We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Yellowstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yellowstone Lodge
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This place looks like it used to be a Best Western. Whether that's true or not, it doesn't seem to be quite up to the level of a Best Western. The room was big, clean (we watched them finish at exactly 3pm as we were waiting) and had all the basic amenities (TV works, AC works, comfortable beds, etc.). My complaints are:

1) The wifi was very slow before 10 pm and then nonexistent after that, and no one seemed to care. I informed the person at the desk and got the response "well, maybe too many people are on it right now." Not good enough, as I have a business I have to run, even on vacation. I had to sneak into the lobby of a nearby hotel and get online from there to get anything done.

2) The staff seemed a bit apathetic, and maybe a bit contemptuous. Aside from the Internet debacle, the one employee running the breakfast seemed annoyed that people were actually eating the food. Some foods ran out and were not restocked for 15 minutes or so.

Room Tip: The wifi might be better on the first or third floors (we were on the 2nd floor). I was told that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phaedrus428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ylodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your overall good score of our property.

I do apologize for the internet. It is an ongoing problem in the area, and we are doing everything in our power to improve our speed. I do understand the need to access the internet while away. So again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience this caused you.

In regards to the breakfast, the staff member you are referring to is no longer employed here, as yours was not the only complaint. I apologize for that degree of service.

I hope that you will give our property another chance should you travel to Yellowstone in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room was spacious with a separate sink, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, but the decor was outdated and the room wasn't very clean. It was way over-priced. The bed was not very good. Wifi was terrible.
Breakfast was sub-standard. Not only were the coffee and orange juice terrible, but even the cereal was bad! We had not booked anything ahead, so we were stuck. The proximity to Yellowstone brings guests.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ylodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments help us to evaluate and improve our property. We have done some updating in the rooms, ie. the bedding and the televisions, and there is more coming in the near future.

In regards to the wi-fi, it is a huge problem in the town itself. We are only allowed a certain amount of bandwidth, regardless of what we are willing to pay for it...or so I have been told by the only available provider. It is certainly an issue on the forefront of our minds that we hope will improve soon as well.

Again, your feedback is appreciate. We hope you enjoyed your overall visit to Yellowstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were thrilled when we got to our beautiful room on July 21st, 2014. This is a beautiful hotel with good view and close enough to town to walk if it hadn't been raining. Our room was big, well appointed and very clean. In the morning we had a continental breakfast (nothing special) and were able to get on our way back to Yellowston National Park. I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy_Jackson1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ylodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review! Although negative comments do help us improve, positive feedback is needed equally to boost the moral of our hard working team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Rooms were extremely out of date. Door wouldnt close properly. The breakfast was very basic. The dining area can not accommodate a large number of people and during the Summer there are a lot of people. The shower sucked! Very low water pressure. Staff was ok..Ice machine didnt work and neither did the laundry machines. WIFI was awful!! Couldnt even upload a picture..and like 10 tv channels. Plus side is that it is close to a very neat little main street and very close to Yellowstone. I will probably not stay there again. I will find somewhere with better upkeep. Not worth the money...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daylyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Check in was ok but I was a bit alarmed to see a man with a gun walk out of hotel as I walked in so this unnerved me a bit. Hotel was expensive for the standard we received. Breakfast was ok. Location was fine. I wouldn't stay here again simply because of price but I had left booking a little late so I had little to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ylodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you were felt alarmed upon your arrival. Some individuals (visitors) choose to carry firearms when hunting in fishing in the wilderness area as the Montana laws allow. However, we never wish for any of our guests to feel uncomfortable.

I also am sorry that you did not feel as though you received a good value at our property. I hope that you will give the property another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This lodge a fine place to stay but lacks something to make it special. It has all of the basics but isn't anything to write home about for the price. It is in a great location to access the town, the park, IMax and shopping. Make sure you visit the Play Mill theater!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naginalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

room was clean and adequate. Expensive for the amenities offerred, but West Yellowstone is a vacation destination hotel. Breakfast could have been better. Toasters were inadequate and staff had hard time keeping up with tour groups.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scot c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ylodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that the breakfast did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that the problematic toasters have been replaced. We hope that you choose our property for your next trip to Yellowstone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Lodge

Address: 251 S Electric St, PO Box 607, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9532
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £58 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just three blocks from the West Entrance of Yellowstone National Park! We offer three floors with 80 spacious guest rooms that have been recently updated to include new plush bedding and flat screen televisions. All rooms also include microwave and refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee pot, iron and ironing board. On site amenities include free Wi-Fi, guest laundry facilities, and a newly renovated indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. Room rates also include a complimentary continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Yellowstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone West
Yellowstone Lodge West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing