We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thin walls- no ESPN” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellowstone Lodge
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“thin walls- no ESPN”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2006

For $150 a night is it too much to ask to not hear the click of the receiver being hung up in the room next door? That is the main complaint of this place. Each morning we awoke to conversations of our neighbors, but it didn't seem like they were talking especially loud, just that there were thin walls. And then when we heard the click of the reciever it was apparent it was just thin walls.

Another thing I expect in a hotel, and one that says it has cable, is ESPN. It was odd because they had Encore and Encore 2, but then missed basic ones like ESPN, and MTV. Not a big problem, but I'm just not sure why it cost what it does. Also on their webpage it says they have HBO, not true.

Good things: the breakfast is on the better side of hotel continental breakfasts (it had the belgian waffle maker). The pool though quite small, and not that useful, did have a hot tub in the room and was clean. The staff seemed friendly and helpful.
Overall it was good, but just not worth what it cost.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The thin walls
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay there unless it is cheaper
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank samalamadingdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    82
    73
    30
    16
See reviews for
91
69
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington,Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2006

We stayed at this hotel when we visited Yellowstone. It is close to the park but there is nothing to do in West Yellowstone. The hotel was rundown,managed by a bunch of young guy's in dirty t-shirts. When we told them the dryer wasn't drying our clothes, they reluctantly returned our dollar, only to harass us twice for our dollar back because it worked when empty. We didn't expect to be harrased over a dollar after spending a lot of money for a rundown hotel. We would most definitely NOT advise wasting your money on this hotel.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Almost everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here. It is a bad hotel.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank harryandabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Santa Clarita, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2006

We stayed at the Yellowstone Lodge in October 2005. We had 3 rooms between friends of mine. Check-in was fine. WIFI worked in the lobby.

We used the pool late one night- very quiet and clean.
Breakfast, which is included in the price, had a good selection of cereal, boiled eggs, waffles, toast, bagels, juice, milk, and coffee, etc. A quick & easy breakfast before driving into Yellowstone. It only takes about 2 minutes to drive to the West entrance of Yellowstone from the Yellowstone Lodge!

Our room was a nice size! We had 2 beds, sofa, large television area, coffee table, hair dryer and refrigerator. The ceilings were very high, so the room seemed big. The bathroom was standard but was clean!!

Our only issue we all had with the Yellowstone Lodge was the plumbing noise!! You could hear the shower, toilets, etc from the rooms surrounding yours. Our rooms were on the top floor-
which I'd guess the lower level rooms could be even noiser!

We did find the price to be a great value in October- especially with the pool, WIFI and breakfast.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — plumbing noise
  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank YNP4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2006

We stayed at Yellowstone Lodge on July 13-15. Check-in was smooth although not overly welcoming. The public facilities were decent. Surprisingly, the pool area was relatively quiet--which we appreciated, as our room was directly across the hall. The hotel itself is located on the quieter south end of town. It's within two blocks of the main streets of West Yellowstone, so it was an easy walk to downtown. The breakfast was included in the price, and it had a fairly good selection of cereal, boiled eggs, waffles, toast, bagels, juice, milk, coffee, etc. It was a nice way to start out the day before driving into Yellowstone--which is only about 1/2 mile east of the town.

When we opened our room for the first time, it was freezing! For some inexplicable reason, the airconditioning had been turned down to 55 degrees. We shut it off and didn't need to use it the rest of our stay, as both nights it got down to around 40 degrees.

Our room was good sized and contained a king bed, sofa, large television area, coffee table, hair dryer and refrigerator. The ceilings were very high, so the room seemed big. The bathroom was fairly standard, but the ceramic tile on the flooring was cracked. There was an additional sink and vanity area outside the bathroom as well, which was very nice to have. It was strange that no bar soap was given out--except for a tiny bar in the bathroom. The sink in the main room was only supplied with liquid soap in little squeeze packets, which we found inconvenient.

The worst part of our stay was the noise. We could hear noise from the rooms on both sides of ours--but it didn't start up until after 11:00 at night, so it was most definitely a problem. The noise from one room was tolerable, but the one that had the connecting door to ours was terribly loud--especially since they had three children. Yes, we could hear them all--including being able to make out most of their conversations. (I'm sure they didn't realize how loud they were--they were just kids having fun on their vacation!)

The noises from the bathroom topped that, however. We couldn't figure out if the noises came from the bathroom next door--or the one on the floor above us. Every flush or any use of water created a huge noise in our room. Now, we're not normally picky about things like this . . . we've stayed in dozens of hotels, and we're certainly used to the normal "shared" sounds that happens in hotels. However, none of them has ever sounded like this. In addition, the vent in our bathroom came on automatically each time the light was turned on, and we've never heard a venting system that was so loud. We started to use the bathroom without turning on the light switch just because it was so annoying.

I don't know if all rooms experience noises to the extent our room did. If going to West Yellowstone again, I might stay at this hotel again--but likely would bring my earplugs just in case!

Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2006

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean and it is very centrally located to downtown. Deluxe continental breakfast was good although the area where it is held is far too small.

The problems we did encounter: Bed linens were not changed the entire time we were there(front desk staff stated it should be done daily). They claim to have "laundry facilities" however that consists of only 2 household size washers & dryers and this is a 3 story hotel. In addition the dryers take FOREVER to dry. My clothes(a fairly small load of short and underwear) were in for an hour and were still damp but it was 12:30 am so I gave up and hung them to dry the rest of the way. And finally most of the front desk staff are VERY unprofessional. They cussed frequently while talking with one another, were on their cell phones and basically acted like immature teens, which they were. I never saw an adult at the front desk.

Basically a good hotel with just a few areas that need improvement.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2006

Although it says "lodge" expect something along the lines of your basic Comfort Inn or Days Inn. The only "lodgey" thing about it was the log-style entryway where you pull up to check in, and the log-style siding reaching up the first floor. We stayed three nights at $150 or so per night. The whole time we were there the phones in the rooms weren't working and it was very difficult (next to impossible unless an emergency) to make any phone calls from the hotel. I witnessed a gentleman practically begging to be allowed to use the phone at the front desk and the attendant refused (politely) several times over. The laundry facilities were two washers and dryers on the basement level which I considered barely adequate - it took FOUR HOURS and SEVEN DOLLARS to do three loads and people were backed up behind me. I was finished at midnight with one load still slightly damp but I refused to feed another dollar into the dryer. The location was sort of convenient, being only blocks from the West Yellowstone entrance, but the area was one huge tourist trap of ticky tacky stuff. We stayed here three nights and then got a room at the Old Faithful Snow Lodge, which was tons better, in terms of location, atmosphere and value ($30-40 more per night). My advice is to stay in the Park, if at all possible - it will enhance your experience and provide you with much less time spent in the car.

In favor of the Yellowstone Lodge, however, if you really can't stand to spend a little more for a much better place in the park, it is adequate. The indoor pool seemed clean and so was our room. And, we didn't experience any major problems with noise.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DareToExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2006

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in early May. The hotel was clean, with plenty of room. It wasn't very busy at that time of year, so we were able to check in early. There was a group of high school kids there, but they weren't loud, and we only saw them at the continental breakfast. Pool and hot tub were jammin one night, but I was impressed to see the hot tub drained and being cleaned the next morning. I thought this hotel was nice. Staff was friendly, place was clean. I would definately stay there again, but not in early May when it's raining and snowing out. (Sidewalks are rolled up in this town til Memorial weekend).

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Lodge

Property: Yellowstone Lodge
Address: 251 S Electric St, PO Box 607, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9532
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just three blocks from the West Entrance of Yellowstone National Park! We offer three floors with 80 spacious guest rooms that have been recently updated to include new plush bedding and flat screen televisions. All rooms also include microwave and refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee pot, iron and ironing board. On site amenities include free Wi-Fi, guest laundry facilities, and a newly renovated indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. Room rates also include a complimentary continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Yellowstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone West
Yellowstone Lodge West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing