We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We paid a lot of money for this hotel and certainly would not stay here again...I am not at all picky but amenities that were promoted were unavailable. The motel advertises high speed internet, but we were only able to gain access in the front lobby and the speed was terrible. The pool was unavailable and the hot tub were nonexistent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank zephyrco2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We are still awaiting the State of Montana approval to open our newly constructed Swimming Pool, which is still listed as under construction, so I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for Stage Coach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I loved everything about this place! The outside of the hotel isn't anything special but I loved the inside of this hotel. The lobby is awesome and accompanies the whole Wild West theme. Very rustic and interesting, I enjoyed it. The continental breakfast in the morning was well stocked and delicious. The service was great, all the employees we're very friendly. This place is also dog friendly which I loved. One of the employees gave my dog a treat and I really appreciated that :) not to mention it was just minutes from the entrance of west yellowstone as well as right down the street from all the local shops. Wifi was good a/c was good cleanliness was good and room was quiet. Huge fan. I would totally return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel Lobby, the Expanded Continental Breakfast, and especially the friendly staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our favorite place to stay while visiting Yellowstone National Park, and when Old Faithful Inn is unavailable. Our visitors from India enjoyed the stay while visiting the park, Reservations had to be made ahead of time - four months. Facilities good. Continental breakfast was good, but would suggest some hot items and keep thinking about vegetarian visitors. Continental breakfast was 95 per cent vegetarian, but hot items were missing.

Room Tip: book in advance
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel and the Yellowstone National Park attractions nearby. We also appreciate your comments about the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Disgusting place to stay, small room, old bed, noisy air conditioner, just bad. Stayed 1 night and was happy to leave. Overpriced filthy little room with a grungy little bathroom. Never, never, never again.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this Hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Calgarytraveller003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn. I apologize that we did not live up to your expectations, however I was quite surprised that you would return to our Hotel again following your previous review of our Hotel on September 3, 2014, so I question the credibility of your posting. Regardless, thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I don't understand some of the reviews as we were there at the same time. The breakfast was large for a continental breakfast. We were running late one day and the staff was very kind in keeping it open a little late for us. We were on the second floor and the Wi-Fi, while slow at times, really worked fine. You're in Montana, people! The carpet in most hotels is dirty, I've found, but it's an exaggeration that it smelled at this hotel. At least the hallways and our room did not smell. The room was large and accommodated two queen beds plus a rollaway with plenty of space. The bathroom (toilet and shower area) was large. Our only issues were on the second night none of our room keys worked and had somehow been desensitized and upon check-out they charged two of us the full price instead of splitting it as we had asked. However, this was a simple phone call to get resolved. The room was $224 a night but we recognized that we were literally blocks from a major attraction (Yellowstone!) and you're going to pay more in this type of area. I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank kaydee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We really appreciate your comments some of the reviews that have been posted and about the Expanded Continental Breakfast and the Guestroom. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in a Deluxe King room. The room was perfectly comfortable and equipped with a microwave & mini-fridge. The staff were friendly and offered recommendations for dining. We never would have known of the Serenity Bistro if it hadn't been mentioned at the desk and that was our favorite meal! This is an older hotel, and with that know that you will hear people in the hallway and their showers running, etc. We used this as our hub for exploring the park, and it was a distance to travel each day, but not too much. Some complain about the breakfast because it's not bacon & eggs, but it was more than sufficient for us, and we were happy to have it included...a LOT of places no longer offer anything at all. They have assorted pastries, boiled eggs, bagels, cold cereals, fresh fruits, yogurts, juices, & a station to make waffles . It kept us plenty satisfied until lunch. It was very conveniently located not only to the park, but we also walked to restaurants & bars each evening. There is nothing "fancy" about this hotel, but it is very clean, comfortable, friendly & nostalgic.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RVer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel and the friendly and knowledgeable Front Desk Staff. It was also refreshing to read your comments about the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What a disappointment. This hotel is the crappiest hotel we have ever been in. Extremely expensive for the out dated filthy hotel, With small dirty room and bathroom. For the money they are charging, you would expect at least a comfortable bed and pillows. I booked this hotel on line with booking .com. I really do not get it, how people have good reviews on such a crappy place. All the pictures on line is just a false advertising. Nothing in the hotel come close to all those pictures. The carpet in the room and hallways are so dirty, I can not even describe the terrible smell coming out of the carpets. A word of advise, do not spend your money on this hotel. There are lots of nicer hotels in West Yellowstone. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, That's all. DO NOT WAIST YOUR MONEY ON THIS PLACE. 6/22/2014

Room Tip: I would not spend a piney on this place. Look for other hotels.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. Since this account was created for this review, I cannot help but think that your posting was motivated by other factors from your stay, but regardless of that, I apologize that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9512
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £52 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Stage Coach Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing