We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Historic Hotel!”
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This imposing Yellowstone hotel dates from 1948. The beautiful old building is well maintained and centrally located in the town of West Yellowstone. The lobby is lovely with a grand staircase and a mini-museum of stuffed animals--elk and moose, a mountain goat, wolf, and grizzly bear--native to the area. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. There is a Mexican restaurant on the premises, and the included continental breakfast was very nice. We could not have asked for a more friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful staff. We highly recommend this wonderful, historic hotel and will plan to stay here when we visit Yellowstone again. Make your reservations early!

Room Tip: First floor is great for pet-friendly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

This hotel looks as though it could do with a bit of TLC. The rooms are clean, the staff helpful but there is an air of tiredness. Perhaps because this is near the end of the season. A bit more attention to detail would do the trick, little things like making sure there was no mould growing in the mastic sealer around the bath, having an iron in the room that did not have a rusty sole plate ....!
One bright note was the hot breakfast and in particular the member of staff who got up at 5am every morning to prepare for the onslaught of guests, some earlier than planned.
Would I go back, to West Yellowstone, yes, to the hotel, no, probably not.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank John D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed here 3 nights. Room and service was good. Breakfast in the morning was very good. Their website advertises bar (and casino). Bar has been closed over 1 year due to no liquor license. We talked to another establishment with a bar who stated they probably won't get a license in the near future as liquor licenses are limited.

For the money, next time we will stay somewhere else that has a restauraunt and bar. Please update your website where future travelers are not misled.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We were so disappointed with this hotel. The shower grout was covered with mold, the carpet was so dirty we wore our socks. The room was directly across the hall from the guest laundry where the dryer produced a loud squeaking sound whenever a guest used it. The room was overpriced and completely unacceptable. The only good part of the stay was the friendly front desk staff. Would NOT recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 238 it is horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I was a bit worried after reading some rather negative reviews on the Stage Coach Inn- after I had already booked my room there for three nights. There was no reason to have been concerned. The Inn was great. The staff at the Inn was wonderful. It was a great experience and we will stay there again on our next trip to Yellowstone. We had one of the "newer" rooms. It was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The Stage Coach Inn staff has obviously been well trained in how to treat the guests. Everyone of them was friendly- from the cleaning people, desk attendants and "breakfast" person. They should all get raises!!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room- they are much larger I am told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed here one night during a 7 day Wyoming vacation. I know it's West Yellowstone, but I still think it's overpriced. The check in was quick and the gentleman was was very friendly and informative. The lobby is very well done, rustic but classy. We stayed in the new part and the room was clean and comfortable. The room was alittle small with maybe too much furniture. The TV was great and mounted nicely on the wall. 1 block off the main drag so an easy walk to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

So, worried about staying here after reading the reviews. But here is the skinny on this historic property in West Yellowstone. Follow these guidelines and you should enjoy your stay:

This is a historic hotel with two sections - old hotel / newer wing. If you favor older rooms and ware - then stay in the old section. Newer updated and large rooms - then stay in newer wing.

The hotel lobby is nice and well kept. It is very much "lodgy" which is perfect for the area.
The hotel has two whirlpools - no pool.
The hotel has a restaurant - not a lounge.
The hotel has a nice continental breakfast - just cold items and waffles.

The newer wing rooms were built in the 80's I would guess and are updated, large and clean. The rooms have nice lodge style furnishings, granite baths and flat screen televisions.

NOW, the big kicker - the one thing that almost every negative review below we have read: The price. Well folks, this is YELLOWSTONE! From Cody to West Yellowstone to The Tetons and Jackson Hole - expect to play over 100 US Dollars for a any basic motel and then up from there. We found that this place was nicer than most of the motels in town and offered some lodge ambiance. We evern payed almost 90 dollars to camp last year in this are. If you don't expect to pay a lot to visit this area - then you may want to come during off season or never.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#19 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9512
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £55 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Stage Coach Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing