a good learning experience for my children to see first hand how bad manners affect others around. The breakfast was lacking with items running out and not promptly refilled. The employees spend much of their time outside smoking. The beds are uncomfortable, pillows thin and linens worn out and discolored. Was definitely not worth the $170 we paid for this poor experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2462skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

An average hotel in a location where the traveler has few choices.
Registration understaffed at 5 pm.
Room was average.
definitely not quiet
bed was comfortable
it was clean

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outonacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Yellowstone Lodge on a family vacation. What a disappointment! This hotel was constructed very poorly; with minimal sound-proofing. Every time a door shut, it slammed and vibrated the walls. When the neighbors shower was running, it sounded like we were in the bathroom with them. When people were talking in the halls, it sounded like they were in your room. The toilet didn't work properly, even after we asked for it to be fixed. The beds were hard and the towels thin and small. I couldn't get their "free" wi-fi in my room half the time, and when I did, it was so slow it wasn't worth using. Lodging is expensive in West Yellowstone, and for the money I expected a lot more. I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJGoodrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

we atayed her during the off saeson and the staff was nice friendly the lodge was clean comfortable and helpful in many ways the price was great and the room eas spacious clean and comfortable

Room Tip: they may bargain with you they did for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonofa61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Loved the quaint yellow cabins. The beds were comfortable and the room nice and clean. Bathroom never was warm as there was no heater in that room and we had cold weather during our stay. Breakfast at the Yellowstone Lodge dining room was very good and the staff there very pleasant and friendly. Beautiful location, even with frozen lake and lots of snow the first week in June.

Room Tip: Book with Yellowstone Xanterra to avoid 10% fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upbeat624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed here with my mom and sister for 4 night while visiting Yellowstone National Park. The hotel was a three minute drive from the west entrance. The front desk was helpful with dinner suggestions and the room were clean. Breakfast was also good but crowded with other guests each morning. The attendant at breakfast did a wonderful job of assisting with the waffle maker and bridging cultural barriers. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fyrcanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#19 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Lodge

Address: 251 S Electric St, PO Box 607, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9532
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £62 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just three blocks from the West Entrance of Yellowstone National Park! We offer three floors with 80 spacious guest rooms that have been recently updated to include new plush bedding and flat screen televisions. All rooms also include microwave and refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee pot, iron and ironing board. On site amenities include free Wi-Fi, guest laundry facilities, and a newly renovated indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. Room rates also include a complimentary continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Yellowstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Yellowstone West
Yellowstone Lodge West Yellowstone, Montana
West Yellowstone Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing