We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient to restaurants and shops”
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Dunlap, United States
Level Contributor
208 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very convenient to restaurants and shops”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The rooms had been recently remodeled, and the desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We liked all the taxidermy in the lobby and on the second floor. Be sure to ask for a remodeled room. The desk staff has menus of local restaurants in a notebook for you to view. It is a little pricey for the value.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Friendly and Helpful Front Desk Staff and the condition of the rooms. It was also nice to read that you made use of the Restaurant Book we keep on hand. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    160
    114
    68
    71
See reviews for
145
243
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was definitely expecting much more for my $221. I am thoroughly enjoying the close proximity to delicious foods and shopping district (within walking distance) and of course west yellowstone entrance. The lobby was pretty neat with the decoration. The sink and shower is separated.

Breakfast was lacking of variety, I was hoping they would provide sausage or ham or bacon.
I went there on friday night of memorial weekend and the wifi couldn't reach my room , which was very disappointing. The shower head was uncomfortable. We stayed in 223 and the AC didn't seem to get as cold as we set it to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bthereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate you comments about the Hotel Lobby and the location/variety of restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the Hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed with the Expanded Continental Breakfast, but as the name implies, there is no hot food. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My Dad and I stayed here on Friday and Saturday nights of Memorial Day weekend. We had a very friendly check in and were welcomed to the hotel by the front desk staff. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had plans to fish in Yellowstone early on each morning before the complimentary breakfast was open. The owner (?) at the front desk said that he would let the breakfast attendant, who usually arrives early, that we should be allowed to come in and get a quick bite to eat. Mark, the breakfast attendant, was gracious and helpful. He offered to fill our cooler with ice and got us on the road quickly for a great day of fishing. On the second morning, he, again, welcomed us, asked about our day of fishing, and had us sign his fishing journal that documents his guests catches. I would recommend this hotel for the warm, friendly feeling from the staff. You will feel more like family than a customer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We truly appreciate your comments about the Friendly and Welcoming Staff, the Cleanliness and Comfort of the room, and your comments about our Breakfast Attendant being gracious, helpful, and going above and beyond your expectations. Most importantly, we loved your comments about how you were made to feel more like family than a customer. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great place, wonderful staff and the location is prefect next to the river. Good food, and you can walk all thru the town, or down by the river. The staff are friendly, warm, and help with everything. Prices are good compared to others in town

Room Tip: river view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments about the Friendly, Warm, and Welcoming Staff, the Location, and the Town of West Yellowstone. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Stage Coach Inn on a recent trip to Yellowstone. We enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay there again.

The entryway is amazing, even better than the hotel photos show. We loved the way the stairway and entry have all the taxidermy, it did add to the feel of being in Yellowstone territory! Our room was well lit (very important to me) and the wall paper border and artwork on the walls kept with the local theme. Our room was well kept, very clean and not lacking in anything. We used the provided microwave and fridge while we were there.

A big thumb's up to the gentleman who is the breakfast room attendant. He was so helpful and friendly, and obviously took his job seriously. Everything was well stocked and clean. It was a pleasure to see him each morning. I'm sorry I didn't get his name.

The location can't be beat, only about a mile from Yellowstone, and there are many restaurants within walking distance. We usually stay inside the park, but since we traveled so early in the year there wasn't much available. I'm glad we found the Stage Coach Inn for our stay this year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruising-along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel Lobby and the Grand Staircase, the Cleanliness of the Room and the Amenities, as well as your compliments about Mark - our Breakfast Attendant - being helpful and friendly. It was also nice to read your comments about the location. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We just stayed one night out of season. The rate was attractive and we had read other reviews so were aware that there was refurbishment underway. The room was just as described, with a comfortable bed, breakfast was fine. We asked for advice on where to eat and went with the recommendation, which was a good choice. hope that it will all be ready for the summer guests as the location and layout are good.Pool was out of action.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Room (and that it was "as described"), the Continental Breakfast, and the Staff knowledge of the area when making recommendations on where to eat. We are looking forward to getting our new Pool and Exercise room open soon. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This place was disappointing. This was the 2nd year we stayed at the Stagecoach and both were bad. Pool and got tub were not operational, rooms were dated, breakfast was weak and staff were rude. We will not be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank insurancedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for the review from your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. We apologize that you were disappointed by the lack of hot tubs - while we are constructing a new facility (with an indoor pool and exercise room), and for your disappointment in the Expanded Continental Breakfast, and for your poor experience with the Staff. It is our goal to exceed guest expectations, and we will make every effort to demonstrate improvement in the areas you noted . Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Property: Stage Coach Inn
Address: 209 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9512
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Stage Coach Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing