We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't trust this place!!!”
Review of Yellowstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yellowstone Lodge
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We reserved our room 3 months in advance only to find out the surprise awaiting for us upon arrival. the hotel was overbooked and we were transfered to a different hotel. The only option was to take it or sleep in the car. All this was done without notifying us of course.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Joshua1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Got a family "suite" but was just a regular room with one extra room and bed. Had been labeled a two bedroom family suite in description. Comfortable enough but could use a little updating. Bedspread had burn hole and didn't seem very clean. Pool was closed first night for "maintenance" but no problems the rest of stay. (4 nights total) staff was helpful if not entirely professional. Breakfast was limited as they seemed to run out of things quickly. Did make good use of laundry facilities. Fairly good location if you don't mind walking. Over all not bad but will look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacque P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I get that this is a'tourist town, but i would check around before you spend $189/night for a room here. It was a very basic room and wasn't super clean (other peoples hair here and there) sheets had holes/rips and didn't want to stay on the bed. The kleenex was empty when we got there and was never refilled, neither the coffee pot nor the mugs were cleaned once we used them, etc. The wi-fi was slow and spotty, but that may have been simply because it was W. Yellowstone, I don't know.

Location was pretty good, it was a couple easy walking blocks off the main town area so it was quiet.

The breakfast was pretty sad. The only non-processed food, in fact the only protein available (besides peanut butter) were hard boiled eggs - they were already peeled however. If you have, processed food, sugar, dairy, or gluten issues, you're pretty much out of luck. A piece of cheese would have been nice. Upon check out, Fransisco said we couldn't get the AAA rate because we hadn't requested it upon check in..that's never happened to me before, but maybe I've just been lucky.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We flew down to LA and bought a 69 Firebird convertible and drove it back to Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada! We came back through Yellowstone and got some great pictures even though there was like 5 feet of snow! The lodge was absolutely wonderful. There was a little gift bag waiting for us in the room! It contained all sorts of goodies from razors to lotions! It was a really nice touch and i have continued to use some of the brand name items that were in the bag! The view is spectacular from the rooms. Even though its mainly a summertime destination, I highly recommend a winter vacation there!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This was my favourite place on our trip. The room was very big and had a nice seating area to chill out on and watch TV or read. It had a separate sink and kitchen type of area also. The "continental" breakfast had a good choice and there was a very friendly member of staff on hand all the time keeping everything stocked up and clean.

Room Tip: Ours was at the front overlooking with a view of the mountains. Ov
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is my second stay in West Yellowstone at different hotels and both have been "Just OK". Yellowstone Lodge, like the last hotel I stayed in there, was a higher cost for a "Just OK" hotel. The Lodge seems to be a stop for large groups. There were at least two bus loads there the night we stayed. The only disruption for us was that one bus load had filled the breakfast room and we delayed breakfast about 30 minutes, and the breakfast supplies were depleted. Good location for visiting Yellowstone Park. For a quick nights' sleep, Yellowstone Lodge works. But for my next visit, I will likely keep looking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel at 06/07/13 to 06/08/13. We enjoyed our stay the bed could of been better as well as the pillow. Yet, the great positive side is that we were very close to the I-Max theater, the grizzly wolf center, restaurants, and we could basically walk to every place. Also they had a wonderful continental breakfast and the service was very friendly. The room was very clean and it wasn't noisy especially we were in the third floor.

Room Tip: Try to get third floor there is no noise there. And plus you want to get the rear third level area b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Lodge

Address: 251 S Electric St, PO Box 607, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9532
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £58 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just three blocks from the West Entrance of Yellowstone National Park! We offer three floors with 80 spacious guest rooms that have been recently updated to include new plush bedding and flat screen televisions. All rooms also include microwave and refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee pot, iron and ironing board. On site amenities include free Wi-Fi, guest laundry facilities, and a newly renovated indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. Room rates also include a complimentary continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Yellowstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone West
Yellowstone Lodge West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing