We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but avoid the restaurant.”
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We had a pleasant stay here for 2 nights. Very well placed for Yellowstone Park. We had a ride at dusk to see the animals emerging.Avoid the adjoining Amigos Mexican restaurant, probably the worst meal I have ever had, no atmosphere and no customers.
Breakfast in the hotel was fine, but very busy.
Overall a very nice hotel, with some character.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank grahambee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Stage Coach Inn. I enjoyed reading your comments about the Breakfast, and especially the "Character" of our Hotel. I admit that I was disappointed with your experience in the Restaurant, and I think more time with the Food & Beverage Staff to improve on this is in order. Thank you again for the review and for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

A good hotel in a great location. We had a deluxe room with two queen beds plus fridge and microwave and still had plenty of space to move around. There is a grocery store across from the hotel. The wifi was good. The standard rooms are in the older part of the hotel and are smaller for a few dollars more the space was important to me. Breakfast was good but the small room fills quickly, there are tables in the lobby and in another room. I liked the stuffed animals. The staff were very helpful. I will be using this hotel again on my annual trip to Yellowstone Park.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a Deluxe room if you need space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Good service , room ok , needs bit of 'freshen ' up in places. Great lobby with stuffed animals you can see in the park.
Good wifi reception
Breakfast was chaos and should be avoided.. Did have waffle maker though and good selection cereals but seating arrangements awful.
We went to adjoining restaurant called Amigos ( Mexican).. Don't bother overpriced and no atmosphere at all ( we were only diners!).. Food ok, service ok.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pumaparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed here 3 nights to visit Yellowstone NP. The hotel is very close to the west entrance of the park. The lobby looks very nice with the stuffed animals. The breakfast was amazing, we stayed in 8 different hotels during our trip and this breakfast ranked #2 for me. The breakfast room is rather small so it fills up quickly but there is more space in a dining room on the other side of the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tijnvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This imposing Yellowstone hotel dates from 1948. The beautiful old building is well maintained and centrally located in the town of West Yellowstone. The lobby is lovely with a grand staircase and a mini-museum of stuffed animals--elk and moose, a mountain goat, wolf, and grizzly bear--native to the area. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. There is a Mexican restaurant on the premises, and the included continental breakfast was very nice. We could not have asked for a more friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful staff. We highly recommend this wonderful, historic hotel and will plan to stay here when we visit Yellowstone again. Make your reservations early!

Room Tip: First floor is great for pet-friendly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This hotel looks as though it could do with a bit of TLC. The rooms are clean, the staff helpful but there is an air of tiredness. Perhaps because this is near the end of the season. A bit more attention to detail would do the trick, little things like making sure there was no mould growing in the mastic sealer around the bath, having an iron in the room that did not have a rusty sole plate ....!
One bright note was the hot breakfast and in particular the member of staff who got up at 5am every morning to prepare for the onslaught of guests, some earlier than planned.
Would I go back, to West Yellowstone, yes, to the hotel, no, probably not.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank John D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed here 3 nights. Room and service was good. Breakfast in the morning was very good. Their website advertises bar (and casino). Bar has been closed over 1 year due to no liquor license. We talked to another establishment with a bar who stated they probably won't get a license in the near future as liquor licenses are limited.

For the money, next time we will stay somewhere else that has a restauraunt and bar. Please update your website where future travelers are not misled.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone Lodge
#25 of 39 in West Yellowstone
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9512
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £38 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Stage Coach Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing