We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST PLACE EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Cotati, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WORST PLACE EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were shocked when we got here. Motel 6 is better. The employees are burnt out and unhelpful. I couldn't even get wifi in the lobby and other guests said the same. I came here because I thought I was getting a super high quality place the way it was advertised on Expedia. The towels were thread bare and didn't match. I liked nothing about this place except that I got a refund for the 2nd night and went to Best Western. They were awesome and less expensive. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: I would not stay here. Best advice I can give you. I had to stop a child from doing firecrackers in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler94931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations for this stay and that you "had to stop a child from doing firecrackers in the front".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    157
    110
    68
    70
See reviews for
143
236
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ozark, Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The lobby was very clean and well taking care of with rustic, old west style furniture. The front desk staff was very friendly at check in and during the whole stay. They were also very helpful, being recommending a good place to eat or providing stamps and mailing postcards. The room we had was clean, well furnished and was quite large with enough space to accommodate my family of four, which can be quite a task being that I have two teenage daughters. The beds were very comfortable and provided a good night’s sleep after a day of touring the park. However, the wifi was a little troublesome in our room; I had no problem getting my laptop to connect but the ipods and iphones was another story they would only connect in the lobby. They offer a good choice of items for breakfast, only complaint is that they did not have some meat or eggs, I’m really not the waffle or bagel type of person. Very good location about a block of the main street far enough away from the noise but a easy walk to the action.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinM580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Knowledgeable and Friendly Front Desk Staff, the Cleanliness of the Guestroom, and the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We chose this hotel because we stayed here years ago when visiting the park. It has been remodeled since our last visit--gone was a restaurant and bar (we knew that in advance). The continental breakfast area now occupies part of the old restaurant. It would be nice to see a restaurant/bar on premises again, but there are many places in town to eat, so not a problem at all.

After reading several of the most recent reviews, I wasn't sure I was looking at the same hotel that we stayed in recently! We booked three deluxe rooms (2 queen beds/rm) in early July and found them to be more than adequate. In fact, we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return. Check-in was efficient, with a very friendly and informative woman. Parking was not an issue at all as there is street parking out front and a large lot in the back.

Since we did not have any rollaways, the rooms were spacious enough for us. In addition to the two beds, there was a chair in the corner by one bed, a small table with coffemaker and chair, and a large desk with chair. That made three chairs in the room---a huge plus--which we just don't find in most hotels these days!

The flat-screen tv was on top of a 3-drawer dresser that also housed a microwave and a cabinet with a refrigerator behind it (worked just fine). The bathroom was large, with the toilet and shower in a separate room from the sink area. The closet had a mirrored door on it, and was quite roomy.

The room was always clean, the beds comfortable w/ numerous pillows, the carpet was not soiled and did not smell, and the a/c worked appropriately. The continental breakfast had just what we needed and since it is not a restaurant, we were not expecting a full menu. The gentleman stocking the food items was very pleasant and helpful.

The lobby is great---lots of places to sit on wonderful Old West-type furniture. There are a few very large and very solid wood tables with chairs that we sat at each evening, having a few snacks and talking over our day. There is a coffeemaker in the lobby with plenty of "to go" cups, which we really appreciated. There is also a bookshelf stocked with games, and there are a few computers, too (printing out boarding pass free, but otherwise small fee to print out web pages). Like other reviewers noted, there are several large stuffed animals in the lobby but that is part of the unique decor this hotel offers, and we loved the theme decorations.

This hotel has a wonderful location, within easy walking distance of numerous restaurants, shops, and other activities. Right across the street is a market which makes it easy to pick up ice, snacks, and other supplies to take into the park. Just a few doors down is a marvelous, upscale restaurant, the Madison Crossing Lounge. The west entrance to Yellowstone is a couple of minutes away. You just can't go wrong choosing this hotel as a base for visiting the national park!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mejulaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Location, the Lobby and the Décor, the Expanded Continental Breakfast, the Guestroom and Amenities, and especially the Knowledge and Friendliness of the Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Spacious, comfortable, rustic lobby--as long as you don't mind all the stuffed animals mounted on the walls. Room was cozy, though crowded for 4 people (2 queen beds and a roll-away bed at an additional charge of $10/night). Décor seemed a bit tired and dated, in an (appropriate for the locale) Old West theme. Pool not yet opened (ever), awaiting state inspection & approval. Breakfast was adequate, mostly cold buffet items, nothing to write home about. Staff friendliness varied, but when we called for Maintenance, help arrived promptly.

Biggest complaint: underpowered Wi-Fi meant spotty, intermittent-to-non-existent Internet connectivity. This was a BIG problem for us, partly mitigated by taking computers and mobile devices to the (rustic and comfortable) lobby to connect.

Room Tip: If you need Internet access, ask for a room close to the lobby and elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Lobby, the Room, and the Expanded Continental Breakfast. I was also pleased to read about the responsiveness of the Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We paid a lot of money for this hotel and certainly would not stay here again...I am not at all picky but amenities that were promoted were unavailable. The motel advertises high speed internet, but we were only able to gain access in the front lobby and the speed was terrible. The pool was unavailable and the hot tub were nonexistent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zephyrco2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We are still awaiting the State of Montana approval to open our newly constructed Swimming Pool, which is still listed as under construction, so I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I loved everything about this place! The outside of the hotel isn't anything special but I loved the inside of this hotel. The lobby is awesome and accompanies the whole Wild West theme. Very rustic and interesting, I enjoyed it. The continental breakfast in the morning was well stocked and delicious. The service was great, all the employees we're very friendly. This place is also dog friendly which I loved. One of the employees gave my dog a treat and I really appreciated that :) not to mention it was just minutes from the entrance of west yellowstone as well as right down the street from all the local shops. Wifi was good a/c was good cleanliness was good and room was quiet. Huge fan. I would totally return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel Lobby, the Expanded Continental Breakfast, and especially the friendly staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our favorite place to stay while visiting Yellowstone National Park, and when Old Faithful Inn is unavailable. Our visitors from India enjoyed the stay while visiting the park, Reservations had to be made ahead of time - four months. Facilities good. Continental breakfast was good, but would suggest some hot items and keep thinking about vegetarian visitors. Continental breakfast was 95 per cent vegetarian, but hot items were missing.

Room Tip: book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel and the Yellowstone National Park attractions nearby. We also appreciate your comments about the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Property: Stage Coach Inn
Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Stage Coach Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing