We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay there again”
Review of Yellowstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yellowstone Lodge
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I stayed two nights at the Yellowstone Lodge while visiting the park. As someone said, all lodging is expensive in this area and this seemed like a good price. It's on the south end of town along with a bunch of other new hotels. There are no restaurants in the area so you will have to drive to get dinner or lunch. The rooms were large but the blanket barely came up to my chest and the pillows were thin. The wifi didn't work in the rooms and the person at the desk didn't even give me the courtesy of listening to my feedback - he tried to talk louder than me. I would definitely not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenerW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

Realizing location is a summer destination meriting the room rate, but quality of the room poor by today's standards. The desk clerk barely spoke intelligble English. The breakfast bar was low-quality; though, the woman in charge of keeping it stocked worked diligently & quickly to her credit dealing with too, too many people in a painfully inadequate setting.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonniek10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We had a nice comfortably big room with two queen beds. There was plenty of room to walk around with a big area near the window for our medium sized dog to sleep in his crate. There were two sofa chairs. We liked that there were two separate sinks. One in the bathroom and one near the closet. I liked that they used eco-friendly bath products. We chose it for its' close proximity to the Yellowstone entrance gates. McDonald's near by that closes at midnight and opens around 5am was helpful since most eateries close early. It was a bit pricey for $150 a night due to prime visitation season to Yellowstone and we were traveling with a dog. It was great that they didn't charge a pet fee since I had let them know ahead of time that we were going to be traveling with our dog. One member of the breakfast staff was really great. She helped me to make waffles. I didn't get to use the small indoor pool because it was usually filled with children. However, I would stay again even if I was not traveling with my dog. The common fireplace would probably be nice in the winter. Even though we were at the other end of the hall, the free high speed internet was really fast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelswithdog98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

It's quite a basic hotel... the rooms are clean but it's just the minimum. The pillows are flat and the bed is alright, not overly comfortable but not horrible. The town of West Yellowstone is just a few blocks of souvenir shops and hotels, so it's a pretty short walk from this hotel to the main area. The breakfast is basic as well, with cereal, bagels, bread you can toast, etc. Whether to stay at this hotel will depend on what rate you get for the rooms. It is okay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowerstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at the lodge. The rooms were clean. The breakfast's were subpar and we ended up eating elsewhere.

For the money, we could have stayed elsewhere and saved a bit.

Pool was way too chlorinated.

The staff was very freindly and nice. It fit our needs for the trip, but if they fixed the am breakfast we would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmdayks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This place was okay. All lodging in West Yellowstone is overpriced because of its location to YNP. The room was okay, the pool and hot tub were good (indoor), the place is somewhat newly renovated - or at least appeared to be "fresh." The room furniture, however, is old - scuffed, chipped. But, the beds were okay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthmfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I stayed at Yellowstone Lodge earlier this month, and let me say it was one of the worst hotels I've stayed at. I heard from the front desk host on the phone that this was supposedly the second newest hotel in West Yellowstone. Well, I got in my room and there were large cracks in the drywall. The white bathroom tile was stained brown as was the bathtub. The walls and floors are so paper thin that you can hear muffled conversation in the room next to you and the ceiling shakes when those above you walk around. The "good" breakfast that some people are talking about consisted of bagels, toast, cereal, and a waffle maker; that is it. Not to harshly criticize a "free" breakfast, but if you're used to a Holiday Inn Express or similar basic hotels where you can get eggs, bacon, pastries, assorted juices, etc, it is a huge disappointment; especially when Yellowstone Lodge is more expensive. The pool is tiny and not worth going into unless you are a small child. Everything in this place screams CHEAP. We ended up staying one more night in Yellowstone and were lucky enough to book a guest ranch a little way out of town. What a difference! The rates were cheaper and everything was first rate. If you stay in West Yellowstone, you can do A LOT better than Yellowstone Lodge. Good luck!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacNWPackfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#19 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#31 of 39 in West Yellowstone
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Lodge

Address: 251 S Electric St, PO Box 607, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9532
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £64 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just three blocks from the West Entrance of Yellowstone National Park! We offer three floors with 80 spacious guest rooms that have been recently updated to include new plush bedding and flat screen televisions. All rooms also include microwave and refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee pot, iron and ironing board. On site amenities include free Wi-Fi, guest laundry facilities, and a newly renovated indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. Room rates also include a complimentary continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Yellowstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Yellowstone Lodge West Yellowstone, Montana
Yellowstone West
West Yellowstone Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing