We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons”
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I don't understand some of the reviews as we were there at the same time. The breakfast was large for a continental breakfast. We were running late one day and the staff was very kind in keeping it open a little late for us. We were on the second floor and the Wi-Fi, while slow at times, really worked fine. You're in Montana, people! The carpet in most hotels is dirty, I've found, but it's an exaggeration that it smelled at this hotel. At least the hallways and our room did not smell. The room was large and accommodated two queen beds plus a rollaway with plenty of space. The bathroom (toilet and shower area) was large. Our only issues were on the second night none of our room keys worked and had somehow been desensitized and upon check-out they charged two of us the full price instead of splitting it as we had asked. However, this was a simple phone call to get resolved. The room was $224 a night but we recognized that we were literally blocks from a major attraction (Yellowstone!) and you're going to pay more in this type of area. I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank kaydee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We really appreciate your comments some of the reviews that have been posted and about the Expanded Continental Breakfast and the Guestroom. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in a Deluxe King room. The room was perfectly comfortable and equipped with a microwave & mini-fridge. The staff were friendly and offered recommendations for dining. We never would have known of the Serenity Bistro if it hadn't been mentioned at the desk and that was our favorite meal! This is an older hotel, and with that know that you will hear people in the hallway and their showers running, etc. We used this as our hub for exploring the park, and it was a distance to travel each day, but not too much. Some complain about the breakfast because it's not bacon & eggs, but it was more than sufficient for us, and we were happy to have it included...a LOT of places no longer offer anything at all. They have assorted pastries, boiled eggs, bagels, cold cereals, fresh fruits, yogurts, juices, & a station to make waffles . It kept us plenty satisfied until lunch. It was very conveniently located not only to the park, but we also walked to restaurants & bars each evening. There is nothing "fancy" about this hotel, but it is very clean, comfortable, friendly & nostalgic.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RVer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel and the friendly and knowledgeable Front Desk Staff. It was also refreshing to read your comments about the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What a disappointment. This hotel is the crappiest hotel we have ever been in. Extremely expensive for the out dated filthy hotel, With small dirty room and bathroom. For the money they are charging, you would expect at least a comfortable bed and pillows. I booked this hotel on line with booking .com. I really do not get it, how people have good reviews on such a crappy place. All the pictures on line is just a false advertising. Nothing in the hotel come close to all those pictures. The carpet in the room and hallways are so dirty, I can not even describe the terrible smell coming out of the carpets. A word of advise, do not spend your money on this hotel. There are lots of nicer hotels in West Yellowstone. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, That's all. DO NOT WAIST YOUR MONEY ON THIS PLACE. 6/22/2014

Room Tip: I would not spend a piney on this place. Look for other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. Since this account was created for this review, I cannot help but think that your posting was motivated by other factors from your stay, but regardless of that, I apologize that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We paid $245 for a room which was advertised as having wi-fi and an indoor pool. Upon checking in we discovered the pool wasn't open. The free wi-fi didn't work on the 2nd floor. We were not told this upon check in. When we inquired all we got were excuses, not even an apology. We went to the front desk to let them know we had mold in the shower area and were told "I don't think so!" There was also hair in the shower when we checked into the room. The breakfast was so-so-nothing fancy. However, my granddaughter was told to quit playing with the toaster when she was just trying to get her bagel out of it. The staff was quite rude and were ready to offer any excuse
instead of admitting there might be a problem with the hotel. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tynkts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I am sorry that you were so disappointed in our Hotel. While our new Pool is complete, we are awaiting the Final Approval from the State of Montana before we can open - and we still have listed it under construction. In response to your informing the Front Desk about "mold" in the shower area of your room, we checked the room and found no evidence of mold.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had to inform all who come to this site, to try with all your might to find other accommodations. We did not have specific plans for our vacation and ended up in town with no where else to go. All other hotels were booked and now we know why. Although the night manager tried, our room was not tolerable considering the high price. She even apologized and said she had been having problems all night. Air did not function, refrigerator did not work, WI-fi was inaccessible. At check out, the morning manager was so disrespectful of us, he literally did not care, he had his money, the night was over.(we will contest this payment however) Even the breakfast that was supposed to come with the room did not cover all the people we paid for, and we were expected to pay for any extra people over two. Maybe if we were at a 20.00 motel we would have lived with this, but the price of the rooms and the promise of a relaxing evening on our vacation, this was not forgivable. I wish I would have taken the day managers name, he should be fired. There were more patrons waiting to voice their disapproval of the accommodations to him as we finished and we wished each other better nights ahead, and the promise not to return.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bozz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for this review from your recent stay. As I stated in the previous response, I am sorry that you were disappointed in our hotel but, writing multiple reviews does not add credibility to your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Looks can be deceiving. Paid $239 for room, was told at check out that there was an additional $25 pet fee. No mention of that when I asked at check in. Three people, they gave coupon for continental breakfast but would only cover for two people, third would have to pay. Got in late, settled in, air conditioner did not work, ok fine it was late. Went to put food in fridge, that wasn't working. Had homework to do, wi fi security code did not work. Finally called, had nite super come up, she could not get fridge to work, could not sign in to wi fi either. Finally signed in to or wi-fi from hotel next door. They had us switch rooms so we had a working fridge and air. Morning manager (male) was rude, would not give a discount for the trouble we went through, said since we were given a different room we were accommodated! Re-packing and switching rooms at 2 in the morning in your jammies is not accommodating. "Free" breakfast was a farce and since we would have to pay for one, we just went somewhere else. Maybe that was there plan. For a room way over $260 with taxes, fees, poor service, disrespectful manager, I'd rather sleep in my car.

Room Tip: Get price quote in writing before ck in, best advice is don't check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doodling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this stay. Our pet fee is noted on our website(s) and on the registration form you signed at check-in so, since you brought a pet there is a charge. We do not do coupons for breakfast but, we do charge for additional adults and there were three adults in the room despite the reservation being made for two. Finally, we checked the Air Conditioning unit in the first room you were assigned and could find nothing wrong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked with booking.com also. The cost was well over $200. The rooms and hotel sounded very nice and the few reviews I read were good. I should have read them all. The first pics they show on their website are their new and big rooms. We got a tiny, dirty and out-of-date room with hardly any amenities in their "Historic" part of the motel (that means their old, rundown part). If you do come here make sure you get a new room. Those are probably okay. Our walls were dirty too with rub marks, etc... Definitely needs a paint job. Curtains were dirty. There was a small table with two chairs which is the only place to set things on such as the coffee pot, ice bucket and your laptop. If you want to watch television you'll have to do it sitting in bed. Closet is tiny. My husband and I had to hold our breath to move past each other in the room. All the parking was full and we had to park in the back. No help with bags at all. Website says breakfast served until 10:00 am but the front desk person said it was until 9:00 am. No matter anyway. I don't think I would want to eat a cold breakfast there. There are a lot of places to eat with hot food in town. For the room and amenities and even the location I think it was worth about $150 at the most. So glad we only made reservations for 1 night. Wouldn't want to spend two and will not recommend it or return. One exception... the lobby is cute.

Room Tip: If possible choose another place. Read reviews. If you do want to come here make sure you get a newe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I apologize that you were so disappointed in your stay with us. Our Historic rooms were originally built in 1946-1948 and are approximately 200 square feet, this is versus our Deluxe rooms being added on to the Hotel in 1990 - with rooms that are approximately 300 square feet. Both sections of the Hotel were renovated in the last five years, and most of our guests appreciate the effort to stay true to the original design but, based on your comments, it appears that you would have been more comfortable in a Deluxe room. Our breakfast hours do change in the summer to 06:00 to 09:00 to accommodate the earlier sunrise and our guests who want to get into the park early. We inform every guest of this during check-in but perhaps you were distracted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#19 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9512
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £55 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Stage Coach Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing