We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saw more kinds of animals in the lobby than in the park!”
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 8 June 2013

What a fun place to stay - especially if you have children or international visitors who want to see animals or think they're in the old west!

We stayed in what is known as the "historic" room in this hotel. That means it dated from decades ago and had fewer amenities (refrigerator, space, etc). However, it was comfortable for a couple and had great beds - what we needed after a long day in the national park.

The laundry room has two washers and two dryers which worked well and relatively quickly. The continental breakfast is o.k. and the staff friendly. Rarely did we find anyone in the two spas and there is a sauna (no doubt these two are heavily used in the winter season).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marathonmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We were tickled to read your comments about the Lobby and the Animal display, and very pleased to also read your comments about the Room, Beds, Guest Laundry, Continental Breakfast/Attendant, and the Hot Tubs/Sauna. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

Great place to stay in when experiencing Yellowstone National Park.
There was a fridge and microwave in our room, there were CLEAN washing machines and dryers (coin operated), which was great as we are travelling for a long time. The room was clean and spacious. The staff friendly.
My only gripe was that breakfast only went from 6 to 9 and it was an absolute frenzy in a small room off the lobby.
Don't let that put you off though, Stage Coach Inn ticks the boxes!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fezzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We really appreciated reading your comments about the Room, Laundry, and the Staff. We will also keep working to improve the Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I don't understand the negative reviews on this site.

My sister and I called and booked a last minute premium double on the day of our intended arrival at the end of May 2013 when we were snowed out of camping at Madison. I was fearing the interaction at the front desk given the previous reviews, but everything went smoothly. I sat watching the front desk for a bit the next afternoon waiting on my laundry, and the interactions with everyone seemed perfectly normal (except for speaking REALLY LOUDLY at an Asian gentlemen whose English was limited, but even that was done in a (misguided) effort to help him.)

The room was spotless and comfortable. The lobby area was fun if mounted animals are your thing. Laundry was great. Parking was good on the street or in the free lot or garage. Yes, the carpet in the hallways is old and outdated.

The free breakfast was standard fare at any hotel chain: yogurt, hard boiled eggs, three cereals, hot waffles, and limited baked goods. On the second night a huge tour group checked in, so breakfast the next morning was crowded, but everything was continually restocked when we ate at 7:30AM.

West Yellowstone is about a mile square, so all village hotels are basically at the entrance to the park, as was this one.

What was once a restaurant or lounge off the first floor lobby now appears to be closed.

Room Tip: We did not see the older rooms in the main lodge, but the premium rooms in the new wing were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We were very pleased to read your comments about the Cleanliness, Comfort, Guest Laundry, Parking, and the expanded Continental Breakfast. It was also nice to read about your experience with the Front Desk and yes, speaking louder does not improve understanding - which I will remind our team-members about. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Walking into the lobby is like stepping back a hundred years, but with all the current comforts. The staff was outstanding, both the check in staff and the check out. The room was one of their "historic" rooms, which means it was in the older part of the property. But it was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dangbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review from your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. We really appreciate your comments about the Decor, the Ceanliness, and the Comfort of the Hotel. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

BEWARE this hotel charges $25 night for a service animal. When I inquired with the Manager he said we HAVE to take service animals but we can charge you. When I attempted to have a civil discussion and show him the ADA website he refused to converse. He was staunch that this is his policy. We will be filing a claim with the ADA. besides this issue the hotel was a nice place to stay, continental breakfast, rooms adequate and comfortable. The gentleman in the breakfast room was very kind.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillykins945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. As I stated to you in person, it is our policy to charge an additional fee for Pets and Service Animals, and we plainly state this on our websites and our registration information. It was refreshing to read that you had an otherwise pleasant stay and enjoyed the Expanded Contintental Breakfast including specific mention of the Breakfast Attendant. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Old west lobby, very friendly staff. Small but adequate room. Coffee served in lobby. laundry facilities. Has a clean spa in a charming add on. Includes breakfast. Right in town and a few blocks from Yellowstone Park west entrance.

Room Tip: Stay away from lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curiousgal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about our Western Theme, the Lobby, the Spa, and especially the friendly Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

the hotel is incredible. and the people is just wonderfull. thanks to Mark and Mary.
the lobby is full of american old west spirit . the breakfast is good but is better for the company of the personal who works there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaime o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. We were delighted to read your comments about the Hotel and especially the Staff that allowed your stay to exceed your expectations. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn and we look forward to serving you agian in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#19 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9512
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £55 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Stage Coach Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing